We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Te Anau
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Avon House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #13 of 29 Te Anau B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 January 2013

You couldn't ask for better hosts than John and Aloma! They've been in the area for years, know everyone (tour operators, boat capitans, helicopter pilots) and will steer you in the right direction for everything from dinner to roadside lookouts and helicopter tours. Their home is very comfortable and they make you feel so welcome! This is the place to stay!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
There are newer reviews for Avon House Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2013

John and Aloma are one of those people who are willing to go the extra mile to make you feel at home during your stay with them. Even prior to our arrival at Avon House, John and Aloma were extremely helpful in providing tips on the attractions to visit in Te Anau and in the nearby fjordland national park. Upon arrival, we realised that John, who was driving up to the house as we arrived, had just taken a trip specially to the Te Anau town centre, worried that we might not know our way to his place upon arrival. And when my friends were worried about being underdressed in the colder than usual summar weather in our forage into the fjordland national park and the milford sounds, John and Aloma were quick to offer us their windbreakers and coats to ensure that we were warm enough for our trip. All of these are truly hallmarks of the great hosts that John and Aloma are.

Avon House itself is beautiful. John and Aloma have clearly put in much effort in taking care of their garden, and as it was the start of summer when we stayed with them, many of the flowers were in bloom and the mixture of colours was simply amazing. The interior of the house was cosy as well - there is even a tradtional fireplace which John will use in the mornings when the weather turns chilly!

For lotr fans, you are in for an even greater treat - John was present for a few weeks during the filming of the movie in the fjordland area, and has a great many stories to tell of his experiences and those secret lotr filming locations that you might not even know about without his guidance.

All in all, if you are looking for a homely B&B with wonderful hosts, look no further than Avon House!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xin_ling87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

We have spent 14 days in New Zealand, we really enjoy this trip. We have stayed in quite few beautiful places. Avon House is one of them; Avon House is the place that you would never forget after you stayed.
The color and decoration both bring you comfort while staying. Everything about it is just prefect.
Aloma and John are both very friendly and kind, and both with very good taste!!!and interesting life experience. It was a pleasure sitting in the dining room chatting with them.

If you going to Te Anau, this is the place you should stay.

PS, Aloma, Thanks for the honey moon gift you gave, we really like it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dodoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

John and Aloma were recommended to us via motorcycling friends and they certainly did not disappoint. They have a lovely home and could not be more friendly and helpful with lots of tips on visiting the local attractions and help with bookings. Way above the call of duty John drove me to Queenstown to pick up a replacement bike following a rental breakdown. Wonderful people and good breakfast too !

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sola_bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Aloma and John immediatly make you feel very welcome in their home. I stayed for one night with my parents; the rooms were immaculate with very comfortable beds and Aloma made a great continental breakfast.
What really marks out Avon House though is the way that Aloma and John really do go that little bit further than other places I have stayed.
John has a wealth of knowledge about the area having worked for the Department of Conservation and was happy to talk us through our forthcoming trip to Doubtful Sound. Aloma then saved the whole trip by driving after us for 20km after we managed to forget one of our bags for the trip - this is a mark of Aloma and John as hosts - they truly care and want to make sure you enjoy the fabulous area they live in.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Aloma & John are most gracious hosts and their home is an excellent base to explore the Milford & Doubtfull Sounds. My wife and I are from California and we were are traveling with our friends from Christchurch Each couple had very comfortable room (one with a double bed and one with twin beds), a well equiped shared bath, a wood fire in the living room and a generous breakfast. John is an expert on the natural history of the entire area and both he and Aloma beguiled us with stories about their interesting lives on the South Island. They also offered personalized advice about how to get the most out of our visit. We will certainly stay with them again when we return to this special region of New Zealand.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tuffjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Thanks to Aloma & John for their very good hospitality. Makes us feel just like our 2nd home in such a faraway place. It was our honeymoon trip and the Te Anau experience was the most memorable thanks to Aloma & John. They did their very best to make us feel warm in winter, with their hot tea, cookies, fireplace, bed warmer, etc. They are the most sincere hosts we experienced for our trip through the rest of NZ. Would really recommend to anyone visiting Te Anau as Aloma & John can give you very good advice on the area; they can even help you plan out your whole NZ trip if you talk to them. Would definitely stay with them the next time I return to Te Anau!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terrynskee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.8 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.4 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#7 of 23 in Te Anau
499 reviews
0.4 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 23 in Te Anau
616 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aden Motel
Aden Motel
#5 of 23 in Te Anau
263 reviews
2.7 mi away
Dock Bay Lodge
Dock Bay Lodge
#5 of 29 in Te Anau
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avon House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avon House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 8 Melland Place, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Te Anau
Price Range: £88 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing