We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Edgewater Motel
Nearby Hotels
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$187
US$182
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bella Vista Motel(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
US$102
US$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Explorer Motel & Apartments(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
US$90
US$73
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$130
US$104
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$137
US$127
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aden Motel(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
US$116
US$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ASURE Amber Court Motel(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
US$93
US$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Parklands Motel(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
US$71
US$66
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (222)
Filter reviews
222 results
Traveller rating
63
103
33
14
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
63
103
33
14
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationmilford sounddated decorshort walk to the town centrelaundry facilitytwo bedroom unitstayed for one nightwould definitely stay here againelectric blanketsenjoyed our staycooking facilitieseasy walkliving areabeautiful lakecouple of nightsgreat place to staytwo nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
133 - 138 of 222 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Wayne and Linda made this stop great. We were there for 6 nights. They were very helpful and accomodating. Location of the hotel is good as it is a 5 min walk to town. Nice outdoor sitting area. Rooms were very well stocked with cookware.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank Patrick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyon82, Owner at Edgewater Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Thank you for taking time to place feedback for Edgewater. Fantastic that you enjoyed your stay and that Linda and Wayne were there to help you also. Enjoy your travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Edgewater was in a great location, walking distance to everything and right on the lakefront. However, the motel itself was simplistic in its furnishings, but in saying that, neat, with all the necessities. The rooms and furnishings reminded us of the 70's but it had a cute beach shack kind of feel. It was good for what we required, and comfortable.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyon82, Owner at Edgewater Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Edgewater . Thank you for your feedback.
As you indicate, the rooms provide all the necessities are clean and placed well close to both Lake and the town centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Great value for money, and everything you'd want in a motel. Buildings are getting on a bit, but are well maintained and cleaned. Very, very friendly reception, and most if not all staff are local, knowledgeable and welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble - we needed a later check-out (to dry off after tramping!), and this was gladly provided (without charge).
Lakeside position is handy too. Not far from town - very easy walk - and even handier for the DoC centre.
Definitely will use again, and we go to Te Anau quite often (but not as often as I'd like!!).

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiatoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyon82, Owner at Edgewater Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Thank you for your review.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Edgewater and the service of Staff.
Customer satisfaction and cleanliness is hugely important to us, and we are pleased that we made your stay enjoyable. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

The hotel is located right on the main lake which is pretty handy for a walk. The rooms are spacious and neat and clean. They have all amenities like mini fridge, Microwave, utensils etc, which a motel should have. Both Linda and Wayne are nice and welcoming hosts. City centre is also a short walk away. if you love cats, there is a cat always hanging around there. there is also a coin operated facility and even a facility to wash your dirty cars.

Reason for 4 stars and not 5: Well the internet connectivity is poor, which Wayne promised to get corrected the next time i visit. Also, in the bathroom the hot and cold water taps are separate which is a bit of nuisance if you are looking for warm water. baring these 2 minor irritants, everything else was awesome. really recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hunkvicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyon82, Owner at Edgewater Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Thankyou for your review and we take on board your comments. We are pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay and the facilities Edgewater provides

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

The Edgewater Motel is located on the foreshore with a lovely view of Lake Te Anau. IT is easy walking distance to the town centre and supermarket. I was the best appointed of all the motels we stayed in while travelling the South Island. The room was large, spacious and clean. On arrival we were welcomed and the friendly environment, including the local cat, was enjoyable. There are limited facilities for washing but there is a very good facility in the town if you need to do washing and cant wait. Te Anau is an ideal stop over if you are planning on doing the Doubtful Sound day cruise from Manapouri which is only 20 minutes away. I would recommend the Edgewater Motel to anyone but particularly to families and the rooms are well suited to the needs of a family traveling with young children.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanessa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyon82, Owner at Edgewater Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are please you enjoyed your stay with us and we ticked all the boxes for you.
There is a coin operated washing machine and dryer along with hand washing tub in the Motel Laundry for guests use. Our two bedroom units are popular with families as you outline and the proximity to both Lake and town make it an ideal spot to stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews