We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!”
Review of Alpine View Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Alpine View Motel
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
GreenLeadersGold level
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great place!”
Reviewed 16 November 2012

The owner is really charming. Her motel is dated but very clean with a lovely playground for children. The unit was perfect for our family and well outfitted. The beds were comfortable, the sheets were soft, and the heated mattress pads most welcome. Definitely stay here when you see Te Anau and Milford!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carlininwindsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    57
    27
    13
    9
See reviews for
43
71
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

We planned to stay 1 night but couldn't resist the 2nd. We stayed in the upstairs unit which was very comfy & impeccably clean, unbelievably helpful & friendly owner. There's great facilities huge laundry, gym, BBQ & playground, oh & a cute couple on the bench seat at the front waitng for a photo with you, glass of wine in hand. Recommend sitting on the balcony with glass of wine & order Chinese takeaway they deliver to you…relaxing.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Itslucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barendrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

During our 8 weeks trip through the North and Souths Islands of New Zealand we arrived in Te Anau. Our intention was to spend a day at Milford Sound, enjoy the views and have a good time. For this you also need a good bed, a good shower and a good meal. For the bed we decided to spend two nights at the Alpine View Motel. It was an extraordinary experience. First and formost, there is the blond high speed lady, manager, cleaning lady, recycle champion and mind boggling cheerfulness herself: Illeana (pronounced as Elena). Before you could ask anything she knew you wanted it. Fine example: at 2200 mt Internet Credit ran out. I went to the office, which appeared to be closed and returned to our room Two minutes later, cheerful and laughing as ever walked in with a chit, saying: "I saw you and i knew you needed Internet Access'. The Motel is superb: spotlessly clean, beautifully kept, a perfect starting point for a daytrip to Milford Sound. She knows what restaurant to go to, in fact she reads minds. We both want to encourage anyone who travels direction Milford Sound to spend a night at the Alpine View. And, for those who find it important to know: Memsahib and Sahib Taylor run a pet friendly Motel. Thank you for a lovely stay. One day gave reasonable weather, the other was extremely wet, but it has been a long time since we had such fun a.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hansenmarjoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

We got a room there for a night of rest on our way back to Queenstown. The first room given to us was next door to another one with a big group of kids and we asked for another option. They gave us a bigger room, at the back of the motel for the same fare. The room was ok. Good for five people. Only one bathroom though. Comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Infernanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 17 November 2011

Booked this last-ish minute as a rest stop on the way to the Milford Sound.

Picked up a unit on the top deck which had a view of the lake. It was clean, surprisingly spacious & bright and fairly upto date. It had a kettle/ toaster/fridge. Oddly, but helpfully had crockery and cutlery for 3.
The bed was large (queen size, but not sure) and had electric blankets which was very welcome!

The site had a gym and launderette, with free computer access. There is WiFi access, but is $5 per 2hours though.

A no nonsense place that was very clean with the facilities most will need. I will be coming back and will recommend.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crossally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaikoura, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

This is a great location to stop over for your Milford day trip. Had one night here with 4 adults and 1 child. Great 3 bedroom unit. Bedrooms very spacious with to queen rooms and a bunk room for the children. It was great to have the children in there own room. Not too many motels have 3 spacious bedrooms. Lounge spacious with enough seating for a family. Fully equipped kitchen, very clean and great value for money. Very hlpfull and friendly management team. Good Laundry and computer facilities available. Great location, a quick walk to lake and town centre. Highly recomend this Motel to families or 3 couples.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jody255374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

We enjoyed our time here. The room had some new furnishings and fittings, and was spotlessly clean. The full kitchen was great to cook dinner for the family. Having a separate room for the kids with three beds was useful, as was the playground just outside our room. The manager was very friendly and helpful. There was a laundry and internet facilities on site and it is only a block from the lake. Definitely recommended as a base for Milford Sound trips.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noosa_Crew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#5 of 23 in Te Anau
492 reviews
0.5 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.1 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.3 mi away
ASURE Amber Court Motel
ASURE Amber Court Motel
#9 of 23 in Te Anau
263 reviews
0.1 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine View Motel

Property: Alpine View Motel
Address: 15 Quintin Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alpine View Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpine View Motel is situated in a quiet location 150m from the lakefront of Te Anau. The main shopping Center, Restaurants, Movie Theatre, library and Sports Stadium are a 5 minute walk through a lovely park. We offer a selection of self contained, warm and comfortable studio, 1, 2 & 3 bedroom units with King, Queen or Single beds and have lake view and access units also available. Wireless internet is available in each room. We provide 12 channels of Freeview and Sky TV. We have a spacious guest's laundry with a free internet kiosk available in the laundry only. We have a great children's play area complete with trampoline (in ground), see-saw, swings, slide and a big climbing castle as well as a huge field for cricket and other activities. A guest barbecue and spacious gardens will entertain the adults while the children are busy at the playground. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Alpine View Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing