We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Cottages and hosts”
Review of Templenoe Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Templenoe Cottages
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We recently stayed at the Templenow cottages in Te Anau, A great place to base ourselves, lovely people and lovely cottage! Would strongly recommend staying here when visiting the sounds rather than driving from Queenstown!

Room Tip: The Hosts Dave and Jane are lovely and will help you with anything
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lefoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

26 - 32 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2014

Quaint modern cottages set in a peaceful tree studded location. We had the smaller of the 3 cottages available and enjoyed an afternoon relaxing on the sun drenched balcony. It was well equipped and suited our needs perfectly. The owner/managers were very friendly and helpful. Strongly recommended.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Amanda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

This is a fantastic location for visiting Fiordland and Milford Sound. The town is located by lake Te Anua and is only two and a half hours from Milford Sound. The surrounding countryside is spectacular and the drive from here to Milford Sound stunning.

The accommodation comprises three cottages, all equipped to a very high standard and beautifully clean. We stayed in Murchison cottage, it had an en-suite bathroom, kitchenette with cooker, microwave, plenty of utensils, fridge, TV, DVD and hair dryer.

There are shops, supermarkets and a couple of bars within 5 minutes walk. The selection of restaurants varies from take-away fish and chips to fine dining at The Redcliffe Restaurant.

Our hosts were friendly and provided loads of information about the area and places to visit. This is an area where you could easily spend a week walking (this region is known as the walking capital of the world) fishing, diving in one of the most scenic places I've visited.

Room Tip: There are just three cottages all set in a lovely big garden and screened from each other and the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Great cosy little cottages 5-10 min walk into town. Reasonable prices, wifi is maybe a little weak in the room, but outside close to main office it's great. Dave is a character and will take care of you. The cottage is private, with a nice deck. We wished we could have stayed longer to explore more of the Milford. Wonderful area. Use this as your base. Self contained and private!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Devin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

The Templenoe Cottages are set back from the Lake, on a major road that is about a 2 minute drive and 10 minute walk into the main town. If you are on a budget, then these cute cottages are the place for you. They are very clean, private and provides a quality accommodation for the great price.
If you are looking for a place right on the Lake, then you may want to continue looking because these are not very close. It didn't matter to us though because we spent the day in Milford Sound, so we weren't even using the room that much. So it totally worked for our needs.
The host is very friendly and funny. They had wifi, but I have to be honest...there was never a signal from our cottage. I know that if I asked him to fix it though, he would go above and beyond to get it working...I just didn't want to bother. I had a sim card, so I just used that instead.
Overall, a great place for a great price. I would recommend if are planning a short stay or just using this as a base for Milford Sound.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeHeartTravel_143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

this was another lovely stay. the very friendly owner has several cottages. our keppler cottage was beautifully set in a garden,in front a bench to sit and surrounded by lavender bushes.
inside the ensuite cabin was a queen and a single bed. a kitchenette and a little lounge corner with tv on the ceiling.everything in excellent condition,very clean and quality linen.
pity we couldnt stay another night as it was already booked.

Room Tip: we stayed in the cosy and pretty keppler cottage. guess its also suitable for wheelchairs as it has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suicideangel3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

The owners are the friendliest people in all of New Zealand. They were very accommodating and even offered to let us borrow some DVDs if we wanted to watch something. They even left us a bottle of wine to celebrate our honeymoon. The rooms are tiny but are stand alone and are only a short walk from downtown.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vashka0310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
1 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.6 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.5 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
#20 of 22 in Te Anau
425 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 22 in Te Anau
626 reviews
0.8 mi away
Arran Motel
Arran Motel
#13 of 22 in Te Anau
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Templenoe Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Templenoe Cottages

Address: 218 Milford Road, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Te Anau
Price Range: £106 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Templenoe Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Templenoe Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing