We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great, great stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bob and Maxine's Backpackers

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Te Anau
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bob and Maxine's Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Darmstadt, Germany
2 reviews
“Great, great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

Very firendly people out there! Clean, very well organzied, lots of space, relaxing and Te Anau is one of the most beautiful places in the world. Amazingly, that one has to be added: FREE WIFI. Thank you guys

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter_Theissen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    21
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
12
32
47
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Bob & Maxine are fab - amazing, new hostel with great dorms, kitchen, lounge, outdoor views of the lake and free WiFi and laundry. Would return in a flash! 1 min drive to town so don't be put off by location.

Room Tip: All rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nevada City, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

I went to the Fiordlands to hike the Milford trek, planning to stay only 2 days in Te Anau. I ended up staying five days at Bob and Maxine's Backpacker. The rooms were clean, plenty of hot water in the showers and a fine kitchen but what sets this Backpacker off is the incredible hospitality. Bob and Maxine assure that your stay will be enjoyable. After a month of travel on the South Island staying at Backpackers , Bob and Maxine's was the best and must stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

Very friendly couple, with a well equipped 'hall' where you sleep. Probably the nicest bathroom we saw, with a heater mounted above the mirror so you can be warm when you get out. There was wifi, a fireplace, heaps of comfy chairs, good kitchen, washing machine, well equipped rooms. The bunks werent too bad either from what I remember. Close to the town centre too. Bob acts like your grandad which some may like and others may not! Didn't realise there was a fitness centre and swimming pool too!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hcwoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Easily the best backpackers we've stayed at in New Zealand. The place is incredibly clean, plenty of dishes and utensils. In fact plenty of everything. Huge warm lounge. Bob keeps that fire going. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfy. The showers would have to be the best. Hot... heaps of water. Bob and Maxine have basically hit the top in every aspect of accommodation. This would be the benchmark of backpacker accommodation. And the large... think overly large, high ceiling spacious lounge and kitchen area that is well heated with large windows is just a piece of beauty to hang out in.

If passing through Te Anau, forget the hotels and stay here. It's as good as. And you get to meet other travellers.

If you can get in here. Book it. You'll love it. If this is the first backpackers you stay in. Don't expect to see this level of backpacker accommodation again on your travels.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great here. Seriously. You'll stay here and it'll just change your view on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Desfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alaska
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

One of the best places I stayed in New Zealand and in Te Anau. Bob and Maxine will treat you with the best care and hospitality around. The kitchen is so well equipped and fully stocked with herbs and spices. They even provided fresh fruit for us one day! I felt so at peace and relaxed that I never wanted to leave. Bob will help you with places to go and see if you just ask. Maxine will talk to you for hours with delightful stories of the past. I couldn't ask for a better place to stay.

Room Tip: They are all great rooms, everyone is located well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

Great, how Bob and Maxine manage their hostel. About 20 min. out of town for pedestrains, but they offer bicycles for free. No keys for doors needed, free laundry, best internet in town and Bob has a solution for every problem.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sprockie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
1.3 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
1.1 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
1.1 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
YHA Te Anau
YHA Te Anau
#5 of 27 in Te Anau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
1.2 mi away
Te Anau Top 10 Holiday Park
1.1 mi away
Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bob and Maxine's Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bob and Maxine's Backpackers

Property: Bob and Maxine's Backpackers
Address: 20 Paton Place, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Te Anau
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Bob And Maxine`s Backpackers Hotel Te Anau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing