We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”
Review of Knobs Flat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Te Anau
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Knobs Flat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2014

The place simply awesome!! Big windows so that you soak in all you want the breathtaking views. The place is peaceful and comfortable. The kitchenette is small but has the necessary utensils (just carry your own supplies for cooking please). It is located in an isolated place and that makes the place even more charming. I would highly recommend the place!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PArrorra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

69 - 75 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2014

We stayed in one of the units nearest the main Te Anau to Milford Road. It looked a little unprepossessing from the outside but was actually extremely clean, comfortable and well-equipped. You need to bring supplies from Te Anau as it is isolated, but we thoroughly enjoyed the peace and quiet and there are lovely views of the surrounding mountains. Recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TolinW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

I wish we could have stayed longer than 1 night here. So peaceful, surrounded by mountain views and very relaxing with good kitchen facilities and no television. The sandflies are vicious but windows are screened so the fresh mountain air can circulate into your room.
It felt like being close to nature and camping but with all the luxuries you appreciate after a day or two tramping. Close to walks with wonderful views of the stars. Great value - bring some food supplies.

Room Tip: We had the last room available which was the smallest and cheapest studio but it was still a good si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daphnescooby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

I really enjoyed staying here with my family after a 3 day hike on the routeburn track. Facilities were clean, host is helpful. We went to sleep with the curtains open so we could see the scenery as we went to sleep and woke up. There is no tv in the unit (or in ours at least) which i loved. My family and i talked, played games, cooked a meal together.
Tip: There obviously isn't anywhere to eat out but the kitchen has everything you need to cook a meal (minus an oven from memory) so bring a cooler bag of supplies and enjoy a cooked meal.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kiussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Best place to stay close to Milford Sound. Very clean, their own private water fall, and PC is a very congenial host. Be sure to bring your own food and fill up with fuel in Te Anau but very quiet and affordable place.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dstein2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We were down there in January. It was a strange summer - a bit cold. Knobs flat is a lovely place. We had a look at their hydro power station - a great little setup.

Facilities are clean and well maintained with the best showers in the south island.

I wont forget the stars reflecting off the snow on the mountains.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We were coming from and going to a hike and found this place a God send. Host is really helpful and accommodating. Beds were comfortable, shower heavenly, kitchen perfectly adequate with everything we needed. Thank heavens for the screening on the units as the sandflies were abundant. There are some really lovely long and short walks nearby, and it was terrific to be midway between TeAnau and Milford Sound.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LibAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
34.3 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
34 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 22 in Te Anau
401 reviews
33.7 mi away
Te Anau Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.6 mi away
Te Anau Kiwi Holiday Park
Te Anau Kiwi Holiday Park
#10 of 27 in Te Anau
194 reviews
18.7 mi away
Fiordland National Park Lodge
30.4 mi away
Fiordland Lodge
Fiordland Lodge
#2 of 27 in Te Anau
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knobs Flat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knobs Flat

Address: SH 94 Te Anau Milford Highway | Te Anau, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Te Anau
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing