We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best backpackers we've stayed during our vacation in New Zealand”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Te Anau
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bob and Maxine's Backpackers
Reviewed 31 January 2014

This backpackers stands out between all others we have stayed in. It's clean , warm and comfortable. Bob and Maxine are very welcoming and willing to make you feel at home.
Free internet, laundry. Excellent heating in the en-suite bathroom. Kitchen is equipped with different useful things: paper towels, spices, aluminium foil , etc.
Don't miss it while you visit Te Anau.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Musya_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2014

Stopping at Bob & Maxine's Hostel was a pleasure. If you plan to stop then plan an extra day or three, you wont want to leave in a hurry. More like distant relatives than hosts. I can only thank them and I wish more places were like theirs, if there is a ladder rating they are surely at the top.
Nick....a motorbike traveller who broke down in Te Anau and had to wait for spares.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick-0167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Wonderful hostel - clean, modern facilities with fabulous common spaces - big spacious kitchen and living room, and clean well-equipped bunkrooms and bathrooms. Each bunkroom opens both to the outside (a long covered porch area with small tables and chairs) as well as to the interior hallway. The common space is really the best part about the place, though - tall windows, comfy chairs, beautiful wooden tables in the dining area and kitchen. There's also laundry available, and the whole place is handicapped-accessible. Bob & Maxine are wonderfully friendly and welcoming, and provide rides to and from town for a small fee. The place is a 25 minute walk from town, but bikes are available for free to zip back and forth. It's nice being a little out of town, too - big green lawns and you feel like you're out in the country. I loved it and wished I could stay longer!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
Thank cal o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed four nights at Bob and Maxine's. They are the BEST ...introducing us to other guests, making sure everything is clean, supplying extras like spices and food wraps, free and fast wifi, huge living room and well equipped kitchen. Maxine even brings surprises like apples or candy for guests to enjoy. We felt very much at home and enjoyed talking with other guests. Bob even gave us a tour of the Fiordland Machinery Museum....interesting. The Real Journeys bus picked us up at their driveway and dropped us off again after our overnight cruise on Doubtful Sound.
This backpackers was the best! Fantastic views!

Room Tip: Bob gave us a room across from the bathroom for easier access due to my disability. He also gave us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

I had an unforgetable time. This place is so beautiful with a hugh living room. Bob and Maxine take care that everthing is sooo (!!!) clean. Even under the bed .

And the fireplace is a really plus, especially when you hang around on a wet day...

Best accomandation in New Zealand !!!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
Thank Franziska S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We had the best time at B&M, it was a really great value for the price. We had the ensuite room for two nights over the weekend, Bob was really helpful, the place is beautiful, well equipped, and really cozy.
We would come again for sure!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moreen1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We stayed three nights in this fantastic place in the most beautiful area of NZ.
Bob and Maxine are the most welcoming hosts and their hostel is a real home.
The beds are extremely comfortable and the everything is spotless. The Kids loved the cosy lounge (the fireplace is just amazing!) and the kitchen is very well equipped.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronit B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
1.4 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
1.0 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#7 of 22 in Te Anau
502 reviews
1.2 mi away
Te Anau Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
YHA Te Anau
YHA Te Anau
#5 of 27 in Te Anau
227 reviews
5.6 mi away
Barnyard Backpackers
Barnyard Backpackers
#14 of 27 in Te Anau
59 reviews
0.8 mi away
Te Anau Kiwi Holiday Park
Te Anau Kiwi Holiday Park
#10 of 27 in Te Anau
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bob and Maxine's Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bob and Maxine's Backpackers

Address: 20 Paton Place, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Te Anau
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Bob And Maxine`s Backpackers Hotel Te Anau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing