We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lake tour with a difference”
Review of Cruise Te Anau

Cruise Te Anau
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: DISCOVERY CRUISE Join Cruise Te Anau for a personalized boutique 3 hour scenic South Fiord cruise including a relaxing bush/nature walk to discover the Hidden Lakes. Cruise Te Anau is the only company offering personalized boutique cruises on beautiful Lake Te Anau, (New Zealand's 2nd largest lake). With a maximum of 12 people per trip you are assured of the untouched tranquility of the beautiful South Fiord of Lake Te Anau. Cruises Depart Daily 10am - 1pm (also 5pm during summer months) - Bookings essential - you can book through our website.
Ashburton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
99 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Lake tour with a difference”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Now this is a lake tour with a difference. None of your in your face loud commentaries down a poor PA system, none of your gratuitous tour guide's over the top humour, but a leisurely, relaxed and memorably enjoyable three-hour cruise with Peter.

The boat can only take 12. We were actually only 4 but for twelve there would be plenty of room and plenty of flexibility . You can sit inside, outside, at the back, at the front, on the top, have your pic taken at the bow if you want that Titanic shot. It is so flexible and very comfortable.

Peter will not ignore you. On the contrary he will circulate, speak to you individually, in pairs, in groups and tell you all you need to know and then leave you to experience the beauty of Lake Te Anau. Half way rough Peter will take you on a short guided walk through what seems like virgin forest which, in turn, will give you a sense of the unspoilt beauty of this area. He will tell you some of the mysteries of the plant life and lead you to a beautiful hidden lake.

On your return to the boat there will be tea or coffee and a muffin and then the journey home.

Peter has so got it right for those of us for whom mass tourism has lost its allure and for whom the 'small is beautiful' model is the best.

This trip is a must for anyone who wants quality tourism as opposed to mass tourism.

A memorable afternoon. Highly recommended.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank gehdev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    5
    0
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A must.”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We arrived very early in the season and fairly late in the morning decided it would be nice to see the area from the lake. The receptionist had to telephone the operator to find out if the tour was running that day; it was. The tour ran for just the two of us.
Very enjoyable, Peter looked after us superbly, with a full tour despite the lack of numbers. A well thought out and executed itinerary gave us a great insight into the area including many personal touches tailored to our interests. He even tried to find me a lift back to base on a sailing yacht when he discovered my love of sailing.
The tour includes a walk to the hidden lakes, another lovely touch.
If you have a limited time in this part of New Zealand then this is the tour you need to include.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A 3 hour tour off the beaten track”
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Peter, the boat captain provides a very interesting perspective and itinerary that only a smaller operation and vessel could execute. Cruising to the first part of the South fjord and then a brief walk to the hidden lakes was a very enjoyable afternoon activity.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worth Making Time For”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

The Te Anau cruise was one of the highlights of our month’s holiday in New Zealand and definitely the best value we had from any of our trips. I am glad we didn’t make the mistake of using Te Anau just as a base to ‘do Milford Sound’ – it’s a lovely friendly town and deserved a longer stay. The lake is stunning and the cruise was unhurried and didn’t feel as though we were on a timetable. Such a welcome contrast to the busy, structured and scripted tour on Milford Sound. Peter gives a really personal service so we felt we had the trip that suited us. That included sitting up top taking in the scenery and feeing very relaxed, and plenty of chances to take the photographs we wanted. Peter gave us some good advice about what else to do in the area based on getting to know what we liked.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Carol&Belinda Aust”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Thank you to Peter, he was very informative of the area. Made us feel relaxed. The scenery was nothing like I'd seen before, absolutely stunning. The little trek to see the lake, truly wonderful. He even made us a cuppa tea & muffing!! Even met a true hunter!! Thank you for a great cruise. Will certainly recommend to friends.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cruise Te Anau also viewed

Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 

Been to Cruise Te Anau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing