We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming place with lots of character”
Review of Rose n Reel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Te Anau
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rose n Reel
Ranked #18 of 29 Te Anau B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 February 2012

We were so pleased that we stayed at Rose n Reel in the charming guest cabin with its views of mountains and fields of friendly deer, sheep and a horse. We were also grateful to Lex and Lyn for putting us up while they had a house full of family staying with them. The cabin had its own facilities and a verandah where we could sit, eat fish and chips and admire the lovely views. It was well situated within easy driving distance of Te Anau and our hosts were welcoming and friendly, showing us round their delightfully eccentric outbuildings.

Room Tip: We loved the cabin as it is peaceful and secluded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JKArnold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2012

If your idea of fun is sharing exquisite views of the mountains against the rising morning sun , across fields grazed by your neighbourly deer , sheep , a horse , more deer then you are in for a treat. Lex and Lyn are great hosts who will look after you so well and Meg the dog will meet and greet you to make sure ypu are okay. We stayed in the cabin which was a real treat , all the basics and for 5 night we happily popped out to local fishing spots and went put to Milford Sound which Lyn can book for you along with provision of maps etc. Special mention goes to Lyn and Lex for all our friendly little chats , on arrival , at breakfast and at any time of the day. We had fairly rough weather during our stay but having spent 7 weeks in New Zealand it will still be well up there with our favourite places to stay. They also have a nice looking guest room as well which looks out onto the garden. Thanks to both of you , were home safe.

Room Tip: The cabin is a quirky little self contained unit if you are in the area for a few nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VisitScotlandFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We had a great stay at the Rose n Reel while we were in Te Anau. Our room was clean and comfortable. Breakfasts were great, especially the home made bread! Lex took my husband fishing for the afternoon – they did not catch anything but had a great time anyway. Lyn was helpful with the attractions in Te Anau and Milford Sound.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SSP_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

My wife and 9 year old daughter thoroughly enjoyed our stay with Lex, Lyn and their host of friendly animals - Meg the dog, Ben the cat, Mickey the horse, Sid & Rambo the sheep, Millie & Ruby & all the other deer who lived literally at the doorstep of the guest cottage. We looked forward to returning and waking each day to feed and interact with them. If you are looking for a farmstay with friendly animals to interact with, this is ideal.

Lyn took time to show us her lovely garden with amazing flowers of every sort, a vegetable patch, a pond with fish. Not to mention her home-made bread for breakfast.

Location wise, it's quiet yet convenient. Less than 5 mins from the town centre and beats staying in town which can be rather noisy in the evenings. Quiet and peaceful with a view of the mountains from the living room, bedroom and porch of both the main house and cottage. We even had a rainbow over the mountains while having breakfast one morning.

Finally, the rates are pretty reasonable too!

Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
1  Thank jtcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

A lovely little cabin, with views across to the lake and surrounding mountains, this is relaxation at its best. My wife and I and our 18 mth old son stayed with Lyn and Lex in late November and loved every minute of it. Our son loved the animals which he fed every day, and your hosts will go out of their way to make your stay most memorable.
The cabin is quaint and clean with all amenities, and within a short drive into town. Even the local Chinese restaurant deliver there!
We had a wonderful stay, and we will definitely stay here again next time in Te Anau. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BikemanSunshineCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

We stayed four nights in the bedroom with a wonderful view on the mountains. The location is fantastic, just five minutes drive to Te Anau. The house is surrounded by very nice landscape with deers, sheeps, and even a horse.
The room and bathroom were very clean.
Lyn and Lex are wonderful people, very helpful and we enjoyed also been welcomed every evening by Ben, the burmese cat.
The breakfast is great, Lyn made her own bread.
if we come back to Te Anau we will go back with pleasure to Rose N Reel

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scubamerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2011

Stayed for two nights to go trout fishing for the day with Lex. We had a fantastic day even though the fish were not biting (last day of season). Lex did all he could to help us enjoy our day and we saw some beautiful scenery. Lyn provided a yummy lunch complete with home made goodies.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MackayCheetah50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
1.2 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
1.3 mi away
Arran Motel
Arran Motel
#13 of 22 in Te Anau
170 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aden Motel
Aden Motel
#5 of 22 in Te Anau
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
1.6 mi away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 22 in Te Anau
626 reviews
1.5 mi away
Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose n Reel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose n Reel

Address: 89 Ben Loch Lane | Rd2, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9672, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Te Anau
Number of rooms: 1

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing