We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Useful and practical hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in Te Anau
Reviewed 21 March 2013

After a long drive from Dunedin via Invercargill, we arrived at this hotel in preparation for a visit the following day to Milford Sound. The hotel was clean, but the room was somewhat Spartan in its simplicity and there was a slight odor of cleaning fluid. There was no elevator in the hotel so we had to carry our bags up the stairs as there were no hotel personnel to assist us. The staff was friendly and very helpful and the breakfast was fine. It was easy to walk into the center of Te Anau from the hotel and its location on the lake is charming. A very practical place to stay if one is going to Milford Sound.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2013

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at the hotel.
On request there is always someone available to help guests with their bags up the stairs.
I am pleased that you found the location handy and the staff friendly and helpful.


Kind Regards

Anita Brown
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (441)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

265 - 271 of 441 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2013

Stopped here for 2 nights and were very pleased with our room except that it did not have air conditioning. The breakfast was included and was very good. We ate in the restaurant on the first evening, had a table overlooking the lake and the food matched the wonderful view. The service was good and receptionist very helpful. The parking could be a little difficulit as get a lot of coach parties. Would return

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at front of hotel with lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosalie e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay with us and is much appreciated.
Glad to read that you enjoyed your meals and the view from the restaurant while dining. Also that the service was good and Front Office staff were friendly.

Kind regards
Anita Brown
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Kingsgate, the ladies on the front desk where very helpful with information on what to see and do. The room was very comfortable. We only stayed one night and didn't eat at the restaurant but it was a good stay. The only thing that was a bit annoying was at midnight you could hear the night staff leaving and talking in the back car park, probably because we had the window open, other than that it was great.

Room Tip: Don't get room too close to car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Murray C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay with us and is much appreciated.
I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will remind the late staff to be quiet when leaving work especially on these calm nights.

Kind Regards
Anita Brown
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

This is an older style hotel and offers value for money. It is aimed at foreign coach parties rather than general travellers. It's in a good location beside Lake Te Anau, but then so are all the other hotels in town. Location is a 10-15 minute walk from the main strip where the restaurants are so it is quiet and peaceful. If you have kids, there's plenty of space for them to run around beside the lake and stop them getting bored. Rooms were clean and comfortable. We slept well. Reception was efficient but not overly friendly. No real facilities other than restaurant and bed. Overall it's value, but not exhilaratingly so; unlike the adjacent scenery which is!

Room Tip: Request a 1st floor room, away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Madonna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2013

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay with us. Pleased to read that in general you enjoyed your stay at the hotel.

Kind Regards
Anita Brown
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

Located right on the lake front on the gorgeous Lake Te Anau, was the perfect location to base ourselves at while exploring the region. The room was comfy and had everything we needed including a view of the lake ( we asked for this). We found the staff really friendly and happy to point us in the right direction when asked.
The gardens were lovely and the hotel had a homely feel, food at the restaurant was also of a good quality. If you would rather check out the restaurants in town they are only a 5 min stroll along the lake front. We booked ahead and managed to get a very good rate. Overall a very good experience.

Room Tip: Room on the first floor looking towards the lake was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Austravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay with us and your positive feedback is very much appreciated. I am pleased to read that you found the staff friendly and helpful.

Kind Regards
Anita Brown
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Whilst the hotel could do with updating, it was clean, comfortable and the breakfast absolutely fine.
The reception staff were really helpful and for the amount we paid, this was really good value for money.
Very convenient for everything in Te Anau

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geordieboy46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2013

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay with us. Pleased to read that you found the hotel clean and comfortable and the location convenient. I will pass on your remarks to the Reception staff that you found them really helpful.

Kind Regards
Anita Brown
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

I'm amazed at the number of 'very good' reviews for this rundown, ugly, poorly equipped hotel with a terrible restaurant. It is in need of a complete overhaul, with no lift, no air conditioning and a ridiculous wifi offering - free for a maximum of 20 minutes a day which must be used in one session in the lobby only, by far the worst offering in a month in New Zealand. Rooms are patched up (though the bathrooms appeared to have been recently refurbished), and the biggest group of users appeared to be coach parties who presumably have to take what they get. The only redeeming feature was the reception desk whose staff were very helpful.
As for the restaurant, the breakfast had less choices than some of the B&Bs I had stayed in. I foolishly decided to have dinner there, but should have walked out when I saw that only six or seven tables had been laid, despite an ambitious menu and a lot of guests. Another warning signal was the very short wine list in a country where even small eateries offer lots of wines by the glass. I sent back the main of beef ribs in barbecue sauce - overcooked, tasteless and tough. I was told that it had been cooked 'today' - what sort of a defence is that? I wasn't charged for it, at least, and I went into town to fill my hungry stomach.
The owners should close it at the end of the season and invest in an overhaul that would justify its 3-star plus rating before reopening next year.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WeeJohnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.3 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.5 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.3 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#7 of 22 in Te Anau
518 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fiordland Hotel/Motel
Fiordland Hotel/Motel
#22 of 22 in Te Anau
191 reviews
0.3 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau

Address: 20 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in Te Anau
Price Range: £50 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau is set amidst lush gardens, on the tranquil shores of Lake Te Anau offering enviable views over the mountains and lakes. Few places on earth could match the majestic beauty and sheer grandeur that Te Anau has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsgate Te Anau
Te Anau Kingsgate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing