We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Below average, Internet connection useless” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Edgewater Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Edgewater Motel
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
570 reviews
171 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“Below average, Internet connection useless”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

Simple, basic, clean rooms, as a hotel would be rated between one and two stars (it needs renovation from the buildings all the way to the cutlery in the kitchens). Staff is friendly and nice....when available. Every time (check in, questions, etc.) there was nobody at the reception and had to ring/page/wait relatively long for somebody to come (but than they were friendly). Internet/WiFi completely useless. Spend half an hour per time and have to be lucky to be able to connect, and when get through, as slow as analog modem of the early 90's. If need VPN even worse (so slow that you get "timeout" responses. This despite giving only the first hour per stay free, all other charged. "Official explanation" is that the place is "remote". Wonder how the cafés in the main street (300m away) can make it fast and for free. Wasted so much time....
Ok, the whole area is to relax and casual, but if ask "city" prices for rooms, services, connections, etc. then should also offer corresponding service. Being ranked #20 of 24 in Te Anau at the time confirms this house is below average.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank SunriseSki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyon82, Owner at Edgewater Motel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
We were disappointed that you found your stay less than satisfactory. The Manager is onsite and at this busy time of year if not in the Office is either cleaning or gardening and is not far away from reception if required. On the positive side you did relate that the manager was friendly and the rooms clean. We shall continue to work with our service provider to improve the internet connection speed for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    87
    27
    11
    7
See reviews for
58
85
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

To start with: the positives.

The site is located a short walk from town, and given we were lucky enough to have sunny weather, we enjoyed the stroll into town for dinner and a look around. The owners / managers were fantastic, especially as I was sick one day with a migraine and as my family was out, they came to check on me. Super service.

With 2 adults and 2 children, the 2 bedrooms (the room we stayed in) were a bonus.

Now the negatives.

From a guess the facility was built in the 1960's, and although there would have been several updates, it is looking tired and dated. Our first night's sleep was interrupted by a mystery noise - a loud grinding which kept us awake. We told the owners and they looked into it quickly. It did not reappear the second night, so hopefully it is fixed for good.

The beds were soft, really soft. So soft my wife and I couldn't sleep next to each other as we rolled into the middle. We are not large people.

The kitchen was basic, so we only used it for breakfast. The bathroom was more like a closet, with a small shower, smaller basin and toilet positioned between the bedrooms.

We were pleased with our stay, but next time would invest more money and look for somewhere more modern.

Room Tip: The internet is via voucher - either 1 or 2 hours provided at reception. Reception closes at 7pm, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveM0572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyon82, Owner at Edgewater Motel, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback after your stay. We upgrade the units as finance allows and will continue in the New Year with this maintenance program. I am not sure which unit you occupied as all Queen Beds are new and should not be "soft" as you describe. We are pleased that you enjoyed the helpfulness of the Manager who is onsite and can provide help and service after 7pm if required
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

Our agent booked us here after our initial choice was not available. The sign outside claimed 5 star - this place might have been 3 star in 1980. Now it activated my PTSD related to my parents driving around looking for lit vacant signs at cheap sleepy roadside motels. Let's start with security - the keys seem to date to the 1920s. When we left for the day our room was cleaned and the ground floor windows that anyone could climb through were left wide open,there was no in room safe; I was very annoyed at the disregard of our personal possessions by the mgmt.
The best things I can say is that while everything was dated it was clean. It was also conveiniently located to the lake and town.. As a family it was convenient to have a two room unit withbeds for 4 and there isn't a lot of choice for a family in Te Anau in high season.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank RunyHuny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyon82, Owner at Edgewater Motel, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thankyou for your feedback.
Edgewater is a Qualmark rated three star plus property and is advertised as such . Be assured we take the security of our customers goods and possessions very seriously. after servicing rooms like to freshen the air with the windows open. We shall speak with housekeeping and make sure that the windows are latched before they leave for the day. Te Anau has a huge variety of accommodation with varying tariffs to suit all travellers needs and budgets.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

We booked into Edgewater Motel last minute through the I-site in Queenstown and were very pleased with our decision. The staff at Edgewater were very helpful and approachable. The room was a good size and very clean, and we had a very comfortable nights sleep. We would definitely recommend Edgewater Motel to others.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ReadingHolidaywanted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyon82, Owner at Edgewater Motel, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thankyou for your feedback after your stay with us and we are pleased you found the accommodation to your liking and the Staff helpful
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

We received lovely service at Edgewater, who were very accommodating to our needs. Nice, clean accommodation with comfy beds and a great location just walking distance to the shops and right on the waters edge!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank emgriffin88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyon82, Owner at Edgewater Motel, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay in Te Anau at Edgewater. Te Anau has a lot to offer to travellers by way of activities,accommodation and wonderful scenery.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Cean & comfortable, staff very helpful with information about the area, good position for access to activities in the area. Beautiful part of New Zealand, especially the lake. Tours to Milford Sound & glow worm caves excellent, well worth the visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyon82, Owner at Edgewater Motel, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future. Happy Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon, Connecticut
Level Contributor
265 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Totally enjoyed our stay here. When we arrived, we had a tour scheduled the next day for Milford Sound. the road was closed, and was going to be for several days due to an avalanche. The owner had already checked for an alternate tour to Doubtful Sound, which was available. We I said the approval, he made all the arrangements. Likewise, the next day our planned tour to the Glow worm cave was cancelled due to flooding, he made the arrangements for us to receive credit. What a big help. He also gave helpful suggestions on where to eat. The rooms were clean, WiFi worked well. Comfortable beds, good room coffee. Laundry on site was handy. Extremely friendly staff, had a good conversation about the America's Cup, wish the Kiwis had won (even with us being Yanks). When we return to finally get to Milford, we will stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eugene F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.4 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.3 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.2 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 24 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#7 of 24 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.2 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Motel

Property: Edgewater Motel
Address: 52 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Edgewater Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Edgewater Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Te Anau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing