We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely warm room with spa bath and comfortable bed much needed in winter.”
Review of Bay Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bay Motel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Stewart Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

From time we were picked up by the owner at the Airport Depot the hospitality was excellent. Our room was upgraded as few tourists in winter to stay on the Island. We indicated to the owner a few very small deficiencies and am sure these will be rectified did not detract from excellent stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nola H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

Charlotte is the hostess with the mostest. Nothing was too much trouble and we really appreciated being met and given a quick tour of "downtown" Oban. We had a lovely, spoltless room with a view and kakas on the balcony. While we were in Oban the locals told me to feed them pieces of apple and carrot and not peanuts. The hill was quite steep up and down to the town, but we just took our time and it was fine. The highlight was hearing a noise outside and seeing a kiwi. I almost could have touched it!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rosieterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Lovely little motel, very nice rooms with a well-equipped kitchen area. Service was excellent, as others have mentioned, with ferry transfers and bag drop-offs as standard. The area is beautiful as well, and the motel is located towards the centre of the 'town', it allows for easy walking access to the whole area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jenthevet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Charlotte met us at the ferry, gave us a tour of Oban and took us up to the hotel. She booked dinners for us for both nights of our stay then showed us to our room. We looked down onto the very sweet town and in the morning were greeted by the most fabulous sunrise. What a view! We shared our afternoon cheese and crackers with some very friendly Kakas. Taking the ferry to Ulva Island is a great thing even if you aren't serious birders. We highly recommend the Bay Hotel.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Kathy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I stayed here 3 years ago in one of the front units - this time around I brought my parents and we stayed in unit 1 (with disabled access) on the side of the main house. The view was not quite as spectacular from inside the room but as soon as one gets out the door..

At dawn and dusk the kaka come to visit on the deck... amazing

The room was very big and modern and with central heating on a cool night. I love the service of getting picked up at the ferry and also the help when deciding what to do whilst on Stewart Island - in the end we went on a Bay Bus tour and a self guided walk on Ulva Island for which we booked the water taxi.

Also the Night Kiwi Spotting Tour is a must do - we saw 3 Kiwi in the wild!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R_G_Baker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

The location of the motel is fabulous. The owner picked us up in the van at the ferry and then dropped us off after our stay. We left our car in a carpark by the ferry prior to our travel across to the island We had a room with a deck overlooking the harbor. It seemed a touch dated but was VERY clean. The rooms are all different so if you have a specific room in mind try to reserve as far ahead as possible. We tried to get the honey moon suite but it was taken. The owner gave us the room with the next best view and we were quite happy with it. She had lots of suggestions on things to do and offered to book tours for us. We ended up hiking most of the two days we were there and then spending the evenings in the pub which was a blast!! We were glad we went out of the way to stay at Stewart Island!

Room Tip: The owner was great about suggesting an alternate room when the honeymoon suite was booked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToriM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Great service and stayed in a lovely apartment with lots of space and great facilities.Easy location to base yourself for exploring the island .Modern with a sea view and kakas visiting on the balcony!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nutz067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stewart Island
0.1 mi away
South Sea Hotel
South Sea Hotel
#3 of 3 in Stewart Island
211 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kaka Retreat Motel - Stewart Island
0.1 mi away
Stewart Island Backpackers
Stewart Island Backpackers
#2 of 10 in Stewart Island
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Anchorstone
Anchorstone
#5 of 10 in Stewart Island
22 reviews
22.6 mi away
Lands End Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hilltop Backpackers Stewart Island
Hilltop Backpackers Stewart Isla...
#7 of 10 in Stewart Island
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Motel

Address: 9 Dundee Street | Halfmoon Bay, Stewart Island 9846, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Stewart Island
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Stewart Island
Price Range: £93 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bay Motel is centrally located and very handy to all amenities. 12 spacious, comfortable units and have superb views of Halfmoon Bay and surrounding bush. Two units have wheelchair accessible bathrooms and 2 units have spa baths. Most units have a Queen and single bed and there is a two bedroom unit for larger groups. All units have free WiFi, fully equipped kitchenettes,fridge, microwave TV, deck or balcony, toiletries, electric blankets and central heating. Units all lead to an outdoor deck or balcony. Facilities include covered BBQ and outdoor cooking facilities with a seated area for dining 'al fresco'. Freezer space for storing fish. Laundry service is available for a fee. Courtesy transfers to and from motel - other transfers may be available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bay Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Motel Stewart Island, South Island, New Zealand
Bay Hotel Stewart Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing