We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, lovely hosts”
Review of Port Of Call

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stewart Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Port Of Call
Almere, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely place, lovely hosts”
Reviewed 21 December 2012

What a great place to stay when visiting Stewart Island. The house is beautifully decorated and in a lovely location with great views. Philippa and Ian are lovely, warm hosts. We really felt welcome and special. They went out of their way to make our stay as pleasant as possible, including driving us to town for dinner, arranging take-away after having walked the Coast to coast walk and doing our laundry.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
35
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
315 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

When I pulled up the site in planning my trip I saw a beautiful view of water. So I was very surprised when we drove up the hill to Turner Cottage and then walked up 52 steps to find a simple cottage right in the trees. Yes, it is very private. You can't even see the cottage from the street. It was equipped with basic cooking appliances, the bedroom was basic. The bed in the living room is in a nook so there is no room for a table. The pass through to the kitchen was used for the bedside table. The living room is cozy.
I was very disappointed that we were not given information on the penguin and mutton Bird activity. We were hastily told about 2 restaurants and Ian's water taxi service which we used to Ulva island. Sure wish Ian had offered us a ride back to the cottage rather than pass us by leaving us to hike up the hill for 20 min. No, I'm not a 20-30 something. I felt dumped in the place with no attention... no special touches like breakfast bread or juice. We had to go right to the grocery store.
The phone that was left to be able to call out was not charged which did cause a problem for us.
While there were outside lights we got back later than we thought we would and had to climb up the 52 steps in the dark. Quite dangerous.
This was out of my comfort zone.

Room Tip: Remember that this cottage is in the bush. We prepared for all up hill walking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Acey071368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

My husband and I stayed at Turner cottage for 10 days during September 2011. There are too many great things about this little gem to list, all the little personal touches were endless. If you are looking for a true kiwiana experience in a great location then you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reenynb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Situated just outside town, the Bach Cottage is smartly kept. Use of the car provided with the cottage is very handy, especially for reaching trailheads which are not convenient to town. The self-catering setup is excellent, and Philippa was very attentive to every request we had, however small. Not too many folks get to this part of New Zealand and for hikers and bird lovers, it is not to be missed.

Room Tip: Turner Cottage, located closer to town, is also terrific and is a good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PandLNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We stayed in Turners cottage for two nights after having done our trip adviser research. It is best described as a very posh and tastefully furnished beach hut style property, surrounded by bush making it totally private. Your only visitors will be the ka ka parrots that visited us very morning and evening and will eat peanuts out of your hand. The place is fitted with everything you could need including a washing machine and wood burner. It is just a 15 minute walk from the ferry wharfs at Oban. The place has an away from it all romantic feel and I can see why it might be popular for honeymooners. You must stop at least two nights or longere to get a flavour of the treats the island has to offer. We especially enjoyed our visit to Ulva island and the nighttime trek to find the kiwi bird, although the expense of this trip made you feel were personally responsible for financing the efforts to conserve the bird!

Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank willettbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorba Linda, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2011

We stayed in The Bach, which is a cottage, fully equiped for self-catering. It includes use of a car to get to the center of Oban, about 5km away. The location is very quiet and pleasant. It is next to the trailhead to Acker's Point, where after dark you can hear the returning Sooty Shearwaters (Muttonbirds) calling and see the Little Blue Penguins returning to their nests. The cottage is very comfortable and modern, but simple. If you're looking for a 5-star hotel and restaurant, you won't find it on Stewart Island. The island is more of a remote outpost in a native New Zealand forest - the antithesis of cosmopolitan and sophisticated Queenstown. If you won't be satisfied with rustic surroundings and simple food, stay in Queenstown. We enjoyed it thoroughly! The nightime kiwi spotting tour with Bravo Adventures, where we were able to observe 4 wild kiwi foraging for food, was excellent. The pelagic birding trip with Rakiura Charters was stunning - we saw 3 varieties of albatross (Southern Royal, Salvin's, and White-capped) flying and in the water, really magnificent sights, as well as many other birds, including a couple of penguins, and many fur seals. We also did a pleasant and informative walk on Ulva Island with Ulva's Guided Walks. Well worth the trip, if these are the activities you enjoy.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Winelover_943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
278 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

If you are looking for the Hilton then you have come to the wrong place! Turner Cottage is a private perfect bush retreat/romantic honeymoon cottage, yet only 5 minutes walk from waterfront and shops.

Location: An easy Five minutes’ walk down to the pub, shops, restaurants, wharf & waterfront of Oban Township.

Privacy: Quiet with no other properties in view Turner Cottage is surrounded by bush abounding in native birds with a north facing sunny deck.

Ambiance & Quality: The cottage has been completely renovated and looks brand-new with quality bathroom fittings, a very comfortable bed, very functional fully equipped kitchen, delightful lounge with flat screen TV and leather upholstered furniture.

Recommendation: Ideal with those looking for a private hideaway and/or romantic holiday. Perfect for an extended stay and do make sure that you stay long enough to enjoy all that Stewart Island has to offer the most discerning visitor.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winetourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stewart Island hotels
1.0 mi away
South Sea Hotel
South Sea Hotel
#3 of 3 in Stewart Island
201 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bay Motel
Bay Motel
#1 of 3 in Stewart Island
173 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kaka Retreat Motel - Stewart Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Stewart Island Backpackers
Stewart Island Backpackers
#5 of 9 in Stewart Island
96 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sails Ashore Lodge
Sails Ashore Lodge
#6 of 8 in Stewart Island
24 reviews
1.1 mi away
Anchorstone
Anchorstone
#4 of 9 in Stewart Island
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Of Call? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Of Call

Property: Port Of Call
Address: 63 Leask Bay Rd, Stewart Island 9846, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Stewart Island
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Stewart Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Port Of Call can offer you three unique options in accommodation. Port Of Call B&B is a gorgeous seaside home, amongst 20 acres of native forest. Wake up to bird song, spectacular sea views and the smell of coffee and croissants. The Bach is a self-catering cottage close to Port Of Call. Tucked in native forest with abundant bird life and sea views, the Bach is a place where you can completely unwind.Turner Cottage is a newly refurbished self-catering cottage nestled in the heart of Halfmoon Bay. It's a charming and romantic place for the perfect honeymoon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Port Of Call Stewart Island, South Island, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing