We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“calm and comfortable”
Review of Alpine View Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alpine View Motel
Ranked #19 of 22 Hotels in Te Anau
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 14 March 2011

Booked in late viaTe Anua i-site. We had a 2 bed unit which is all they had left but got no discount.
Furniture and fittings were good. Plenty of space to sit outdside. Excellent laundry room. BBQ area. Staff helpfull and know the area well.
Far enough away from restaurants and lake front to not be disturbed, but everything within short walking distance.
Good location for realxing and exploring the lake and Milford Sound.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank old_engineer02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

137 - 143 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2010

Arrived late in the afternoon basically just as a stopover on the way to Milford Sound the next day, and stayed one night.

Evening owner/manager (not sure which) was cordial, if not particularly friendly. But completely non-negotiable on price. He wouldn't budge one dollar even though it was a winter Tuesday night, and I believe there were two other rooms taken. (Obviously worked though; we took the room!)

Room was large with a full kitchenette, parking right outside the room, large bathroom. Somewhat dated, but clean. Bed was okay. Very quiet (although hard to tell how quiet it would be in high season). Location was good. We walked to downtown for a nice dinner and drinks very easily from the motel.

Upon checkout the next morning, we needed some advice and information. Manager/owner (different than the night before) was extremely friendly and helpful. So between the two, service quality and friendliness balanced out to be okay.

Overall, I would stay here again and recommend, but only after perhaps investigating some other places in town. Our stay was fine, but the price was very high for the basic quality in relation to basically everywhere else we stayed throughout our NZ trip.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ramlion11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2010

This motel has a lovely setting and is only a few minutes walk from the waterfront. Our unit was at the front on ground level. It was very light and spacious with full kitchen facilities and a separate bedroom. We overlooked a large lawn and had a glimpse of the lake. Upstairs rooms would have uninterrupted views but we were very happy with our comfortable room. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChumOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2010

We booked a 2 bedroom unit, but were given a 3 bedroom unit for no extra charge and as it was not busy. (We arrived after the April school hols). All the facilities we needed, namely kitchen and bedroom for the kids, and rooms nicely heated if needed. Very friendly, helpful and a great kids playground on site. Only 5 minutes walk to restaurants, less to see Lake Te Anau. Supermarket is a bit further on foot, but close if you have a car.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sneezes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2010

Just moments from the lakeside we found the motel with it's open garden and within strolling distance of the restaurants. We had an upstairs studio and enjoyed beautiful sunset views as it set over the distant hills with the lake in between. Illeana was really helpful and knowledgeable about the various trips that were available in the area. The room was spacious; the linen immaculate and the bathroom a real winner. A bonus for those with young children is the adventure playground safely placed at the side of the buildings.There is plenty of accommodation in Te Anau, which is not surprising as it is a beautiful place, but the Alpine Lodge is hard to beat.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank greyadventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2009

We had a lovely stay at this motel. Really friendly people and really central to the lake front and the shopping centre. Plenty of space for children to play and lovely gardens. Really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosalinda09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2009

This Motel was exactly what we needed with 3 small children ( with the best play ground and FREE internet). It was lovely and clean and the owners went out of their way to be accommodating. The price was the best out of all the others we checked out in town. We have recommended this motel to many other already.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DunedinPeanut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.5 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#7 of 22 in Te Anau
502 reviews
0.3 mi away
ASURE Amber Court Motel
ASURE Amber Court Motel
#8 of 22 in Te Anau
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#2 of 22 in Te Anau
386 reviews
0.1 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.2 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine View Motel

Address: 15 Quintin Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 22 Hotels in Te Anau
Price Range: £67 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alpine View Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpine View Motel is situated in a quiet location 150m from the lakefront of Te Anau. The main shopping Center, Restaurants, Movie Theatre, library and Sports Stadium are a 5 minute walk through a lovely park. We offer a selection of self contained, warm and comfortable studio, 1, 2 & 3 bedroom units with King, Queen or Single beds and have lake view and access units also available. Wireless internet is available in each room. We provide 12 channels of Freeview and Sky TV. We have a spacious guest's laundry with a free internet kiosk available in the laundry only. We have a great children's play area complete with trampoline (in ground), see-saw, swings, slide and a big climbing castle as well as a huge field for cricket and other activities. A guest barbecue and spacious gardens will entertain the adults while the children are busy at the playground. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Alpine View Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing