We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Star restaurant in Te Anau!”
Review of The Fat Duck

The Fat Duck
Ranked #6 of 34 Restaurants in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$28
Cuisines: European, Gastropub, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Cosy, inviting atmosphere serving great local cuisine, coffee and drinks.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
150 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Star restaurant in Te Anau!”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

The restaurant was recommended to us by our coach driver and we are really thankful to him for that!

It was by far one of the best culinary experiences we made during our trip in NZ. I had a delicious soup of the day (which happened to be the Thai pumpkin soup) with garlic bread and my husband a tasty chicken & bacon burger (which was day’s 20$ special, including also a drink).

Between 5-7 pm they have a “happy hour” while they serve house drinks for just 5$.

They also serve great deserts – so save some space for one! (might be difficult though, as they serve big portions…)

The only small complaint I’d have is that it was a bit cold inside. We sat by a beautiful fireplace, but unfortunately it was not on.

Both waitresses that attended to us were extremely polite and there was nothing wrong with the bill either. Highly recommend!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jola L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    333
    363
    107
    31
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“We loved the service, the place, the deals (and the pasta!)”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We had been recommended the Fat Duck from our hotel as a good place to go for the internet. We headed in and looked at the menu, happy to try the all day $20 meal and drink deal.

We started with a lunch of a single meal between the two of us, the pasta dish. It was delicious and filled us as there was quite a bit! With a drink as well, for a bar meal, this was a really good price and the food we great! The WiFi was good, a little token for about an hour, but nthey seemed happy to give you another if needed.

We came back later for dinner. My hotpot wasn't to my taste (but impressive and I did eat it all), but my partner loved her bangers and mash, again both from the $20 deal.

The next day we had the pasta and bangers and mash again. It was a busy night and the presentation was different but we both enjoyed our meals.

Our last night, we come and had pasta and the burger. The burger was very nice (if lacking in much bacon) and the pasta, for the third day running, was gorgeous!

Overall the service was great, it was really warm, great and very good value food. We can't compare it to anywhere else, as we didn't eat anywhere else in Te Anau (if a place is this good, we just keep going back)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank egrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Carling, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best Lamb Salad Ever!”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We were referred to this restaurant and were definitely not disappointed. I had the best lamb salad ever. My husband also enjoyed his meal. The service was great. The food quantity and quality were super!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Katherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“fat duck”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Great restaurant in the town centre. 2 minutes walk from the lake shore. Great choice on the menu, polite staff, good choice of drinks. Food was great quality at a decent price.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank CraigsdSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“good atmosphere. Worth the value!”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

the food served are big portion and nice with good setting. Service is fast too. Best as we went at timing when they offers free red wine

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachelyeoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Fat Duck also viewed

Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 

Been to The Fat Duck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing