We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprisingly pretty and clean room!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fiordland Hotel/Motel
Ranked #23 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Singapore
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Surprisingly pretty and clean room!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2011

When we pulled into the hotel's driveway my heart sank. The compound looked old and tired, more 'motel' than 'hotel' in any sense. However our hotel room was surprisingly pretty and new. Everything was sparkling clean, neat and in place, reminiscent of 5 star hotels. The room must have been newly renovated. Had a restful night of sleep - Te Anau does not have heavy traffic anyway. No complaints about the stay - just a shame about the exterior! I would recommend staying here- Note: I stayed in the Hotel room, not Motel- if you looking for some budget accommodation.

Service is good and cheery. We did not try the indoor pools or spa pools - looked a bit run down in my opinion - and the location of the hotel is a tad far from the town centre, about 3 mins drive. If you do not have a car, it may be better choosing something closer to the town centre.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frozen_fire19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    49
    69
    27
    22
See reviews for
24
101
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2011

We booked 3 nights at this Motel based on the photos we were presented with on our computer screen. Unfortunately, on checking in, we were advised (by a slightly disinterested person ), that our family unit was an "off site" location approx 2km's from the ADVERTISED location.
We arrived at our unit to find it clean but very dated and basic.
We found no teaspoons in the utensil drawer and no soap in the bathroom....the fact that there was no phone in the unit meant that we had to travel back to the reception desk or do without. The lack of telephone also made us feel quite isolated.
Would gladly have spent another $20 per night to stay at one of the other very nice looking motels that were on the same street and in the same price range.
Would expect what we found from a "budget" class motel, but I considered the price to be above Budget rates !

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beek0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Te Anau hotels

Sydney
Level Contributor
87 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2011

We stayed in a Studio Motel Unit and we were pleasantly surprised. The decor is a bit dated but the rooms were spotlessly clean. They had new carpet and bedding.

The staff were pleasant.

The location is little out of the centre of Te Anau but we walked it with no trouble. It is also close to the Department of Conservation headquarters if you are doing any tramping/hiking and need to go there.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobsieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2011

Arrived late at Te Anau and was easy to find. The reception was closed but my name was printed on the blackboard with instructions to get to my room. Everything you would need to for a short overnight stay was included in my room. I just needed a stopover for a night on my way to Milford Sound from Queenstown and it did the job perfectly. 

We needed some milk from the reception the next morning and we received along with the milk some wonderfully old fashioned country service with a smile. Thank you reception lady for your help and friendliness.

This hotel was never meant to be the Hyatt and it certainly is not that. But if you are looking for a place to sleep on the way to Milford Sound and back, you cannot go wrong with this motel. The room has everything you need including a basic but functional bathroom with fresh towels.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orangestreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
554 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2011

Pleasant comfortable big room overlooking the mountains and partially the lake....The bed was a bit saggy but comfy to sleep in. Good fixtures and fittings with all basic facilities included hair dryer and microwave. Nice big TV. extra blankets and pillows. Small balcony, laundry facilities, mains kitchen for residents use, also indoor swimming pool available via reception who will also provide pool towels. Only downside is that it is a good 15 minutes to walk into town....

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babe33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2011

We were given a unit "Off Site", 5 minutes drive from the hotel/motel facilities. The beds were very old and saggy, the pillows old and flat. Slept very badly.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pollygr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2011

Not a splendid place, but good value for money and helpful to keep the budget. Dated furniture and with terrible colors, but spacious and clean room, with a massive flat screen.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelling_around27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.6 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.5 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.3 mi away
ASURE Amber Court Motel
ASURE Amber Court Motel
#8 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
#19 of 23 in Te Anau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.7 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.4 mi away
Village Inn Hotel
Village Inn Hotel
#21 of 23 in Te Anau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fiordland Hotel/Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fiordland Hotel/Motel

Property: Fiordland Hotel/Motel
Address: 91 Luxmore Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Fiordland Hotel/Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fiordland Hotel/Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fiordland Hotel/ Hotel Te Anau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing