We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly host, cozy cottage and great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Templenoe Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Templenoe Cottages
Perth
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly host, cozy cottage and great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013

My wife and I stayed at Templenoe during our recent NZ trip. Dave, the owner was very friendly and he made sure that our stay was comfortable and that we made the best of all the local attractions. The service was fantastic. Cottage was very clean with all facilities, including a serviced kitchenette. Will visit again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rohit000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    15
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
33
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch
Level Contributor
68 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

We stayed three nights before heading to the Routeburn track. Although on the edge of town, Te Anau is a small place so that's not much of an issue. The unit was immaculately clean, very quiet (it was a back unit), the owners were friendly, water pressure in the shower was reasonable and we were able to store our car at the owners place while we were on the track (as it turned out that wasn't necessary, but we appreciated the offer). The cabin is small (we had the smallest one I think) and really the equivalent of a studio motel room with a kitchenette, but with the benefit of not having immediate neighbours through the wall and having a nice wee deck and garden area of our own so, in other words, nicer than a motel. It was also better value than any of the motels that were available when i was looking. We'd stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whattosay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

We stayed for thee nights in one of the cabins and loved it. The cabin was very clean and comfortable. It was warm enough that we could enjoy the front porch and look out at the mountains before dinner. The location was great--only a five-minute walk to town. The hosts were friendly as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

We stayed as a couple in the Stuart Cottage for two nights before we began the Milford Trek and again a third night when we returned from the trek.
The cottage was very clean, cozy and with all the amenities including everything we needed for cooking full meals in the kitchen. The cottage was very private with a lovely big porch. The car park pulled up right next to the cottage, making it easy for us to organize ourselves for the big trek ahead. They also have free wifi which was a great change from other places in NZ.
David and Jane were incredible hosts! They had great recommendations for things to do in the area and helped us make calls for any bookings we needed.
After a grueling 4 days of hiking in snow along the Milford Trek, we returned at night to the cottage only to find a perfectly clean room ready for us, with two cold beers in the fridge.
One of the BEST places we stayed in all of New Zealand

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andersara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GA!
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

Short drive to cute town of Te Anau. Stayed at Templenoe Cottages 1 night so we could do Doubtful Sound tour. Nice, modern accomadation. Separate cabins were nice. Only complaint is that our cabin was beside the road and cars driving by in the morning were noisy, but luckily we were getting up early for the tour. Still a great place to stay!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QueenOfTheRoad7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashkelon, Israel
Level Contributor
152 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2011

Very quiet place though a few minutes drive from city centre. Furnished with taste and love. Fully equipped and clean. One unit is adapted for disabled.

Room Tip: If travel not in high season you can try and bargain for the price, here and anywhere else, and may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
1.0 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.6 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.5 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aden Motel
Aden Motel
#5 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Templenoe Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Templenoe Cottages

Property: Templenoe Cottages
Address: 218 Milford Road, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Templenoe Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Templenoe Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing