We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bella Rosa Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 29 Te Anau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I came with the below DAP_95949 (yes: that's actually his real first name) and just as he said, it was a great time. I come to NZ once a year for 2 months and this place really is a jewel in a country with some of the best lodging experiences (IMHO) one can have abroad.

Gill and Brent are gracious hosts; apertifs pre-dinner were nice, and having the fun of eating dinner with them was fun (though it just kind of happened, as the best things in travel often do).

We have stayed in other B&Bs in Te Anau. It's hard to go wrong there - they are all good, but given the price and the company (Gill is just naturally passionate about hospitality) this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Psuedokiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
There are newer reviews for Bella Rosa Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

98 - 104 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

I stayed at the Bella Rosa with a couple friends and we had an amazing time. We sat down for wine and cheese with the owners and ended up having dinner with them they were so wonderful to talk to. The next morning I awoke to amazing fresh baked muffins. Then, Brent and I went out in his jet boat for a little tour around the river. We departed with bag lunches that contained some spectacular sandwiches and other snacks. It was a great stay and I really enjoyed not only the accommodation, but also the company. Thank you Gill and Brent for the great stay and hope to see you soon!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DAP_95949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaut1, Owner at Bella Rosa Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thank you for your review. It is always great to see that we give our guests the ultimate experience in Fiordland. It was great meeting you And your friends. It was also great for Brent and I to get to share over dinner and to hear about your experiences, amazing what you are doing and we definitely look forward to seeing you again and even having your future groups overnighting in Te Anau, paradise of Fiordland. Once again many thanks for taking the time to write your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My fiancé and I stayed with Gill, Coco, and Oscar (unfortunately Brent was away) for two nights while in the Te Anau area and boy were we impressed!! We stay in B&B's whenever we can and Gill went above and beyond the B&B experience. She is unbelievably knowledgable about the best places to eat and organized all of our reservations for us. She even packed us a lunch for our long day on the Doubtful Sound cruise, which is a must for any tourist to go and do. Her freshly baked muffins were a hit with us as they had the crunchy muffin top, but were also warm and fluffy in the middle. We gobbled those down like it was nobodies business. Her house is beautifully decorated and the bedrooms are comfy and spacious. Free wifi is always a bonus and if you are traveling during the winter time, as we were, Bella Rosa is a welcome warm cozy environment to come back too. We enjoyed some wonderful conversation's with Gill and we really enjoyed getting to know her. Coco the dog and Oscar the cat were a huge hit with us as we are both animal lovers. If you are weary of dogs don't let this stop you from staying with Gill as Coco is very well behaved and has a very gentle nature. Gill pays attention to detail and is very organized. The little things matter to her, which we both appreciated. We will miss them all very much! There is no other choice for you to stay in Te Anau! Mallory & Nate

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mallory L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaut1, Owner at Bella Rosa Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Hi Nate and Mallory thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your time in Fiordland and at Bella Rosa, I am also thrilled that you enjoyed all the home comforts that Bella Rosa has to offer, and Coco definitely missed you both when you left. It was also a special time for you with your engagement and sharing this special occasion with your family would have been fantastic. I wish you both all the very best for the future ahead. I look forward to seeing you again and look forward to seeing your photos. Once again take care and thanks for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Sorry we were late for this. We had the good fortune to stay at Bella Rosa for two nights as part of our honeymoon to New Zealand. It was really nice and a good memory. The hosts, Gilly, is the most welcoming host that make you feel immediately at home and assist you in every possible way. We would say to anyone, don't hesitate in making a booking and you'll enjoy it as much as we did. My wife also miss coco and oscar a lot, we really want to back again next year, thank you!
Yan & Jo

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Yan Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

My wife and I stayed with Gil and Brent last month during a four week vacation for our 50th wedding anniversary. From the beginning to the end of our two day stay, we were treated with kindness and thoughtfulness. Our trip started with luggage problems in which I picked up the wrong suitcase at the airport. Gil was not feeling well but she immediately took charge and took care of our problem.

Brent went over the top by changing our reservations to visit Milford Sound to Doubtful Sound when the road was changed. This way we ended up by visiting both due to his quick thinking.

I could go on and on about how they responded to each and every situation - both minor and major. Their actions were made even more remarkable due to Gill not feeling up to her normal self. Brent is very interesting guy who told us of his adventures he had as a hostage in Nigeria a few years ago. I loved seeing his toys and talking about his hobbies.

The breakfast was outstanding. Coffee was great as well. I could go on and on, we were more than satisfied with our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dean01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Great location just out of town.
Beautiful, clean and comfy rooms.
Bathroom stunning and has underfloor heating!
Spacious and cosy living area.
Gill was a wonderful host with great local knowledge.
Her small dog, Coco, was very cute and great fun.
Free, fast wifi.
Amazing breakfast with sublime muffins.
Highly recommended.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ailsa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed 3 nights on 2-4 June 2014. Gill's home feels like a home away from home. Home made muffins every morning were a delight. Gill was full of useful information and even assisted us to replan some of our trip due to a storm that made us change travel plans. We would come back here in a heartbeat. Coco and Oscar, Gill's cute dog and cat are playful and enjoy a good run around the house!

We highly recommend staying here, and you will not want to leave.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffreystanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
1.4 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
1.0 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Te Anau
382 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#7 of 23 in Te Anau
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
1.0 mi away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 23 in Te Anau
616 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dunluce Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Rosa Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Rosa Bed and Breakfast

Address: 24 Acheron Way, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Te Anau
Price Range: £141 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Bella Rosa Bed and Breakfast in Fiordland. Brent and Gill would like to welcome you to join them in their lovely home, located just 3 minutes from the town centre of Te Anau. Bella Rosa offers you fantastic accommodation in Te Anau serving wider Fiordland. Situated in glorious greenery, with views onto New Zealand’s most breathtaking landscapes, Bella Rosa looks out over the mountains and water of Lake Te Anau. Offering complete privacy and tranquillity in a comfortable environment, we pride ourselves on a hospitable and warm welcome to our home and this amazing area.Bella Rosa is perfect for a romantic holiday, getaway, business trip or just for a restful or fun weekend. whatever you are looking for in the Fiordland and Te Anau area, Bella Rosa B&B can make it happen! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing