We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic accommodation with all the right facilities at the right price” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fiordland Hotel/Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fiordland Hotel/Motel
Ranked #24 of 24 Hotels in Te Anau
london
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Basic accommodation with all the right facilities at the right price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2009

Hotel was reasonably clean/good size room for the price. The rooms were in need of modernisation though. Bathroom was appallingly old (70s). Some rooms were modernised (nice walk in showers) but we werent offered one of those even though the hotel didnt appear full in the least. Great location for a trip to Milford Sound. Hotel has various standards of accommodation from backpack to basic hotel giving a variety of guests. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank destinyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    47
    68
    27
    22
See reviews for
24
100
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2009

On arrival we were told that the heater in our room had been on all day for us.The radiator was however full of air so the room was freezing, my husband did manage to bleed the radiator with a nail file but this had little effect.We could not sleep at all due to the degree of coldness in our room and noone was available on reception after 19.30 p.m.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GraceNorthernEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Te Anau hotels

new zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2009

We stayed in this hotel 2 years ago and it was the pits
The new management that they have now has changed this place to a very satifying stay in deed.
Loved the new hotel rooms you have refurbished and with the plans that you are upgrading the whole place is great.
Location and views are one of the best in Te Anau.

Thankyou to all the wonderfull staff.

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank tit_for_tat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2008

We stayed there recently, when visiting Milford Sound. It was a good value choice, with really friendly and helpful staff. I had read the other very old reviews and was a little worried – but it was fine; it was very good value for the money and would really suit couples/travellers. Apparently, this very large 100 room hotel has new owners who are in the process of refurbishing the whole place – there were new (extremely comfortable) beds in all rooms, which were also newly painted (see photos).

The rooms had a great view over the lake or fields, and the downstairs bar was directed in a cool 1960’s retro theme. Easy parking, right outside your room (and- if going overnight on a tour - they’ll let you park there and will keep your bags safe). There is also a small heated swimming pool, gym and 2 spa pools. Very good value for money, only a 5-10 minute walk along the lake into the centre of the tiny town. Would recommend for budget travellers or for people who are going to be out and about doing things - which is what you are on holiday to do!!

The room and complex were good – and great value for money (as the owner was a golfer, they even had golf clubs you could borrow to go and play at the neighbouring course – and would drive you there!). Apparently, they would also have ‘scooters’ for hire over the summer as well – a lot of effort was going in to doing up and making this hotel complex ‘fun’.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank eve13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2007

Stayed here for 2 nights in Feb 2006 and would never stay here again. It was overpriced, very dated and staff was rude.
The room looks like it has never been updated and the same goes for the bed which was way too soft and dipped badly in the middle.
We only stayed here because it was the only accommodation we could find in Te Anau (and now I know why).
The staff were particularly unhelpful and seemed put out that they had to serve us.
Pay a bit more and stay somewhere nicer!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything - price...service...
  • Stayed February 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatNat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Braunfels, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2007

Booked here as provided easy access to highway to Manupouri for Doubtful Sound Cruise. Also, because they advertised two restaurants which seemed appealing as our arrival time was uncertain.

Location was as expected. However the restaurant was not open when we arrived by 6 PM. Instead we were told we could join a group in the bar who were having a BBQ (we didn't). Checked the restaurant in the morning, but the buffet was unappealing.

Standard Hotel Room was small but clean. However, linens, curtains, furniture were old and tired.

I was somewhat put off as the front desk was supprisingly on winter hours: 8AM to 8PM.

  • Liked — It was clean and had hot water.
  • Disliked — Practically deserted. No wonder staff hours, restaurant hours restricted.
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank XYZZY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2007

Not as bad as we thought because it was the only place with an open reservation on the nights we required. Our first room had some electrical problems, but they moved us to one that was fine. We asked for a dinner recommendation and we were told "There are lots of restaurants on the main street". Otherwise it was a quiet location, we could park our car close to our room, sleeps four comfortably and an easy drive to Milford Sound and Queenstown.

  • Liked — They had a room
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kmstrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.5 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.5 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.3 mi away
ASURE Amber Court Motel
ASURE Amber Court Motel
#8 of 24 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.4 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
#19 of 24 in Te Anau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#6 of 24 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fiordland Hotel/Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fiordland Hotel/Motel

Property: Fiordland Hotel/Motel
Address: 91 Luxmore Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 24 Hotels in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Fiordland Hotel/Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Fiordland Hotel/Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fiordland Hotel/ Hotel Te Anau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing