We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely cabin surrounded by views and animals”
Review of Rose n Reel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Te Anau
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rose n Reel
Ranked #21 of 30 Te Anau B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 September 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Cabin for 3 nights. The cabin is only basic but provides a lovely quiet spot to get away. The cabin consists of a kitchen/lounge room, a separate bedroom, and bathroom. It got quite cold and the kitchen is only simple, but it is neat and clean with blankets and heaters to rug up with. The location was good fun - deer, sheep, cows and Mickey the horse right outside your door - plus visits from Meg the dog and Ben the cat. Lyn put on a lovely breakfast and had useful information about the town, plus helpfully accommodated our luggage for one night while we were on an overnight Doubtful Sound cruise. If looking for something a bit different from another Main Street Motel, then this is a good farm stay experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saffron_AU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2013

At first we were sad that Rose’n’Reel’s cottage was booked on the days we wanted to go there. But Lyn offered us the queen bed garden room with own bathroom across the floor. We liked the quiet room. Lyn was so kind to arrange a Milford Sound trip for us on the next day. She recommended us to do the Milford Sound Nature Cruises – very good advice. Thanks again, we loved this trip with an old sealing ship. The B&B room at Rose’n’Reel was very nice. There was also a good free WIFI. The homemade breakfast with bread, marmalade, cornflakes, yoghurt and fruits was served in the family’s living room, delicious and by the way: Lyn baked the bread by herself.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EuleRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Stayed here for three days and had avery relaxing time, surrounded by greta views a the rural atmosphere of country New Zealand. this is a working property and Lyn and Lex are very comfortable sharing their life experiences and the hospitality. If you enjoy a laugh get Lex started on his jokes and you are in for a great time. This is very well situated on the outskirts of Te Anua and you have easy access to everything and it is a greta base for Milford and Doubtful Sounds. If you are into fly fishing the Lex is your man.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We have just gotten back from a month long trip from NZ in Dec 2012. Of the many places that we have stayed in this was most enjoyable. We stayed at the cabin surrounded by the farm animals - Deer, Cow, Sheep, Horse. It is such a great feeling to wake up to the view of green paddock flanked by the mountains and farm animals right outside. Our 3 year old son loved being there and got a chance to get up close to the animals, feeding them. We were also lucky to see the new-born fawn.
Lyn and Lex are the perfect hosts. Lyn is so warm and does everything she can to make the stay comfortable.
We just felt as if it was a home away from home.

Room Tip: I would recommend the cabin any day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sangy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

We stayed in the cabin for two days and loved it. Our two-year old loved playing with the animals - the deer, horse, cow, dog, and cat - and it was really fun to have them all just outside of our cabin. The cabin was cute and comfortable and very clean. It was a bit small however and it was more difficult to cook in it than some of the other places where we stayed. The cabin is also old so it does creaks a lot. I would imagine that if you stay in one of the rooms in the house they are a bit more modern. The one thing that was difficult is that there are high ceilings and windows at the top that allow in a lot of light. It did not get dark until after 9:30pm, so our daughter basically would not sleep until very late. If you have a young child this is an awesome place to stay but the sleeping part can be challenging with so much light in the room. Lyn and Lex are both great, the breakfast is also very nice. They are close to Te Anau but removed enough that you really get to feel like it is a vacation within a vacation. Highly recommended for kids.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We stayed in the cabin for 2 nights. Picked it on the basis it was a bit different from the sterile hotels found worldwide. Upon arrival, we received an extremely warm welcome from Lyn, Meg the dog and the various other animals. Lyn helped organise tours to Milford Sounds and the glow worm trips and was very helpful. The cabin is basic but good value for money. Has everything you need and the location is fantastic. Was nice to have a cup of tea with Lyn and Lex and chat about Kiwi life.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank jmohide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We arrived to a warm welcome by Lynn, Lex and their dog Meg. We stayed in the cute cottage that had a kitchenette. There was plenty of space for two people. The bedroom was nice and offered a queen bed. We enjoyed bringing dinner back and sitting at the picnic table out front of the cottage and watching the animals. Some of the deer are tame and will eat right out of your hands. Syd the sheep if he gets comfortable will come right up and let you pet him. The breakfast was standard of yogurt, muesili, milk, toast, but it was enough to start the day off on the right foot. We were very happy to have been able to meet Lynn and Lex as they are wonderful people. They were so friendly and easy to have conversation with. They are nice and caring people. We loved our stay and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Solbonita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
1.2 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
1.3 mi away
Arran Motel
Arran Motel
#13 of 22 in Te Anau
181 reviews
15.9 mi away
Fiordland National Park Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Edgewater Motel
Edgewater Motel
#17 of 22 in Te Anau
214 reviews
1.8 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
1.7 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose n Reel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose n Reel

Address: 89 Ben Loch Lane | Rd2, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9672, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Te Anau
Number of rooms: 1

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing