We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restful and quiet stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Te Anau
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rosie's Homestay Backpackers
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Rosie's homestay was a lovely house near the edge of Te Anau run and still lived in by the owners. The rooms and facilities were very clean and comfortable and we slept very well and felt like we were at home. The homestay also has a spacious yard and a small parking lot in front.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinktulip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

28 - 34 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

- A bit far from towncentre
- No free wifi
- Good! beds, no bunks
- Friendly staff!
- Relaxt atmosphere, like your home
- Enough kitchen equipment
- Clean!
- Barefoot style
- Small hostel
- Stayed 3 nights
- Will be here again, definitely

Thanks

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jur25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We had a wonderful stay here, even though Rosie was out on a cycling trip :)

Our room was bright and beds were very comfortable. Bathrooms were very clean. Kitchen was large and really well equipped, but there weren't many spices to use, so make sure you bring your own.There was some homemade goodies in the kitchen for purchase... I had a raspberry and white chocolate muffin, delicious! There is also cheap wifi for purchase ($2.50 for both of us for our entire stay) and it's FAST!! The property is also beautiful, with lots of seating outside.

There is also a household cat who is very greedy!! It was cute at first, but while we were eating dinner it was being very pesky. It kept scratching at my chair, and scratched my hand when I tried to shoo it away. It ended up jumping onto my chair and swiping a piece of steak directly off my plate!! Annoying at the time, but kinda makes for a funny story.

Highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

This really is a home, and you stay in the extra bedrooms. Except for doing your own cooking (and having a big kitchen and dining room), it's pretty much like visiting a friendly relative. You may even get to talk to visiting neighbors in the dining room. The common room / living room is much like home. Rosie and Alister are great sources of information on the Te Anau area (and South Island in general). The helped us pick the right day to go up to Milford Sound, and were excellent on the nearby tracks. Adequate off-street parking (and nearly infinite on-street parking).

It is a bit away from the town center (walkable, but not short), and well into a very quiet residential neighborhood. Tom Plato Drive (where it's located) doesn't directly intersect the main streets through town, so it's a bit hard to find without a map or clear directions.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fbdaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Rosie's is like a home away from home. We spent two separate nights there, we spent one night in between at Milford Sound.

Rosie and Alistair are very welcoming and friendly. It really is a homestay. A small number of rooms are available, and it is Rosie and Alistair's home, they use the kitchen and dining room, so you know it is well equipped and looked after.

The rooms and common areas are furnished comfortably and are very clean. The kitchen is lovely, the knives are sharp (I know, who would have thought this possible at a backpackers?!).

Wifi was reasonably priced (based on previous experience, some cheaper, some more expensive).

If you are intending on staying at Te Anau, you have to try to get a place at Rosie's. Book in advance, it is often booked out.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoodbLubber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

There was a moment here when we looked around our room in wonder. Curtains. Furniture. Carpet. It felt like home, not like the threadbare interrogation cells you often get at hostels. The pans in the kitchen are not just scrap metal. The toilets and showers smell nice. The bikes are free. Rosie is friendly and helpful. If only every place in NZ was so good.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Matt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We spend three nights at Rosie's and rank as one of our top stays of our month long trip. The atmosphere is very laid back and the facilities are spotless. Rossie and Alistair are excellent hosts and incredibly knowledgeable about the area and hiking trails. We planned to hike Gertrude's saddle after our first night and Alistair was extremely helpful in giving us a detailed weather report and preview/warning for this difficult day hike. The location is fine if you have a car (we did) but is a bit far from the main part of the city if you would need to walk.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlichti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.8 mi away
YHA Te Anau
YHA Te Anau
#4 of 27 in Te Anau
234 reviews
1 mi away
Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers
5.7 mi away
Barnyard Backpackers
Barnyard Backpackers
#14 of 27 in Te Anau
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
1.2 mi away
Arran Motel
Arran Motel
#13 of 22 in Te Anau
175 reviews
1 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosie's Homestay Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosie's Homestay Backpackers

Address: 23 Tom Plato Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Te Anau
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing