We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
True to the title real journeys to places in Te Anau begins here

Well we were coming from Duniden by road. By the time we reached it was late night. But could... read more

Reviewed 13 July 2018
SojanIpe
,
Kolenchery, Kerala, India
Amazing Milford Sound Tour

We took the real journeys Milford Sound Scenic Cruise tour from Te Anau. The bus trip was very... read more

Reviewed 7 July 2018
Ro-shell-1982
,
Perth, Australia
via mobile
Read all 146 reviews
  
Reviews (146)
Filter reviews
146 results
Traveller rating
91
29
10
6
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
91
29
10
6
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews milford track glow worm caves doubtful sound power station dessert buffet overnight cruise day trip wilmot pass across lake manapouri new zealand fiordland navigator milford mariner double bed coach journey tasman sea discovery cruise west arm
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 146 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2017 via mobile

Well organised from beginning to end.
Not cheap but definitely worth the money.
Unique experience.
Quite a distance to travel to Doubtful Sound - but it is an enjoyable and informative journey, bus drivers give interesting & informative commentary.
We were picked up by coach from Queenstown and drove for nearly 2 hours through picturesque & rural countryside with a short coffee stop at the half way point. Good coffee.
Arrived Lake Manapouri to take 45 minute boat trip across to West Arm. Lake Manapouri has a warm tourist centre with take-away shop underneath, perfect to keep cosy while waiting for boat to arrive.
After crossing Lake Manapouri we transferred to another coach to climb alpine route of Wilmot Pass. We had a short stop for photos at top of Pass before descending down to Deep Cove. The Fiordland Navigator was waiting to take us on our cruise. All the crew were brilliant from beginning to end. The skipper, the nature guide, chef, cabin crew made the cruise as relaxing or as adventurous as each individual required.
Some of our group chose kayaking & a short cold swim in the Sound, others opted for a small boat cruise to see the shoreline close up.
Although cold & breezy outside, was warm & welcoming inside.
Our double bed with ensure cabin was tiny but comfortable.
Wide variety of food & more than you could eat for both dinner & breakfast.
Highly recommend this tour.

Thank footlooseplus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

We did the day tour and it didn't disappoint from the helpful and friendly staff to the amazing views all round glad we did it because the stops and comments were worth it

1  Thank Crystal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

A 7 day 6 night Discovery Cruise starting from Lake Manapouri.

This was perhaps the most awesome journey my wife and I have ever been on! From the helicopter flight in to the ride over Wilmott Pass back to Lake Manapouri.

The main event was the Southern Fiords. Forest covered slopes rising 1000 metres almost vertically, waterfalls at every turn, bird life greeting us every morning, caring, knowledgeable crew and so it went on.

Words don't do this place justice. Hopefully the photos give you some idea. It was a privilege to be involved.

Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2017

This was an amazing experience. our guide had a vast amount of knowledge about the area, especially the flora. He went at an easy pace and pointed out anything of interest. Lunch was provided also at Glade House

1  Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Real Journeys, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Kia Ora Jennifer and thanks for the review. We are delighted to read your comments about the experience. It's a beautiful day walk in a most beautiful corner of the world.
Regards, the team at Real Journeys.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

As non walkers this tour was great. Very easy and slow paced and given lots of information by RealJorneys guide. Day takes 8 hours of which 30 mins bus to Te Anau Downs to catch the boat and then a 1 hr boat ride. Do 45 min walk then lunch. For serious hikers not a good option .. for us.. perfect.

1  Thank rdella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Real Journeys, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2017

Thanks for the review Robert, we're pleased to hear you much you enjoyed the walk and how well our guide looked after you throughout. I trust the rest of your holiday will be just as pleasant.
Regards, the Real Journeys team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews