We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy place for a big group to have a meal”

The Moose Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 34 Restaurants in Te Anau
Price range: US$11 - US$30
Cuisines: New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: A family friendly restaurant and bar located on the shore of Beautiful Lake Te Anau. We have it all, from an exciting kids menu to a whole range of styles of our signature dish - The good ol' steak! Whether you chose to sit in our fantastic beer garden and enjoy the sunshine while watching the sailing boats on the lake, or to join in the atmosphere while cheering for your team on the big screen, or to have a flutter on one of our 2 TAB machines, or dance the night away to one of our many live music acts - there's something for everyone, here at the Moose.... It's everybody's local!
Waikanae, Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Handy place for a big group to have a meal”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We had a meal here with friends before and after walking the Hollyford Track. The meals were fine but nothing special but I think we did quite well with a venison dish on our second visit. Service was average and decor, ambiance etc were average.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    130
    80
    35
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A shame”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Great location. Shame about quality of food and less than average service. Food isn't as described. Un-imaginative menu. I could have cooked better.

Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Has potential!!!”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We popped in here for dinner after completing the Kepler track looking for a quiet drink and a substantial meal.

This is such a well placed pub that we think has so much potential BUT the staff were quite disorganised and our meals were pretty basic. I had the lamb shanks and my partner had the T-bone steak. The lamb shanks were alright though really just consistest of shanks, gravy and potato. My partners T-bone was less than average due to being very overcooked.... his words were "i could cook a better steak on our BBQ".

The service seemed disorganised. We apparently had a waitress allocated to our table though we hardly saw her and had to flag down other waitresses to ask questions or to get a new round of drinks. The atmosphere of the pub was mediocre to average. It seemed more like a restaurant than a pub.

When we are back in Te Anau, we probably wont return to the Moose (at least for dinner.... perhaps a lunch time meal and beer outside might be different) but will try another venue instead.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KatanTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Average other than the view”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

This restaurant met expectations and we were not expecting anything fancy but I would say it is an average restaurant for a bar/restaurant as it didn't really excel at anything. The food was decent, but on the expensive end, the staff were cordial, and the free wifi was nice. But overall it's just a middle of the road bar/restaurant, other than the view of course. :)

I'd eat here again if I was in Te Anau.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good pub”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

This is a happy welcoming place to sit & have a few drinks at the end of the day. Right in the middle of town with happy friendly staff. Great for lunch, dinner prices are expensive for what you are getting.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Moose Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 

Been to The Moose Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing