We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful very interesting hosts, Lovely breakfast.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Te Anau
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Avon House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #13 of 29 Te Anau B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 March 2011

Aloma and John were wonderful hosts, John worked for the National Park and was very interesting with his tales of how they were bringing back the native animals and trees. My husband is gluten intollerent and Aloma looked after him very well. We were able to sit with them in there lounge and whenever we walked in tea was served with home made biscuits. It is shared bathroom facilities but that was not a problem.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cheeseandjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
There are newer reviews for Avon House Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 57 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2010

The Avon House in Te Anau is located in a very good area, close to the town centre and the lake. It has private parking and if you want you can walk to all restaurants and shops in the town. The House and the rooms are very comfortable and are decorated very lovely. The overall standard is absolutely very high. Aloma and John are the best hosts that you can imagine. We had a perfect stay in the B & B. The breakfast was also absolutely perfect with a lot of choices. We felt like at home. We will recommend the Avon House to everyone, who prefers high service and quality, lovely details in a room and a warm personal contact to the hosts. John has a very good Know How about the region and the nature. He provided us very helpful traveling advices. After we left the Avon House, John and Aloma invited us for tea/coffee for the next day, to tell them about our experiences at Milford Sound. Thanks again to Aloma and John for the very good hospitality, for the homemade cookies.
We hope that we can come back!
Enikoe & Christian, Wiesbaden, Germany

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Enikoe_and_Christian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2010

Words won't be enough to describe our stay at John's and Aloma's place.

The room was great: large, clean, quite, everything you could wish for. The breakfast was also very nice.

What really makes this place is the hospitality of the couple that runs it: John has been with the department of conservation for as long as it exists. And already prior to its existence, there were probably few people that knew the area as well as he does. I am convinced there is nobody more qualified to give you advise on hikes, trails, fjords, etc. in the region than him. And when we did some exploring, Aloma made sure we never left without a thermos of hot coffee and home baked cookies. And especially for our long drive back to Queenstown which we eventually had to do. Simply amazing.

And for those of us, who are at least a bit curious about Lord of the Rings and how it was made, just ask John: he spent 6 weeks with Peter Jackson and his crew while they were filming in the national parks. Something he won't tell you about unless you ask him ;)

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank guero76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2010

The hosts John and Aloma make this place. They are sincere and very friendly and helpful people. John knows so much about the whole fiordland region. They put us up in the friends and family room upstairs which was very comfortable. Lots of good advice on what to do. We enjoyed their company very much. The value for money is also excellent. John even washed our car one day as he was doing his own! It is just five minutes walk into the town centre, so is well situated.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ksarul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dirk H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.8 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.4 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#7 of 23 in Te Anau
499 reviews
0.4 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 23 in Te Anau
616 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aden Motel
Aden Motel
#5 of 23 in Te Anau
263 reviews
2.7 mi away
Dock Bay Lodge
Dock Bay Lodge
#5 of 29 in Te Anau
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avon House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avon House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 8 Melland Place, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Te Anau
Price Range: £88 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing