We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real retreat”
Review of Knobs Flat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Te Anau
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Knobs Flat
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A real retreat”
Reviewed 13 March 2013

This is an excellent base for exploring the local area, with plenty of good walks within a short distance. We stayed 4 nights in an immaculately clean studio room, and were impressed with the instant hot water! The view from our window and terrace was magnificent. After the Homer Tunnel closes at 7pm the place is wonderfully quiet; and also in the early morning. "P. C." Taylor is a mine of information about the area, and will let you keep stuff in his big chest freezer if you want. We gave him some feedback - perfection would involve more than a rationed two sets of cutlery. Be prepared for sandflies, but the units are comprehensively screened and there's no problem inside.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    32
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
25
82
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Stayed here for one night after taking the last cruise of the day on Milford Sound. The cabin we stayed in was basic but spotlessly clean. We had a big comfortable bed, clean wet room, plenty of piping hot water and a well equipped small kitchen. The layout, apart from wetroom/bathroom is open plan. The kitchen area is small so if you want to cook keep it simple. The owner was very friendly and helpful with information about the local area. It was incredibly quiet and peaceful there that night. Just what you need after a hectic day at Milford and a long drive to follow the next day. We would have loved to stay two or three days.

Room Tip: There may be different types of cabin. Think ours was the most basic but it was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hermione_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waimate, New Zealand
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

This location is ideal for exploring Fiordland National Park, whether day tripping to Milford Sound, or checking out hiking trails.within the park. We stayed three nights, filling each day to capacity. We chose one of the studio units (unit 2) which was perfectly clean with all the essentials, but one of those closest to the highway. The quantity of early morning traffic surprised us. The very pleasant owner mentioned the 20 minute waterfall trail nearby, which we followed, not expecting anything spectacular because of the fine weather. The height of the waterfall completely surprised us.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doreen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lismore, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

We considered staying at Milford Sound however we ended up at Knob's Flat and we had no regrets. We planned to stay for 2 nights but stayed for 3. We were in one of the cheaper priced huts but it was very clean and had all the amenities you would require. The room was screened and the midges were less around than at Milford Sound. We slept well. PC, our host , was most helpful with his walk suggestions. Great scenery, easy location to get to walks and Milford Sound.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

After reading the other reviews I think we are talking about two different age cabins. The one we stayed in was new, accessible, very clean and comfortable. We had a wonderful stay. Knobs Flat is very easy to find and also always accessible unlike Milford Sound where the road is closed in the evening due to landslide potential. It is an easy drive to hikes and the sounds but while the whole area is gorgeous, Knobs Flat, set in a peaceful mountain meadow is blissfully separate from the buses and bustle of Milford Sound. Even if the prices were the same, I would prefer Knobs Flat. The cabin we stayed in had a large bathroom with excellent shower, comfortable bed and well equipped kitchen. (Buy your groceries on your way there!) It has an excellent supplemental heater for cool mornings and wonderful windows with spectacular views. We thoroughly enjoyed our hikes to Lake Marian and Key Summit as well as many shorter walks and the nature cruise. All are short drives from Knobs Flat and all easily done during our two night stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jetmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

I don´t know whether I can recommend this Hotel. The owner was very nice, the location is beautiful but our room was very dirty. They were a lot!! of dead sandflys (and other insects) on the window board and smashed in the curtions and about the same amount alive in our room. Of couse the Units are built in nature but we could at least expect not to find so many dead insects. The kitchen was pretty old but alright. The beds were very good and comfortable! And the bathroom was clean.
It is too expensive for this quality but a great stop between Te Anau and Milford Sound.
Next time, I would try the Hotel right next to the Milford Sound but it is a lot more expensive.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieReb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
315 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

2 star (serviced cabin) 5 /10 , 9 / 10 view.
Good service , PC was very helpful.
Nothing fancy but could't fault what they had. Good for a serviced appartment style hotel.
Single room cabin style. Kitchen , dinning and beds. Seperate shower / bathroom.
Close to Milford Sound (55 mins)

Room Tip: All the cabins seemed to be equal in design. GPS Co-ordinates 44 deg 58 min 38 sec South by 168 deg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Te Anau
34.3 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
34.0 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 23 in Te Anau
367 reviews
33.9 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.8 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
18.7 mi away
Kinloch Lodge
Kinloch Lodge
#2 of 5 in Glenorchy
279 reviews
34.0 mi away
Arran Motel
Arran Motel
#13 of 23 in Te Anau
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knobs Flat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knobs Flat

Property: Knobs Flat
Address: SH 94 Te Anau Milford Highway | Te Anau, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Te Anau
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing