We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Tour”
Review of Fiordland Tours

Fiordland Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$125.76*
and up
Full-Day Milford Sound Extraordinaire Tour from Te Anau
Ranked #1 of 33 Tours in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Fiordland Tours Milford Sound small group Coach & Cruise.We maximise your opportunity to capture one of the finest alpine drives in the world in a unique and unhurried way.Our leading small boat operation gives you a chance to see Seals, Dolphins and Penguins with an in depth, fun commentary about the rich history of Fiordland.We do personal pick-ups from your accommodation. Departs Te Anau 9-00am Returns 6pm
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Tour”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is my second time to Milford and would highly recommend staying in Te Anau and catching a tour with Ray rather than a self drive from Queenstown. A much more relaxing and enjoyable day, and a huge amount of things to see!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lefoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fiordlandtours, Owner at Fiordland Tours, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thank you for your brief and positive review of our tour we did with you. It is always a tour from Te Anau and a long bus trip from Queenstown. We appreciate that you acknowledged that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    317
    8
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Magical trip to Milford Sound...”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Crazy to drive yourself. We took this small, friendly and intimate tour in a comfortable coach that stops at many cool places on the way to Milford Sound and the amazing boat trip. A great commentary all the way gives you a clear story about the area and attractions. Lots of stops for photos. My experience will remain a lifetime memory. We also stayed at Birchwood Cottages which is owned by Leonie and Ray that run the coach tour business. I always like to support the locals in a town, and they are great people providing a value for money service. Thanks very much.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellingon33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fiordlandtours, Owner at Fiordland Tours, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you for for the review about or small group tour to Milford Sound.
To really enjoy the day and be shown ALL the wonderful scenis stops and short walks, it is important to leave your car at Te Anau for the day like you did.
There is only two locally owned Milford Sound operators, and we are pleased to selected one of them
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burpengary, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Better than driving yourself”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We chose this tour rather than self driving after trip advisor reviews and are so glad we did. Our tour guide, Alan, was friendly, fun and knowledgable. We would have missed out on many added extras driving ourselves and it was relaxing not having to drive home after a big day. After seeing some big tours again we recommend this more personal and local tour. There were 9 of us and we were the only ones on the linked cruise, which was also fabulous (cruise Milford). We had a rainy day but that did not spoil anything, the waterfalls in full action are awesome. Highly recommended tour.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Kgn2611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fiordlandtours, Owner at Fiordland Tours, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
We are pleased that your decision to park your car for the day turned into a day to remember.
Milford Sound can be visited in lots of different weather patterns, and a rainy day with lots of water falls is fantastic. You have appreciated that to drive yourselves would have been a serious mistake, and your day was enhanced by sitting back and letting Alan do the driving while you looked at the scenery. Thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fiordland Tours - do it!”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Today my husband and 2 daughters (8 and 10) had the pleasure of a very personable tour with Alan. We based ourselves in Te Anau top 10 as the town has a lot to offer (including glow worm trip) then opted for a trip with this company. Alan was not only an informative tour guide he was great company as he took us to Milford Sound. Despite a lot of rain the tour was amazing as waterfalls emerged all over the cliff face, milford was proper awesome (kiwi style), the cruise was also very friendly with the girls allowed into boat cockpit and to make announcements on system. Photos are breathtaking, day was immense. Thank you Alan for enabling and sharing a very special NZ day with us. We all loved it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fiordlandtours, Owner at Fiordland Tours, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you for the nice review of our tour you did with Alan. You have apreciated the personal service provided for both the coach and cruise, thank you. Because we only deal with small numbers, we are able to extend a very friendly atmosphere that enhances your enjoyment for he day.
Thank you for the time you have put into writing this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A great NZ experience”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Extraordinaire tour - aptly named. Driver/guide Ray is a classic "good Kiwi bloke", an ex-farmer with great local knowledge and a shrewd, laconic sense of humour. He used well-judged, gentle ribbing to promote a relaxed and friendly atmosphere amongst tour guests. 15-seater bus with seat belts and very good views for all passengers through large windows. Plenty of chat on the way to Milford Sound, quiet relaxed trip back to Te Anau. Plenty of stops to stretch legs, take photos; toilet stops and featured short walks; excellent map with points of interest. Expertly paced. Ray cleverly manoeuvered the tour members to the best positions on the excellent cruise boat (Cruise Milford) separately reviewed. Great communication at booking; the packed lunches went down very well. Stunning scenery showcased by a great tour company. Made me proud to be a Kiwi: thanks mate.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank conferencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fiordlandtours, Owner at Fiordland Tours, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for this wonderful/amazing review.
It is such a pleasure to entertain such wonderful and appreciative people such as yourselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fiordland Tours also viewed

Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 

Been to Fiordland Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing