We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay - Owner So Helpful”
Review of Edgewater Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Edgewater Motel
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay - Owner So Helpful”
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We were plesently suprised with our one night here. The rooms are slightly older/outdated but are keep so clean and neat you dont mind. We did a drive up and the owner could not be more helpful, sugestions of places to eat and things to do couldnt do anymore to make us feel welcome. its a couple of minute walk along the lake to town so perfectly located and a reasonable price.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyon82, Owner at Edgewater Motel, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us along with our hospitality. Thank you for your feed back and enjoy your travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    94
    30
    13
    7
See reviews for
64
92
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We spent two nights at the Edgewater. It is convenient to town, a good value and has a very nice picnic area which we made good use of. The management booked us a tour of Milford Sound which we thoroughly enjoyed. The queen bed, however was very soft and lumpy. Fortunately there was also a single so we were able to get a good nights rest. The bathroom was tiny but it worked. The furnishings were well used and there was an odor in the kitchen area, which was carpeted.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Followthesons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyon82, Owner at Edgewater Motel, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Thank you for your review. It is always helpful to give feedback to the Manager at the time of your stay so that we can quickly sort any problems you may encounter at the time. This way we will also know exactly which Unit you are referring to
We appreciate your comments .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013 via mobile

Booked this motel thinking it is lakefront which it is but all the rooms except one are on the back side and no view. However I got luckily the only lake view room. Rooms were spacious but old. Kitchen was not great. Manager was very helpfull and informative.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank s_adalti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyon82, Owner at Edgewater Motel, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Thank you for your review . We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foxton, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013

We booked by phone, (very friendly and helpful) and received a confirmation email very shortly aftrerwards. The Email was full and very informative and offered much more information about the Motel and services around Te Anau.
The service when we arrived was great and informative and to the point of what we needed.
Allowed us to leave our car there for 3 days at no charge while we tramped the Milford track.
The motel is a little older and will need some serious update work soon.
It is clean and comfortable, the service is second to none, every body was helpful, knowledgeable and genuinely friendly.
Easy walking distance to the town centre and right on the lake front.
If you need somewhere to stay in Te Anau that provides great servce and you are not too fused on staying in side ( why would you in Te Anau?) this is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Tell reception what your requirements are and they will no doubt bend over backwards to accomodate y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyon82, Owner at Edgewater Motel, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
Thank you for your review . We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

We had the large rooms at the front and had a beautiful view even when we had to close up because the weather was surprisingly cold. The rooms were nice and big, including the bathroom. We had to carry our bags up steps but it was worth it for the view. It was a comfortable walk to the wharf for the Glowworm Cave tour and to restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieAdventurer50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyon82, Owner at Edgewater Motel, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
Thank you for your review . We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. This particular lakefront room has wonderful views of the lake and mountains as you say. Enjoy your travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013 via mobile

Just back from a 3 night stay here. We were surprised with the generous size of the rooms, with a kitchenette, an separate lounge area. A little run down and furnishings could do with an update. Only real complaint would be re the bed, very small for two ppl and very uncomfortable!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simonamona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyon82, Owner at Edgewater Motel, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
Thank you for your review of our Property.
The Unit you occupied has a Queen in bedroom 1 and a single and a double bed in bedroom 2. All other Units have Queen Size beds. We will definitely check this bed if you believe it was uncomfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and overall found the place to be adequate. Our unit and 2 rooms with one barthroom and a lounge/kitchen area. Since we had 4 ppl with us at time it felt cramped, but this wasn't a major issue since we didn't come to Te Anau to stay inside. Interior is somewhat dates but it was all kept nice and clean. Management is very helpful and informative. Wifi was expensive to use and unfortunately couldn't access data on 2 degrees on my phone.

Room Tip: Interior is a bit dated and also cramped, so If you are planning to spend a lot of time inside the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyon82, Owner at Edgewater Motel, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the Staff were helpful for you.
It can be difficult over Public Holiday time to quickly fix problems that require a tradesman and we apologise for this. The offending heater has been repaired .Enjoy your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.4 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#5 of 23 in Te Anau
494 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#4 of 23 in Te Anau
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.3 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.3 mi away
Arran Motel
Arran Motel
#13 of 23 in Te Anau
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Motel

Property: Edgewater Motel
Address: 52 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Edgewater Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Edgewater Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Te Anau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing