We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excedes expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dusky Ridges - Te Anau farmstay Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excedes expectations”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

My husband, 11 and 13 yr old sons and I were fortunate to spend 2 nights with Win, Henrik and Anthony and enjoyed every minute. Dusky Ridges is as good as it looks on the net! I loved feeding the animals, learning about a farm life, exploring Win's beautiful garden and the stunning view. Win is a very special lady and she made our stay an experience to remember.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
57
75
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We stayed two nights, wish we had stayed three! It's a wonderful accommodation. Crispy clean, spacious, wonderful beds, very convenient to town. Win and Henrick are gracious hosts. They provided fabulous food for breakfast and snacks. The homemade bread for morning toast--yum! Whoever furnished this space has wonderful taste. So comfortable and attractive. The farm is spectacular, took a wonderful evening hike across the property. Loved the gardens. Everything is maintained to a "T" which makes for a great experience. There's much to do in the Te Anau area, make sure to catch the Milford Sound Fiords and the Glow Worm cave. Both are spectacular. Book your stay at Dusky Ridge early or you will miss out.

Room Tip: Sorry, didn't mean to select swimming pool and gym on ratings. They don't offer these, and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CathyMM65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
at home
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

During our New Zealand trip we had some very memorable stays and our three nights stay at Dusky Ridges definitely was one of them.
Dusky Ridges is a few kilometers out of Te Anau town center and the drive way to the farm is gravel (very well maintained).
The guest house is very nice, huge and comfortable with a well equipped kitchen, washing machine, dining table and a sitting area on the ground floor and two bedrooms and an excellent bathroom with a great shower on the first floor. The fridge was stocked with plenty of breakfast provisions and Win brought us home-baked fresh bread (delicious). We also got other freshly baked treats (brownies, chocolate cake) and fresh fruit.
The view from the farm is beautiful in all directions. The guest house is next to the family home on the farm and is surrounded by paddocks with sheep and deer. One paddock is full of friendly sheep, alpacas, goats and a deer and you can pet and feed them together with Win. Win is very friendly and helpful and she explained us much about the farm-life and the animals. We helped her feeding the sheep, alpacas and goats and then were allowed to bottle feed to lambs, this was amazing.
The place is also a perfect spot for stargazing; unfortunately, it was mostly overcast at nights when we were there.
We had a wonderful and relaxing stay and were sad to leave. Thank you so very much for everything, Win and Henrik.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Milmiria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hertford
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights recently. It was perfect, very comfortable and well equipped. The fridge was well stocked for breakfast and it was great to be able to have facilities to cook a meal instead of having to eat out all the time. Win and Henrick the owners were friendly and helpful. The views from the property were stunning in all directions if you get the weather, luckily we did. We could have stayed longer as it is such a lovely place. There is lots to do in Te Anau and it was an easy trip from there to Milford Sound too. A real gem.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mands09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night last Nov and wished we had stayed longer. Stayed with hubby and my 9 year old daugher who found it hard to leave the place. I have mixed feelings sharing about this place as this is like a hidden precious gem to us. However,judging from how quickly their vacancies fill up,I believe more and more people have discovered this beautiful place.

What is memorable is not only the place but the hosts,Win and Henrik who goes out of their way for us. There are so many things we love about the place,the well equipped kitchen,lovely bedrooms,view,thoughtful designs incorporated in the bedrooms etc. First time ever we can view the night sky through our ceiling in our bedroom. Amazing!

However,being avid photographers,my husband and I also took some photos of the beautiful night sky and of my 2 week trip in NZ,we never thought the view of the night sky here actually surpasses what we saw during our 3 night stay in Mount Cook.

After this stay,my husband contemplated going back to NZ one day just to stay there for at least a week. Hope this day will come soon!

Thanks Win and Henrik for the nice touch. It was great being greeted by such delicious brownies, fresh fruits,eggs,venison sausages etc. Although we cancelled our dinner appointment at one of our favourite restaurants to make the most out of our one night stay,there were no regrets. Only regret is the stay is too short. Hope to see you both soon.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Agnes99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Perfect home away from home. Very modern and has all the amenities for the traveller. Te Anua is ideal stop before trip in the sounds. Fridge stocked with all you need to have good tea and breakfast for family. Owners take time to show kids animals and feed them. Stayed in nz for month in at least 10 different towns. This was best accom on travelm

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

Dusky Ridges was a very nice and comfortable place to stay at. The owners were also very hospitable.The cottage (i think so) we stayed at was very new and well furnished. They also let me feed the deer, sheep and lambs! It was a wonderful experience. If you are going to South Island and have children, i recommend you to stay there. Your kids will surely love it! At night, there will be lots of stars. If you like to stargaze, i would also recommend this place. Thank you, Dusky Ridges, i will surely come back to stay again!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Jovianne99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
2.8 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#4 of 23 in Te Anau
368 reviews
2.6 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
1.7 mi away
Blue Thistle Cottages
Blue Thistle Cottages
#6 of 23 in Te Anau
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
3.1 mi away
Te Anau Top 10 Holiday Park
3.1 mi away
Fiordland Lodge
Fiordland Lodge
#2 of 27 in Te Anau
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dusky Ridges - Te Anau farmstay Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusky Ridges - Te Anau farmstay Bed and Breakfast

Property: Dusky Ridges - Te Anau farmstay Bed and Breakfast
Address: 49 Kakapo Road | RD 2, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9672, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Farmstay B&B accommodation only minutes from Te Anau offers guests the opportunity to experience a working 200 hectare farm with breathtaking panoramic views of Lake Te Anau, the Kepler, Murchison and Takitimu Mountain ranges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Dusky Ridges - Te Anau farmstay Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing