We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Home away from home!”
other travellers have booked this property
Cabin frontage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cabin frontage
Cabin position on section Cabin and Helicopter
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
29 reviews
Cabin frontage
Cabin position on section
Cabin and Helicopter
Sunset on the deck.
Cabin Kitchen
Cabin Dining
Lounge
Looking down into lounge
Main Bedroom
Bathroom
Washing Machine and Dryer
Mezzanine floor Kingsize bed
King Single bed on Mezzanine floor
Stairs
Cabin in the snow
Cabin with Rocco enjoying the snow
Rocco with the horses
The Sheep
Rocco in the snow
Sunrise in Te Anau
Manapouri and the Takitimu Mts
Rocco at our local park
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, Southland Region, South Island

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Noreen E
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Home away from home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We had the most wonderful, relaxing and restful stay a the Hollows. Pam was so welcoming and the fresh croissants were divine! The fridge was fully stocked for perfect cooked breakfast each day and it was great to try some local produce. The Evolu products in the bathroom and kitchen were lovely. With the cows in the field next door and the fantastic visits from Rocco (Pam and Mark's dog), it was just idyllic! The location is perfect, just 5 minutes from town and 3 minutes from the Kepler track. Would return in an instant!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Feb 2014
So pleased to have you all stay Noreen, you were wonderful guests and we'd love to have you return. Pam and Mark
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghostviki...
Norway
Level Contributor
97 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“5 star cabin in Te Anau”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

We stayed five wonderful nights at The Hollows. I do a lot of research before my travels, and I was very exited about this cabin. We were greeted by Pam and Rocco the dog upon arrival. The cabin turned out to be spotless! We live in a very similar cabin in the mountains of Norway, and we felt just like home. The cabin had everything we needed, we didn’t want to leave this place! We enjoyed BBQ on the porch, the cool cows, birds chirping and the magnificent surrounding area. We hope to be back some day, in our new home away from home in NZ.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jan 2014
You are welcome back anytime..... so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Thanks Pam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
osmosisho...
Brisbane
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“6 Stars”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

A beautiful log cabin in a peaceful setting with wonderful hosts.

Positives
Dreamy log home.
Pam's attention to detail.
Spotless.
Great nourishing breakfast supplies.
Rocco the dog... a hit with the kids.
3 cows to add to the setting.
Proximity to Te Anau and the local golf course.
Laundry.

Negatives
Having to leave!

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jan 2014
It was a great pleasure to have such lovely guests as yourselves, love to see you back sometime. Thanks
Pam and Mark (and Rocco)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014 for a stay in January 2013

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
14 Jan 2014
It was our pleasure to have you and your family stay Alison, so pleased we helped make your visit to New Zealand an enjoyable one. Thanks, Pam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Petrina P
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best place we have every stayed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We stayed for two nights at the Hollows lovely log cabin and cannot begin to describe how wonderful our stay was. The cabin is amazing, beautifully set out with all the comforts of home. The views from every window are incredible, and being on a country property, very quiet and relaxing.

Pam and Mark were so friendly and made us feel so welcome. We never wanted to leave!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: everything about the log cabin was wonderful.
Liked least: it was fantastic, we have no negatives
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cymedxa
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Brilliant property- stay for longer if you can!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013 for a stay in February 2013

We are a family of 4 adults and one infant who stayed at the log cabin for 2 nights. It's a 5 mins drive from the city centre and though this is not a lakefront property, it couldnt possibly get more charming. The cabin is very well equipped- right from the durables and cutlery to the consumables (toiletries, detergent etc.), everything is top notch. Pam even arranged for a baby bath tub and a high chair for my little one!
Only piece of advice is to stay here for more nights to really enjoy the place.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: That it was a log cabin- have never stayed in one before!
Liked least: wi-fi was a bit erratic.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacckkk
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Great spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012 for a stay in June 2012

The Hollows in Te Anau was one of the highlights of a great trip. The cabin is in a stunning location on the edge of town. A very peaceful corner of the world.

Cabin is well appointed & the owner made us feel very welcome. We can't wait to come back.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: I couldn't fault it
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Sep 2012
It was a pleasure to have you stay. Thank you. Pam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$370
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
How to book this rental
1
Submit an enquiry to the owner using the above make enquiry button
2
The owner will respond with a quote.  We encourage owners to respond within 24 hours
3
You will be able to send additional messages and pay for the quote through the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox
4
Payments made through the TripAdvisor Rental inbox are covered by Payment Protection
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing