We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy and comfortable retreat”

Kowhai Lane Holiday Home
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kowhai Lane Holiday Home
Reviewed 6 January 2010

Wow, I could almost just cut and paste the review by Haylot! We also had problems with our booked accommodation and sought assistance from Iris and Peter (who also run Sails Ashore). The care and assistance provided were exceptional. My mother also headed off to church with Iris on the Sunday and enjoyed herself enormously. We had daily visits from the Kaka and enjoyed watching the tui play in the garden. It's a comfortable walk down to the central business area on halfmoon bay.
Kowhai Lane, which is owned by Iris and Peter's daughter Anne, is extremely comfortable and cosy. We also were fortunate to have the place to ourselves using two of the three rooms available. I wouldn't hesitate to stay at Kowhai Lane again it was great.
Kowhai Lane is packaged with Peter's tour of Ulva island, which we also enjoyed very much. You go across on their yacht Talisker which can handle any conditions that might blow up in the course of the day.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (16)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 16 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2009

I recently stayed at Kowhai Lane on Stewart Island with my extended family. The accommodation was very comfortable and we were fortunate enough to be the only guests in the holiday home at the time. We had some problems with the accommodation we initially booked and the hosts at Kowhai Lane (Peter and Iris) were very helpful in providing alternate accommodation at short notice. They were friendly without being too overbearing, and even invited my grandmother to attend church with them on the Sunday that we were there (which my grandmother greatly enjoyed). The kaka's which came to perch on the balcony were very entertaining and the views are pleasant from the rear rooms over the township and bay. Overall I would definitely recommend staying at Kowhai Lane if you are travelling to Stewart Island.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haylot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2008

Extremely accommodating hosts with long-term knowledge and experience on the island. Great location and beautiful views from most rooms. Comfortable living quarters all neat, tidy and very clean. Fastidious meal preparation with attention to detail and guest requests. I would definitely stay there again if I return to Stewart Island.

Stayed: March 2008
1  Thank NHBirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: 2 des 4 chambres ont une vue sur la mer; les autres sur le jardin: à vous de choisir.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Corinne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stewart Island hotels
0.3 mi away
South Sea Hotel
South Sea Hotel
#3 of 3 in Stewart Island
211 reviews
1.0 mi away
Anchorstone
Anchorstone
#5 of 10 in Stewart Island
22 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kaka Retreat Motel - Stewart Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bay Motel
Bay Motel
#1 of 3 in Stewart Island
177 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stewart Island Backpackers
Stewart Island Backpackers
#3 of 10 in Stewart Island
103 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sails Ashore Lodge
Sails Ashore Lodge
#5 of 8 in Stewart Island
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kowhai Lane Holiday Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kowhai Lane Holiday Home

Address: 6 Kowhai Lane | Oban, Stewart Island 9530, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Stewart Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Stewart Island
Price Range: £156 - £249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kowhai Lane modern house offering en-suite rooms with a modern self catering kitchen and extensive guest lounge. It overlooks Halfmoon Bay, is only 4 minutes stroll from the waterfront and an ideal base from which to explore Stewart Island. Kowhai Lane is fully centrally heated and newly refurnished and decorated. Kowhai Lane's managers are professional guides and happy to assist guests enjoy the peace and beauty of Stewart Island. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kowhai Lane Holiday Home Stewart Island, South Island, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing