We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgraceful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fiordland Hotel/Motel
Ranked #22 of 22 Hotels in Te Anau
Reviewed 28 February 2010

NEVER stay here!How this place can be justified as a hotel is beyond me.The rooms and general decor is very dated and badly needs updating.The facilities are old and tired.Dealt with one staff member who seemed friendly and nice but that was as good as it got!For the price of our room there is much better options available and we will never be back to this place even if it's the last place available.Save yourslef the dissapointment and avoid this place like the plague

Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank Roundtrippin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

143 - 149 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2010

We, as in my husband, I and 2 friends from UK stayed in this accommodation
for 2 nights namely January 9th & 10th 2010.

As a NZer, I was appauled at the service and state of accommodation we
were given.

We were placed, by a distinctly uninterested unknowlagable and totally
bored receptionist in the ‘family accommodation’ in an annex to the
main hotel. We had no choice despite clear ‘Vacancy’ signage outside the property that we could not stay in the main building. yes, we did ask to after viewing the 'annex'
.
We were placed in “Quentin Drive’ in a unit of x 2 bedrooms, bathroom and rickety staircase that was a death trap – we are all well over 60 and to navigate the narrow no bar staircase was a lethal exercise.

I was ashamed to our friends of NZ tourism. A unit in Siberia would have had more
appeal. It was clean, yes, so all credit to the staff there.
.
HOWEVER, ambience.......hallo! No light shades for gods sake – naked bulbs hanging down and all paint work (black) chipped.

The building was straight brieze block painted white (chipped also) and the stairs entering the ‘appartment’ were a death trap as said before.

The standard of ‘holiday accomodation, service, misleading advertising etc., ‘ was totally misleading. There was no lake view – nor mountain view even.
A very dissatisfied customer.

We will not return and nor will we recommend Fiordland Hotels and Motels
Group.

Would actively NOT recommend.
What service?
Location? Why would this be recommended - even on a 0 rating?

Regards


Philippa Field

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pippa64Oamaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2010

When I checked in they couldn't find my booking from expedia - the first time this has ever happened to me. To their credit, they diligently looked to resolve the situation - it appeared they were quite booked and we had a three-night stay. So instead of a family room we were allocated to two rooms, which appeared fine. However on the second night, our rooms appeared to fill with the oil smell from the nearby heating furnace, which was quite unpleasant. We couldn't help but wonder whether these rooms were used as a last resort. The rooms were fine apart from this, but it did detract from our stay.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melbvictory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2010

I had read mixed reviews on this place, but decided to book a standard room. And the day before we were due to stay here were met a couple who said they had to move out of the motel because it was so bad, which made me think it was a bad decision to stay there.

I was quite satisfied with the accommodation. The room was on the small side, but reasonably modern and it was clean. We stayed on the second floor, and the shower pressure was fairly pathetic, but still functional.

The hotel itself is a little far from the centre of town, but still walkable.

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiMikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2009

Hotel was reasonably clean/good size room for the price. The rooms were in need of modernisation though. Bathroom was appallingly old (70s). Some rooms were modernised (nice walk in showers) but we werent offered one of those even though the hotel didnt appear full in the least. Great location for a trip to Milford Sound. Hotel has various standards of accommodation from backpack to basic hotel giving a variety of guests. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank destinyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2009

On arrival we were told that the heater in our room had been on all day for us.The radiator was however full of air so the room was freezing, my husband did manage to bleed the radiator with a nail file but this had little effect.We could not sleep at all due to the degree of coldness in our room and noone was available on reception after 19.30 p.m.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GraceNorthernEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2009

We stayed in this hotel 2 years ago and it was the pits
The new management that they have now has changed this place to a very satifying stay in deed.
Loved the new hotel rooms you have refurbished and with the plans that you are upgrading the whole place is great.
Location and views are one of the best in Te Anau.

Thankyou to all the wonderfull staff.

Stayed: December 2008
1  Thank tit_for_tat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.6 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.5 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.3 mi away
ASURE Amber Court Motel
ASURE Amber Court Motel
#6 of 22 in Te Anau
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.5 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#8 of 22 in Te Anau
514 reviews
0.4 mi away
Arran Motel
Arran Motel
#13 of 22 in Te Anau
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fiordland Hotel/Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fiordland Hotel/Motel

Address: 91 Luxmore Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 22 Hotels in Te Anau
Price Range: £59 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fiordland Hotel/Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Fiordland Hotel/Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fiordland Hotel/ Hotel Te Anau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing