We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Human Sanctuary”
Review of Knobs Flat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Te Anau
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Knobs Flat
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Human Sanctuary”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Our family stayed 3 nights while we explored Milford Sound after returning from hiking the Routeburn Track. Very peaceful and reflective location. Stunning scenery. Room was very clean and organized. The Ranger was most accomodating, cheerful, informative and enthusiastic. Money well spent. Would highly recommend this facility. Would love to return in the near future.

Room Tip: All rooms have excellent view of the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grant C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    31
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
25
80
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Our group stayed at Knobs Flat for 3 nights and could easily have stayed another. It's a perfect place to relax and also to explore Fiordland, especially Milford Sound. Although it's not far from the highway we weren't aware of any traffic noise. The rooms are really well appointed and the quality shows, good bed, excellent shower, very good kitchen layout and gas hobs. PC very helpful...and the location is beautiful.
U

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PiwakawakaWalking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Arran, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

We camped at Knobs Flat for two nights, having decided that the DOC campsites were just too basic for us. We were thrilled with the setting- glorious views of the mountains right from our tent, and fine red beeches providing shelter. The toilet and shower facilities were scrupulously clean and very modern, while the kitchen was well appointed, and, coming from Britain, where campsites have nowhere to keep food cold, we were thrilled with the excellent fridge and cooking facilities. Of course, the fact there were no other campers staying, it being rather late in the season for Kiwis to sleep in a tent, made it perfect - it felt like our own place. The owner, I think called PC, was extremely friendly and helpful. He made sure I could dry my soaking wet trainers and our washing in a secret place!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

This is an excellent base for exploring the local area, with plenty of good walks within a short distance. We stayed 4 nights in an immaculately clean studio room, and were impressed with the instant hot water! The view from our window and terrace was magnificent. After the Homer Tunnel closes at 7pm the place is wonderfully quiet; and also in the early morning. "P. C." Taylor is a mine of information about the area, and will let you keep stuff in his big chest freezer if you want. We gave him some feedback - perfection would involve more than a rationed two sets of cutlery. Be prepared for sandflies, but the units are comprehensively screened and there's no problem inside.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Stayed here for one night after taking the last cruise of the day on Milford Sound. The cabin we stayed in was basic but spotlessly clean. We had a big comfortable bed, clean wet room, plenty of piping hot water and a well equipped small kitchen. The layout, apart from wetroom/bathroom is open plan. The kitchen area is small so if you want to cook keep it simple. The owner was very friendly and helpful with information about the local area. It was incredibly quiet and peaceful there that night. Just what you need after a hectic day at Milford and a long drive to follow the next day. We would have loved to stay two or three days.

Room Tip: There may be different types of cabin. Think ours was the most basic but it was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hermione_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waimate, New Zealand
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

This location is ideal for exploring Fiordland National Park, whether day tripping to Milford Sound, or checking out hiking trails.within the park. We stayed three nights, filling each day to capacity. We chose one of the studio units (unit 2) which was perfectly clean with all the essentials, but one of those closest to the highway. The quantity of early morning traffic surprised us. The very pleasant owner mentioned the 20 minute waterfall trail nearby, which we followed, not expecting anything spectacular because of the fine weather. The height of the waterfall completely surprised us.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doreen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lismore, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

We considered staying at Milford Sound however we ended up at Knob's Flat and we had no regrets. We planned to stay for 2 nights but stayed for 3. We were in one of the cheaper priced huts but it was very clean and had all the amenities you would require. The room was screened and the midges were less around than at Milford Sound. We slept well. PC, our host , was most helpful with his walk suggestions. Great scenery, easy location to get to walks and Milford Sound.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
34.3 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
34.0 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
33.9 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.8 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#5 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
33.8 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
34.0 mi away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knobs Flat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knobs Flat

Property: Knobs Flat
Address: SH 94 Te Anau Milford Highway | Te Anau, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Te Anau
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing