We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Real New Zealanders” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rose n Reel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Te Anau
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rose n Reel
Ranked #18 of 28 Te Anau B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Real New Zealanders”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

The owners Lex and Lynn were really great and made us feel completely at home talking about their family, ours, where to go in the area, where best to eat, etc.
We stayed in the cabin and as others have commented by today's standards it is a bit basic. But it was adequate and as was mentioned when we were there it would cost to more to rent if it was revamped. And any short-comings in the cabin were more than made up by the breakfast (we had to stop Lynn feeding us!) and the fact that 'tame-ish' deer, cattle and a horse were just outside the cabin and of course Meg the dog and Ben the cat just added to it!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peb747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Cabin for 3 nights. The cabin is only basic but provides a lovely quiet spot to get away. The cabin consists of a kitchen/lounge room, a separate bedroom, and bathroom. It got quite cold and the kitchen is only simple, but it is neat and clean with blankets and heaters to rug up with. The location was good fun - deer, sheep, cows and Mickey the horse right outside your door - plus visits from Meg the dog and Ben the cat. Lyn put on a lovely breakfast and had useful information about the town, plus helpfully accommodated our luggage for one night while we were on an overnight Doubtful Sound cruise. If looking for something a bit different from another Main Street Motel, then this is a good farm stay experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Saffron_AU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

At first we were sad that Rose’n’Reel’s cottage was booked on the days we wanted to go there. But Lyn offered us the queen bed garden room with own bathroom across the floor. We liked the quiet room. Lyn was so kind to arrange a Milford Sound trip for us on the next day. She recommended us to do the Milford Sound Nature Cruises – very good advice. Thanks again, we loved this trip with an old sealing ship. The B&B room at Rose’n’Reel was very nice. There was also a good free WIFI. The homemade breakfast with bread, marmalade, cornflakes, yoghurt and fruits was served in the family’s living room, delicious and by the way: Lyn baked the bread by herself.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EuleRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
162 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

Stayed here for three days and had avery relaxing time, surrounded by greta views a the rural atmosphere of country New Zealand. this is a working property and Lyn and Lex are very comfortable sharing their life experiences and the hospitality. If you enjoy a laugh get Lex started on his jokes and you are in for a great time. This is very well situated on the outskirts of Te Anua and you have easy access to everything and it is a greta base for Milford and Doubtful Sounds. If you are into fly fishing the Lex is your man.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

We have just gotten back from a month long trip from NZ in Dec 2012. Of the many places that we have stayed in this was most enjoyable. We stayed at the cabin surrounded by the farm animals - Deer, Cow, Sheep, Horse. It is such a great feeling to wake up to the view of green paddock flanked by the mountains and farm animals right outside. Our 3 year old son loved being there and got a chance to get up close to the animals, feeding them. We were also lucky to see the new-born fawn.
Lyn and Lex are the perfect hosts. Lyn is so warm and does everything she can to make the stay comfortable.
We just felt as if it was a home away from home.

Room Tip: I would recommend the cabin any day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sangy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2012

We stayed in the cabin for two days and loved it. Our two-year old loved playing with the animals - the deer, horse, cow, dog, and cat - and it was really fun to have them all just outside of our cabin. The cabin was cute and comfortable and very clean. It was a bit small however and it was more difficult to cook in it than some of the other places where we stayed. The cabin is also old so it does creaks a lot. I would imagine that if you stay in one of the rooms in the house they are a bit more modern. The one thing that was difficult is that there are high ceilings and windows at the top that allow in a lot of light. It did not get dark until after 9:30pm, so our daughter basically would not sleep until very late. If you have a young child this is an awesome place to stay but the sleeping part can be challenging with so much light in the room. Lyn and Lex are both great, the breakfast is also very nice. They are close to Te Anau but removed enough that you really get to feel like it is a vacation within a vacation. Highly recommended for kids.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

We stayed in the cabin for 2 nights. Picked it on the basis it was a bit different from the sterile hotels found worldwide. Upon arrival, we received an extremely warm welcome from Lyn, Meg the dog and the various other animals. Lyn helped organise tours to Milford Sounds and the glow worm trips and was very helpful. The cabin is basic but good value for money. Has everything you need and the location is fantastic. Was nice to have a cup of tea with Lyn and Lex and chat about Kiwi life.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank jmohide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
1.2 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
1.8 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
1.6 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#6 of 24 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
2.1 mi away
Te Anau Lodge
Te Anau Lodge
#3 of 28 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
2.2 mi away
Dunluce Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose n Reel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose n Reel

Property: Rose n Reel
Address: 89 Ben Loch Lane | RD2, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9672, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Te Anau
Number of rooms: 1

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing