We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great common facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Te Anau Kiwi Holiday Park
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Fantastic venue. Good establishment. Great management. Value for money. Environment friendly. Nice common area. Nice community kitchen. Decent bed, tv and clean bathroom. The motel is a bit worn but was clean at least. Facilities for caravans and campervans are excellent.

Room Tip: Early morning gets noisy, when people wakes up to catch coaches for Milford Sounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mostafa_Akber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna M, Owner at Te Anau Kiwi Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2013

Thanks for your kind review and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. The coaches do start early in the morning, but that's so you get to see the best of Milford Sound.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

135 - 141 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2013

We were recommended to stay at Te Anau Kiwi Holiday Park. The hosts, Bradley and Anna were awesome and really made us feel at home. The accommodation was very nice and the property is beautifully kept. The unit was very clean. They put us in touch with local fishing guides and experiences and were very hospitable. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and highly recommend this park.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna M, Owner at Te Anau Kiwi Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2013

Was a pleasure to have you staying with us! I know Brad had a lot of fun, and we look forward to seeing the end result.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

I was very disappointed in this holiday park purely from a monetary point of view.

We booked a basic cabin which I was told would have no bedding, we were fine with this as we had our own anyway. We were over the moon to find we had a bathroom in the cabin. After travelling around the whole of NZ on a tight budget I was tired of having to walk to the toilet in the middle of the night. Unfortunately however, we found the toilet door was locked and in order to have it unlocked we'd have to pay extra, not just a little extra either! Absolutely disgraceful in my opinion. The toilet was there in the room, it wasn't being used and in order to squeeze the last little penny out of their customers they keep it locked unless you cough up the cash. Shocking and frustrating.

Another thing that really brings this place down is the fact that they have no crockery, cutlery or cooking utensils whatsoever available to guests, unless of course you're again, willing to pay extra! I stayed on various camp sites across NZ and this was the first time we did not have any kitchen wares available to us. I wasn't the only guest horrified by this and you found that while in the kitchen guests were loaning each other what they had so that they didn't to pay to hire things from the site staff.

There are several other examples similar to above but I have only listed those that annoyed me the most.

It's a real shame that this was the case as the camp site is one of the nicest I stayed at. It was clean and very well located, across the road from the town center and the supermarket. If it wasn't for this, I'd have given the place only one star!

Lastly, it was a little cramped and at times felt like camper vans were parked almost on top of one another.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank charlenedj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna M, Owner at Te Anau Kiwi Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2013

Thanks for your review and I'm sorry to hear that you were disappointed. We have a range of cabins and all priced accordingly. Yes all our cabins have bathrooms but there are a lot of guest that are happy to use communal facilities and this keeps the price down for them. The price we charge to have your bathroom covers the cost of cleaning and toiletries that are used. Our communal kitchen used to be fully stocked with crockery and utensils, but unfortunately due to theft and guests leaving the kitchen a mess and not cleaning up after themselves we made the decision to have kitchen cooking packs which you can hire from reception for $2.50 per person for your entire stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

I was surprised upon arrival in my 'de luxe' cabin with private bathroom to find that I was given a bag of bedding and expected to make up my own bed. The bottom sheet which was on the bed was very wrinkled and the thin quilt had no cover. I told the receptionist (owner?) that I was not happy but she said they did their own laundry and did not have time to iron the sheets and the quilt was washed after every guest. She grudgingly brought me a clean sheet and got the bunk bed duvets out of a cupboard. I was very uncomfortable. I am not normally a complainer (see my other reviews) but I am very particular about clean bedding.
I was told that I had chosen an inexpensive option but at $NZ172 for two nights it was not exactly back-packer prices. I suppose I am used to a higher standard - the night before I had stayed in the Wyndham, Wanaka, with crisp white sheets and very friendly staff, a modern TV and a beautiful bathroom. The price was $NZ125 for one night.
When I asked about tea/coffee making facilities, which are regarded as standard in most hotels, she again very grudgingly opened a locked cupboard and gave me a tray with three glass cups and a teaspoon. There were packets of tea and coffee and milk in the fridge.
I paid $NZ5 for internet access for 24 hours.
I wish I had paid a little extra and had a different type of accommodation.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monacoEastYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna M, Owner at Te Anau Kiwi Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2013

Thanks for you review and sorry you had a bad experience with your bedding. You booked a deluxe cabin which is one of our backpacker style rooms at NZD86 per night. Yes we do do all our own laundry on site and I can assure you that all linen is washed after every use. We do not iron our fitted sheets as these are very hard to iron. You were given tea, coffee, milk and crockery complementary . We did have what we call our en-suite units available for the night you stayed. These units have full linen, tea, coffee, crockery, a new LCD TV, heaters, electric blankets, and a newly refurbished bathroom for NZD105 a night.
Thanks Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013 via mobile

Fine for a camp ground. The motel unit I stayed in was clean and adequately equipped. Noise from neighbouring units and anyone walking past your window along the decking is heard clearly unfortunately, but it served the purpose as basic accommodation for a short stay. No views to speak of, as it's set back a few blocks from the lake, but it is only a minute or two's walk from the centre of town, and is handy to restaurants, supermarket etc.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 777Gus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Recently stayed here for 2 nights. What a fab. place to stay!! We chose a Delux cabin (ensuite)
More like a motel unit!! Great size,clean and comfortable. The park site was really well maintained and well fenced for family to safe.
Everyone there had smiles!
Also-very helpful staff with trip information etc.
BBQ available,close to dining,shopping-great base for the area.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna M, Owner at Te Anau Kiwi Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2013

Thanks for your review. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

This was just an overnight stay with our family (4) while in town and we arrived late and left early, but I just have to mention the bathroom! So used to motel units with bathrooms that a cat would have trouble turning in, that it was very refreshing to have all that space! The rest of the room was fine too, though the mattresses were a tad firm and it was a stinking hot night (but that wasn't the park's fault!!)

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kidlesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.7 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.3 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#7 of 22 in Te Anau
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fiordland Hotel/Motel
Fiordland Hotel/Motel
#22 of 22 in Te Anau
181 reviews
0.5 mi away
Te Anau Top 10 Holiday Park
0.4 mi away
Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Te Anau Kiwi Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Anau Kiwi Holiday Park

Address: 15 Luxmore Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand (Formerly Te Anau Great Lakes Holiday Park)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Te Anau
Price Range: £41 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Te Anau Kiwi Holiday Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With great proximity to town, we’re a great base for exploring the Fiordlands and Milford Sound. We have campervan and caravan sites, tent sites, standard and deluxe cabins, ensuite units and studio motels. Enjoy the TV lounge with log fire and flat screen TV. Laundry facilities are available. An adventure playground is available for children. New shower and toilets with heating. Boat and car parking. Tramper storage. Free information and tour booking office. Winter rates apply. We look forward to seeing you at our Fiordland Holiday Park! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Te Anau Kiwi Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing