We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, facilities and management”
Review of Edgewater Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Edgewater Motel
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 March 2011

We stayed here for one night prior to an overnight cruise on Doubtful Sound. It's right across from the lake and an easy walk to town. The owner was very helpful and can book trips to local attractions.

The unit we had was roomy with a very retro feel. There was a sitting room with an eating table and a well equipped small kitchen so you could easily cook and eat there.

Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank max'smom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

176 - 182 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2011

An older motel but so what. The important things such as cleanliness and customer service were 10 star. maybe the flowers could be watered more often.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reg33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2011

In 5 weeks of travel in NZ this was the motel that stood out above all others. The manager was so welcoming and friendly and he looked as if he really enjoyed what he was doing.
He accommodated our car while we tramped, and when we returned, wet and cold and one night earlier than we were expected, his wife was so concerned that we quickly get dry and warm. that she came right into the room to turn on the heater for us.
Some places are clean and O.K. This place was clean and special.
Go there and say,"Hi" to Wayne and his wife from the Dudleys of Vancouver, Canada
.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank radudley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2011

This may be a retro motel, but think retro smart, not retro shabby. Great position, though no views, seriously comfy, smartly painted and kitted out, some units have new kitchens and bathrooms. Scrupulously clean and pristine. You could have eaten off the floor. Host was very friendly and welcoming. Would stay again, no question. Loved it. Cosy, charming, modern and retrol.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pointyhead_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2010

We stayed 3 nights in this warm and friendly Motel. The location on the Lake is terrific and beautiful. I recommend that one should consider the lake facing units. Its true value for money. Even the other units have a cozy feel and its great to sit out at night and enjoy a evening meal by the small garden. Two thumbs up!

Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank Masood_mx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2010

We stayed in this motel for 2 nights. The majority of the motel rooms downstairs are 1 bedroom and small kitchen/lounge combined. The extra beds for kids are in the lounge area, so they will take up the majority of the space. We travelled with 2 small children and just managed in the space (queen bed and cot in bedroom, 1 single in lounge). Four adults or 2 adults/2 teenagers in this size room would be too crowded. All furnishings are old style, however still very clean. The whole motel was extremely clean, the grounds well looked after, across the road from the lake (no view apart from one unit) and easy walk to main street for dinner. More than happy with this accommodation for the price we paid, considering we were just sleeping and out at Milford during the day.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KAASydney_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2010

We had booked 4 nights at the Edgewater Motel many months in advance. The booking staff had been very helpful, booking us 2 nights in one room and 2 in another with a night in between whilst we went on a Milford Sound trip. However, when we arrived the booking was incorrect and the hotel was full for half of our stay. Whilst reception were reasonably helpful we managed to find alternative accommodation ourselves by wandering into a nearby hotel that we liked the look of. We then found that the Edgewater is expensive in comparison to other hotels on offer!

As for the location and accommodation... We stayed in the Spa Unit, which is large and has lovely views over the lake. Te Anau is a great base for exploring the area and we were really glad we stayed a few days. The location of Edgewater is really handy for the shops and the glow worms trip (which I would highly recommend).

The lounge in the unit had a fridge but no cooking facilities. There were several comfy chairs and plenty of room to relax whilst looking over the lake and mountains. There would be plenty of room for 4 people staying in this unit.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelloverLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.5 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.1 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.3 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#5 of 22 in Te Anau
521 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arran Motel
Arran Motel
#13 of 22 in Te Anau
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Motel

Address: 52 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Te Anau
Price Range: £69 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Edgewater Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Edgewater Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Te Anau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing