We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NIce place - lovely views”
Review of Edgewater Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Edgewater Motel
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2011

we spent one night - we had the 2 bedroom apartment. The fit out was a little retro but we had everything we needed. The bathroom was a recent renovation and the spa bath was great. Staff were friendly and informative. The owner recommended 'The Ranch' for a pub meal - we had a wonderful meal and enjoyed the best venison we've ever had. The weather was perfect and we spent the day around Milford Sound. We took the Mitre Peak Nature cruise. Good value for money on a smaller boat.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissBossyBoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (198)
There are newer reviews for Edgewater Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

157 - 163 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2011

We really enjoyed our time in this Motel. The staff were incredibly friendly and very helpful. They were very understanding when our holiday dates had to be rearranged at short notice due to the ash cloud.

It is an older motel but we didn't find that a problem at all. We had a two bedroom unit and it was perfect for what we wanted. The kids had their space, we had our own and there were shared spaces for family time. It was spacious and spotlessly clean. The beds were lovely, comfortable and warm. Being from a warm climate and staying in south of south island of New Zealand in winter we appreciated the electric blankets. Our unit had a bath and it was nice to be able to have a warm soak in the tub. The walk along the lakeside is quite lovely.

It's a relatively short walk to a convenience store and there is a pizza shop and chinese restaurant that delivers to the door. With the kitchen in the unit we could have happily catered for ourselves but decided to give ourselves the night off!

We weren't bothered by noise at all from the road or other guests of the motel.

A great place to stay! Great value for money!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katymacc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2011

Whilst marketed as retro, it is probably more a little tired than retro.

That said, the bathroom looked recently renovated and the kitchenette may also have been.

Lounge was another one that needed a refresh as it was pretty uncomfortable. Only an old CRT TV here but still did the job.

But all is made up for when you go for a walk out onto the walkway outside the motel and view the lake. What a place! Just stunning.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjwlaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2011

Stayed 2 nights which was 2 nights too many. All rooms only have a view of parked cars , the decor and bathroom are a monument to 1960's style. There are far better places to stay in Te Anau at a similar price.

Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank chris504164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2011

We stayed here for one night prior to an overnight cruise on Doubtful Sound. It's right across from the lake and an easy walk to town. The owner was very helpful and can book trips to local attractions.

The unit we had was roomy with a very retro feel. There was a sitting room with an eating table and a well equipped small kitchen so you could easily cook and eat there.

Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank max'smom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2011

An older motel but so what. The important things such as cleanliness and customer service were 10 star. maybe the flowers could be watered more often.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reg33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2011

In 5 weeks of travel in NZ this was the motel that stood out above all others. The manager was so welcoming and friendly and he looked as if he really enjoyed what he was doing.
He accommodated our car while we tramped, and when we returned, wet and cold and one night earlier than we were expected, his wife was so concerned that we quickly get dry and warm. that she came right into the room to turn on the heater for us.
Some places are clean and O.K. This place was clean and special.
Go there and say,"Hi" to Wayne and his wife from the Dudleys of Vancouver, Canada
.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank radudley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.4 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#7 of 23 in Te Anau
499 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Te Anau
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.3 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.3 mi away
Arran Motel
Arran Motel
#13 of 23 in Te Anau
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Motel

Address: 52 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Price Range: £55 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Edgewater Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Edgewater Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Te Anau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing