We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“better than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fiordland Hotel/Motel
Ranked #23 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“better than expected”
Reviewed 18 January 2007

Not as bad as we thought because it was the only place with an open reservation on the nights we required. Our first room had some electrical problems, but they moved us to one that was fine. We asked for a dinner recommendation and we were told "There are lots of restaurants on the main street". Otherwise it was a quiet location, we could park our car close to our room, sleeps four comfortably and an easy drive to Milford Sound and Queenstown.

  • Liked — They had a room
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kmstrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    50
    70
    27
    22
See reviews for
24
103
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2006

We chose this hotel because we could use our Flybuys points.

The hotel was very easy to find - the first hotel we saw after we arrived in Te Anau, didn't even need to look for it. The room we had was clean, comfortable and good sized, but air con needed improvement - we all woke up in the middle of the night because it was so hot and stuffy.

The reception ladies were friendly and helpful, they let us park our car at their motel while we went away to do our overnight doubtful sound cruise. Check in/out was really easy, and they also asked us to fill out a review card - seems like they are willing to make this hotel a better place to stay for the customers. Good stuff.

  • Liked — It price - hey, we didn't need to pay
  • Disliked — Air conditioning
  • Tips/Secrets — Get some food before you get to Te Anau, its hard to find good quality food there
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janda0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilcreggan, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2006

Basic hotel. Terrible breakfast. BUT really great staff. Thanks to them. Rooms a bit cold but heater provided when requested. Great town!

  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank warren_zevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 25 May 2006

I made a reservation several weeks in advance and when I arrived they told me they didnl't have one so I went to another hotel. When I got home I found they had charged my card as a no show. With many phone calls and emails they still won't even try to clear this up. They were very unhelpful when I was in New Zealand and have continued on. The hotel we ended up staying at were very nice and even when and got our suitcases for us. I would think twice before even making a reservation at this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Te Anau hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
York, UK
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2006

On the positive side, this hotel is clean, many of the rooms have an excellent view, there is a small swimming pool, the staff are cheerful and helpful and the prices reasonable. On the negative side, it is looking rather down at heel and dated, and there were large coach parties of noisy tourists roaming the corridors until the early hours.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank flipper2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha NE
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2006

After reading a previous review I was concerned about staying here... Found it to be just fine and nice enough to share my experience.

Really nice rooms. Great deck overlooking the mountains, perfect place to have morning coffee.

Obviously this is not the Ritz, and if you came to Te Anau for the hotel rooms you missing a great adventure.

Yes the hall ways were decorated like St Mary's School, but the room was clean, quiet and attractive - which I appreciated.

The staff was very nice and helpful, and the view in the morning from the second floor deck - Wow!

You can spend more - but why?

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TravelingwithTandM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 24 July 2005

12AUG2003 Two families overnight. It was "off season" prior to Labour Day. Rooms were well kept, clean and staff helpful. No restaurant available. Place was sooo dated as to be cool. We were half expecting ghosts to turn up to empty formally set tables in dining room. Beautifully situated property was to be renevated or removed for a new facility within 2 yrs.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.6 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.3 mi away
ASURE Amber Court Motel
ASURE Amber Court Motel
#9 of 23 in Te Anau
265 reviews
0.5 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
#20 of 23 in Te Anau
415 reviews
0.4 mi away
Village Inn Hotel
Village Inn Hotel
#21 of 23 in Te Anau
129 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aden Motel
Aden Motel
#5 of 23 in Te Anau
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fiordland Hotel/Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fiordland Hotel/Motel

Property: Fiordland Hotel/Motel
Address: 91 Luxmore Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Fiordland Hotel/Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fiordland Hotel/Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fiordland Hotel/ Hotel Te Anau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing