We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good B&B”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of House Of Wood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
House Of Wood
Ranked #21 of 29 Te Anau B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good B&B”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

We stayed here between Christmas and New Year. We slept well, enjoyed the breakfast, and had plenty of space to park. It's actually a very short walk to town centre (much shorter than the equivalent drive) due to a cut through on the side of the house. Would happily go back.

Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    22
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
42
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pattaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
220 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

Stayed here for only 2 nights, wish it could have been longer.As the name implies its built out of wood which makes it have its own character.We had a lovely room with its own separate Shower and separate Toilet which is good.Do not have to wait to go to the toilet when your wife is in the shower. Its very convenient for the town, good short cut.
Merle and Cliff are a lovely friendly couple who will help you with all your travel requirement,book trips, diner reservations etc. We had a most delicious evening meal with them on our 1st night.In fact it was one of the Best we had in all our 7 weeks in NZ. 3 courses and lovely wine and company.What could you ask for better.( Great value ) The blue Cod starter,and a Home made Pavlova for dessert ,I was in Heaven.
Good breakfast,though was still full from the evening before.Merle give my wife the Menu,so here hoping she will be able to make when we are home. They recommended Keplers for the follow evening which was good.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry-Jang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Comfortable room if slightly on the small side. The location of the fridge in the wardrobe meant hanging space was very limited. Good shower facilities. Lovely breakfasts and a wonderful evening meal with Merle and Cliffe on our arrival. Merle was keen to help and insisted on phoning to check our tour coach to Milford was going to pick us up on time! Within easy walking distance of the town and lake.

Room Tip: I should think they are all of similar standard - which is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pernicketyann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

We had an extremely enjoyable stay with Merle and Cliff and found them to be great hosts.Our room was very comfortable with easy access via the back door.Having wi.fi was important enabling us to keep in contact with the family.The proximity to the town was great,being only 5 minutes from the restaurants and shops.It was convenient being able to book tours through them.The best thing however was the brilliant breakfasts we had...the best throughout our 16 day holiday.We would highly recommend this place to friends and family.Thanks Merle for your advice and generosity.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robcarroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huissen
Level Contributor
96 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

We stayed here for two nights. Our room was very comfortable, though the shower was very low and not powerful. Breakfasts were yummy and our hosts made us feel welcome. The location was quiet, and just five minutes walk from the centre of the village and some nice restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyandClaartje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

Great location close to shops, lake, tourist bus & boat. comfortable, breakfast wide choice, clean & roomy, hosts friendly & helpful, wish we could spend more time there, hope to return, will recomend to friends.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

We were 2 couples and loved the friendly B&B welcome from the owners Merle & Cliff. The bedrooms had private bath & toilet facilities and they were lovely & clean. Breakfast was a choice of continental or cooked. Great location, only 1 block from the main shopping area and a 5 minute walk to the lake. I would recommend this B&B to any of my family or friends

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.2 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.9 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.4 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.4 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#6 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shakespeare House
Shakespeare House
#4 of 29 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House Of Wood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House Of Wood

Property: House Of Wood
Address: 44 Moana Crescent, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Te Anau
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your House Of Wood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing