We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More info from staff than Visitor Centre!!”
Review of Edgewater Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Edgewater Motel
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Very easy and hassle free to book and check in. Staff friendly and helpful.

Room basic but met all out requirements - apart from needing to go through master bedroom to access the bathroom....

Quiet and comfortable although I suspect the lack of insulation would tell in colder times.

Would definitely recommend staying here if you are comfortable with older yet acceptable rooms. Clean, tidy and lacked for nothing.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

130 - 136 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Edgewater as it is located across from the lake and a short walk to the shops.. We were in the back units so it was very quiet. Although the unit was a little retro and you had to go through the bedroom to the bathroom this wasn't a problem, but if people sleeping in the lounge need to go to the bathroom in the night it could be inconvenient.
Good value and nice grounds. The hosts were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Nice beds, with a smal kitchen inside and with rooms to share only with 4 mates.
The staff are very gentle, helpful and kind and the locate is near the town center.
I was surprised, specially because of the good value.
I strongly advice this accommodation!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thagalutti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We were plesently suprised with our one night here. The rooms are slightly older/outdated but are keep so clean and neat you dont mind. We did a drive up and the owner could not be more helpful, sugestions of places to eat and things to do couldnt do anymore to make us feel welcome. its a couple of minute walk along the lake to town so perfectly located and a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyon82, Owner at Edgewater Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2013

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us along with our hospitality. Thank you for your feed back and enjoy your travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We spent two nights at the Edgewater. It is convenient to town, a good value and has a very nice picnic area which we made good use of. The management booked us a tour of Milford Sound which we thoroughly enjoyed. The queen bed, however was very soft and lumpy. Fortunately there was also a single so we were able to get a good nights rest. The bathroom was tiny but it worked. The furnishings were well used and there was an odor in the kitchen area, which was carpeted.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Followthesons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyon82, Owner at Edgewater Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

Thank you for your review. It is always helpful to give feedback to the Manager at the time of your stay so that we can quickly sort any problems you may encounter at the time. This way we will also know exactly which Unit you are referring to
We appreciate your comments .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Booked this motel thinking it is lakefront which it is but all the rooms except one are on the back side and no view. However I got luckily the only lake view room. Rooms were spacious but old. Kitchen was not great. Manager was very helpfull and informative.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
Thank s_adalti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyon82, Owner at Edgewater Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

Thank you for your review . We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

We booked by phone, (very friendly and helpful) and received a confirmation email very shortly aftrerwards. The Email was full and very informative and offered much more information about the Motel and services around Te Anau.
The service when we arrived was great and informative and to the point of what we needed.
Allowed us to leave our car there for 3 days at no charge while we tramped the Milford track.
The motel is a little older and will need some serious update work soon.
It is clean and comfortable, the service is second to none, every body was helpful, knowledgeable and genuinely friendly.
Easy walking distance to the town centre and right on the lake front.
If you need somewhere to stay in Te Anau that provides great servce and you are not too fused on staying in side ( why would you in Te Anau?) this is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Tell reception what your requirements are and they will no doubt bend over backwards to accomodate y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyon82, Owner at Edgewater Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2013

Thank you for your review . We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.4 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#7 of 22 in Te Anau
505 reviews
0.1 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 22 in Te Anau
386 reviews
0.3 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.3 mi away
Arran Motel
Arran Motel
#13 of 22 in Te Anau
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Motel

Address: 52 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in Te Anau
Price Range: £70 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Edgewater Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Edgewater Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Te Anau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing