We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very adequite.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Te Anau Kiwi Holiday Park
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Great staff, extremely well run. Good location and value for money. I left some cheap reading glasses behind. Within hours I had a very pleasant message on my phone that they had found them. All very tidy and clean.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jfelix12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Te Anau Kiwi H, Owner at Te Anau Kiwi Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Thanks for your kind review and I'm glad you got your glasses back. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

114 - 120 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2014

We stayed in a cabin here after walking the 3 day Routeburn Track. The reception staff (Margaret) was fantastic and bent over backwards to make us feel at home. The beds were soooo comfortable, the bathrooms were clean and good pressure in the showers. We had a bathroom inside our cabin "deluxe" but if you take the "standard" option you can only access the communal showers. Would recommend.

Room Tip: Pay the $20 more to access the bathroom in your cabin particularly if you have just walked one of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mccracks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We stayed her enroute to driving down to Milford Sound in Dec 2013. We had stayed in other Kiwi Parks and Top 10 but this Park was without doubt the best of the bunch. The reception staff were very friendly and helpfull. The facilities for cooking and eating was also top class. If we ever venture down to the South Island we would stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nesjoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights over the New Year period in a 'luxury' cabin. After a long drive from Christchurch, we were greeted at the front desk by a lady asking how old we were, that 'we don't want any trouble and if there is, I'll kick your butts'. Just a note, we were a group of 4 in their 30s, one of which is pregnant. I realise these comments were supposed to be light hearted, but came across very unprofessional. We then had to fork out for bedding,grrr, annoying, just include it in your prices! We paid extra for our own bathroom, so they unlocked the door! Yep, the bathroom is there, you just need to pay extra for it. The cabins have a wooden walkway right outside them, which when the camping kids are motoring around on their scooters (at the crack of dawn) sounds like an earthquake. The campers are right behind the cabins and right in front of them. It seems like the holiday park is trying to squeeze as many people as possible onto land that has not been designed to be a camping area. Also to squeeze as much money out of you, just doesn't give you the best feeling. Would definitely look elsewhere for a place to stay in Te Anau.

Room Tip: Perhaps a cabin down the end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Uncs_Aunts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Te Anau Kiwi H, Owner at Te Anau Kiwi Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Sorry to hear that you were not happy with your stay. We asked all our staff to be aware of young guests over the festive season as we are a family orientated park and have a lot of families with young children staying. We have been caught out before with guests being rowdy and causing trouble. We have a variety of units available, all which have detailed descriptions on what is in each unit on all booking sources. We sell our standard cabins to mainly backpackers as they only want a bed for the night, and then have upgrade options available. Our grounds have been designed for camping, and over the busy holiday time we do have more than our usual number of guests staying as we are very seasonal park. I assure you we are not trying to squeeze extra money out of anyone.
Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We stayed here for one night in our camper van. Site appeared well equipped with a large kitchen/lounge area. As it was raining heavily on the day of our stay, we cooked in the van so I can't comment on how busy they got. Small number of showers, which unfortunately appeared to have run out of hot water when I attempted to use them. The site is within walking distance of a supermarket and the small town which has a handful of restaurants and shops.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank melw266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Te Anau Kiwi H, Owner at Te Anau Kiwi Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Thanks for review and I'm sorry you ran out of hot water. As our hot water is all gas operated I'm not sure how this happened, I'll get the handyman guys to check it over and make sure it's all running ok.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Motel ok, good rooms, with little kitchen, centre, if you can talk about a centre, is 3 minutes. The "city" is not a city, even not a village. But it's the place where you sleep to go to the Milford sound. Otherwise you travel from Queenstown, 3 hours earlier up and 3 hours later at home

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank francois d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

This was one of the cleanest camping ground I have ever been to. Super friendly staff made our stay very pleasant. They made a call and booked a ferry in Milford Sound for us so we didn't need to worry about that. Lovely green grass and old trees around the camping site made us felt that real holiday had begun! Highly recommended to all camper lovers!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NullnFull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.7 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.3 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#7 of 22 in Te Anau
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fiordland Hotel/Motel
Fiordland Hotel/Motel
#22 of 22 in Te Anau
181 reviews
0.5 mi away
Te Anau Top 10 Holiday Park
0.4 mi away
Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Te Anau Kiwi Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Anau Kiwi Holiday Park

Address: 15 Luxmore Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand (Formerly Te Anau Great Lakes Holiday Park)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Te Anau
Price Range: £42 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Te Anau Kiwi Holiday Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With great proximity to town, we’re a great base for exploring the Fiordlands and Milford Sound. We have campervan and caravan sites, tent sites, standard and deluxe cabins, ensuite units and studio motels. Enjoy the TV lounge with log fire and flat screen TV. Laundry facilities are available. An adventure playground is available for children. New shower and toilets with heating. Boat and car parking. Tramper storage. Free information and tour booking office. Winter rates apply. We look forward to seeing you at our Fiordland Holiday Park! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Te Anau Kiwi Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing