We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Setting”
Review of Alpine View Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Alpine View Motel
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
GreenLeadersGold level
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great Setting”
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We had a room upstairs in the main building which gave us a good view across the very pretty garden and onwards down towards the lake.The room itself was spacious,clean and comfortable and the decor pleasant.The owners were helpful & friendly. The laundry room was very useful when you have been travelling for a couple of weeks. Te Anau is a lovely town with plenty of restaurants,small shops & supermarkets. We used it as a base when we visited Milford Sound. An enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pensioner62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    57
    27
    13
    9
See reviews for
43
71
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
119 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Alpine Motel. Tony made us very welcome and it was a good base in Te Anau as we travelled up through the South Island. The room was very comfortable and well equipped with a view over the garden and a little patio. Very good value for money also. Def would recommend,

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

The owners are incredibly friendly and helpful.
For kids it's great, they have a play area at the back which our 4yo really enjoyed.
My main criticism is the view, there is none.
I would definitely recommend staying lakeside in Te Anau.
For some reason I thought we had booked a lakeside motel but I was wrong, my fault, not theirs.
The rooms are basic, a little dated, and quite small but useable.
Very clean and all the facilities you could need. Again, would like to see a white net as well as curtain to allow light to come in but not peering eyes - this is a recommendation for many Motels we stayed in this holiday.
Recommended? Yes, but not if you want to see the lake from your room.

Room Tip: Do you want Lake? If yes, go elsewhere, you are one block away from the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertWoolley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013 via mobile

Drove from queenstown and stayed here for one night. The room was large and divided into lounge and bed. Tv was in the lounge room so you cant watch it from bed. Very clean and had everything we needed. Guest laundry was very welcome indeed ( coins needed).

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Morphi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

This motel is not 5 star but was very nice. It was the only motel we stayed at in Te Anau so no point of reference to compare versus the others. I doubt paying more for a lake view would be worth it. We stayed in the family rooms, which were almost like a chalet as there were brick walls between units. There is a nice grass area in front of the room with a picnic table for each unit and a playground in the back. There was tons of light in the day coming in. We had to ask for shampoo. not sure if it was standard. If not the owners could consider installing a shower jell dispenser.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hassanScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoi An, Vietnam
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

This is the perfect place to recharge after coming off a track. I was in heaven. The owner is lovely and helpful and the room was very clean with leather furniture. The shower was hot and great water pressure. I would definitely stay here again. There are lovely mountian views. Excellent value for money. It's situated about a block from the lake but you don't need lake views here and those hotels are all over priced.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zamphira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

The owner is really charming. Her motel is dated but very clean with a lovely playground for children. The unit was perfect for our family and well outfitted. The beds were comfortable, the sheets were soft, and the heated mattress pads most welcome. Definitely stay here when you see Te Anau and Milford!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carlininwindsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#5 of 23 in Te Anau
492 reviews
0.5 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.1 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.3 mi away
ASURE Amber Court Motel
ASURE Amber Court Motel
#9 of 23 in Te Anau
263 reviews
0.1 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine View Motel

Property: Alpine View Motel
Address: 15 Quintin Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alpine View Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpine View Motel is situated in a quiet location 150m from the lakefront of Te Anau. The main shopping Center, Restaurants, Movie Theatre, library and Sports Stadium are a 5 minute walk through a lovely park. We offer a selection of self contained, warm and comfortable studio, 1, 2 & 3 bedroom units with King, Queen or Single beds and have lake view and access units also available. Wireless internet is available in each room. We provide 12 channels of Freeview and Sky TV. We have a spacious guest's laundry with a free internet kiosk available in the laundry only. We have a great children's play area complete with trampoline (in ground), see-saw, swings, slide and a big climbing castle as well as a huge field for cricket and other activities. A guest barbecue and spacious gardens will entertain the adults while the children are busy at the playground. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Alpine View Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing