We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, basic motel”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Edgewater Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Edgewater Motel
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good location, basic motel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Edgewater was in a great location, walking distance to everything and right on the lakefront. However, the motel itself was simplistic in its furnishings, but in saying that, neat, with all the necessities. The rooms and furnishings reminded us of the 70's but it had a cute beach shack kind of feel. It was good for what we required, and comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyon82, Owner at Edgewater Motel, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Edgewater . Thank you for your feedback.
As you indicate, the rooms provide all the necessities are clean and placed well close to both Lake and the town centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    91
    28
    12
    7
See reviews for
60
87
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Timaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

Great value for money, and everything you'd want in a motel. Buildings are getting on a bit, but are well maintained and cleaned. Very, very friendly reception, and most if not all staff are local, knowledgeable and welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble - we needed a later check-out (to dry off after tramping!), and this was gladly provided (without charge).
Lakeside position is handy too. Not far from town - very easy walk - and even handier for the DoC centre.
Definitely will use again, and we go to Te Anau quite often (but not as often as I'd like!!).

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiatoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyon82, Owner at Edgewater Motel, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Thank you for your review.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Edgewater and the service of Staff.
Customer satisfaction and cleanliness is hugely important to us, and we are pleased that we made your stay enjoyable. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

The hotel is located right on the main lake which is pretty handy for a walk. The rooms are spacious and neat and clean. They have all amenities like mini fridge, Microwave, utensils etc, which a motel should have. Both Linda and Wayne are nice and welcoming hosts. City centre is also a short walk away. if you love cats, there is a cat always hanging around there. there is also a coin operated facility and even a facility to wash your dirty cars.

Reason for 4 stars and not 5: Well the internet connectivity is poor, which Wayne promised to get corrected the next time i visit. Also, in the bathroom the hot and cold water taps are separate which is a bit of nuisance if you are looking for warm water. baring these 2 minor irritants, everything else was awesome. really recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hunkvicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyon82, Owner at Edgewater Motel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thankyou for your review and we take on board your comments. We are pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay and the facilities Edgewater provides
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

The Edgewater Motel is located on the foreshore with a lovely view of Lake Te Anau. IT is easy walking distance to the town centre and supermarket. I was the best appointed of all the motels we stayed in while travelling the South Island. The room was large, spacious and clean. On arrival we were welcomed and the friendly environment, including the local cat, was enjoyable. There are limited facilities for washing but there is a very good facility in the town if you need to do washing and cant wait. Te Anau is an ideal stop over if you are planning on doing the Doubtful Sound day cruise from Manapouri which is only 20 minutes away. I would recommend the Edgewater Motel to anyone but particularly to families and the rooms are well suited to the needs of a family traveling with young children.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyon82, Owner at Edgewater Motel, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are please you enjoyed your stay with us and we ticked all the boxes for you.
There is a coin operated washing machine and dryer along with hand washing tub in the Motel Laundry for guests use. Our two bedroom units are popular with families as you outline and the proximity to both Lake and town make it an ideal spot to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
593 reviews
172 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

Simple, basic, clean rooms, as a hotel would be rated between one and two stars (it needs renovation from the buildings all the way to the cutlery in the kitchens). Staff is friendly and nice....when available. Every time (check in, questions, etc.) there was nobody at the reception and had to ring/page/wait relatively long for somebody to come (but than they were friendly). Internet/WiFi completely useless. Spend half an hour per time and have to be lucky to be able to connect, and when get through, as slow as analog modem of the early 90's. If need VPN even worse (so slow that you get "timeout" responses. This despite giving only the first hour per stay free, all other charged. "Official explanation" is that the place is "remote". Wonder how the cafés in the main street (300m away) can make it fast and for free. Wasted so much time....
Ok, the whole area is to relax and casual, but if ask "city" prices for rooms, services, connections, etc. then should also offer corresponding service. Being ranked #20 of 24 in Te Anau at the time confirms this house is below average.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank SunriseSki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyon82, Owner at Edgewater Motel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
We were disappointed that you found your stay less than satisfactory. The Manager is onsite and at this busy time of year if not in the Office is either cleaning or gardening and is not far away from reception if required. On the positive side you did relate that the manager was friendly and the rooms clean. We shall continue to work with our service provider to improve the internet connection speed for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

To start with: the positives.

The site is located a short walk from town, and given we were lucky enough to have sunny weather, we enjoyed the stroll into town for dinner and a look around. The owners / managers were fantastic, especially as I was sick one day with a migraine and as my family was out, they came to check on me. Super service.

With 2 adults and 2 children, the 2 bedrooms (the room we stayed in) were a bonus.

Now the negatives.

From a guess the facility was built in the 1960's, and although there would have been several updates, it is looking tired and dated. Our first night's sleep was interrupted by a mystery noise - a loud grinding which kept us awake. We told the owners and they looked into it quickly. It did not reappear the second night, so hopefully it is fixed for good.

The beds were soft, really soft. So soft my wife and I couldn't sleep next to each other as we rolled into the middle. We are not large people.

The kitchen was basic, so we only used it for breakfast. The bathroom was more like a closet, with a small shower, smaller basin and toilet positioned between the bedrooms.

We were pleased with our stay, but next time would invest more money and look for somewhere more modern.

Room Tip: The internet is via voucher - either 1 or 2 hours provided at reception. Reception closes at 7pm, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveM0572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyon82, Owner at Edgewater Motel, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback after your stay. We upgrade the units as finance allows and will continue in the New Year with this maintenance program. I am not sure which unit you occupied as all Queen Beds are new and should not be "soft" as you describe. We are pleased that you enjoyed the helpfulness of the Manager who is onsite and can provide help and service after 7pm if required
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

Our agent booked us here after our initial choice was not available. The sign outside claimed 5 star - this place might have been 3 star in 1980. Now it activated my PTSD related to my parents driving around looking for lit vacant signs at cheap sleepy roadside motels. Let's start with security - the keys seem to date to the 1920s. When we left for the day our room was cleaned and the ground floor windows that anyone could climb through were left wide open,there was no in room safe; I was very annoyed at the disregard of our personal possessions by the mgmt.
The best things I can say is that while everything was dated it was clean. It was also conveiniently located to the lake and town.. As a family it was convenient to have a two room unit withbeds for 4 and there isn't a lot of choice for a family in Te Anau in high season.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank RunyHuny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyon82, Owner at Edgewater Motel, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thankyou for your feedback.
Edgewater is a Qualmark rated three star plus property and is advertised as such . Be assured we take the security of our customers goods and possessions very seriously. after servicing rooms like to freshen the air with the windows open. We shall speak with housekeeping and make sure that the windows are latched before they leave for the day. Te Anau has a huge variety of accommodation with varying tariffs to suit all travellers needs and budgets.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.4 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.0 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
0.3 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#6 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.2 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Motel

Property: Edgewater Motel
Address: 52 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Edgewater Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Edgewater Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Te Anau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing