We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Ranked #19 of 22 Hotels in Te Anau
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We stayed two nights and enjoyed the large room with a very good heater. The staff was pleasant and offered us 20 min of free wifi each day in the lobby area. It was a good value and is directly across the street from Lake Te Anau, which is a nice view.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AZB12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at the hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found the staff pleasant.


Kind Regards
Anita Brown
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (422)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

234 - 240 of 422 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2013

The hotel is a bit of a walk from the Main Street, but the walk is easy and flat, and along the lake shore. The room was basic but had everything I needed and was a good size. There is no lift but the reception staff were insistent in helping me with my one bag up the stairs!! Nice touch! I was a bit disappointed with the breakfasts and preferred to go into Te Anau. The hotel seemed to be used by touring coach companies, so at times there were fair numbers of people all trying to use the 20 mins of free WiFi in the lobby area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GingerJo70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at the hotel, your feedback is much appreciated.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your 10 minute walk along the lake shore to the main centre.

Kind Regards
Anita Brown General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We stayed at the Kingsgate based on someone we knew recommending it. The hotel was on the water and the staff at the front desk were super helpful and went out of their way. It wasn't too busy but we really felt like they appreciate their customers. The hotel is a bit older, as were the rooms, but it had everything you'd need - a wee fridge, TV (not big, great for not being tempted to stay in the room) a bathroom, little sofa and table and chair. It was a fair size and clean. We went to the buffet in the hotel for breakfast and showed up about 15 minutes before they were supposed to pack it up, so thought we'd check it out and if most of the food was gone we'd go somewhere else. When we got there, the place was pristine and ALL of the food was out. Because of the winter/slow season, nobody came! The chef was super nice and we had a huge feed. He didn't rush us at all and was friendly, talkative but also gave us our privacy. It was one of the best breakfast buffets we've had, definitely the best brekky on our trip.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristina Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your positive review regarding your recent stay and it was very much appreciated. I will have pleasure passing on your comments to the staff.

Kind Regards
Anita Brown
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

This accommodation is just our cup of tea. No high rise buildings so no lifts to cope with, just great wide short staircase. Easy to find rooms. The rooms are not too hot as many hotel rooms are. You can open the windows at night and get fresh air into the bedroom. The bathroom is just right with a bath and shower. The bed configuration is good with a single and double bed. There is plenty of space and a table and 2 comfy chairs.
Breakfast was perfect with a good choice of food and good service. The evening meal was good with tasty, well presented food for a fair price. good wine from a new bottle. Too often in pubs and hotels, we get wine from a bottle that was opened a day or 2 ago. Staff were friendly and helpful. Full marks.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TashRaffles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post a positive review regarding your recent stay at the hotel, it was very much appreciated and we look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Anita Brown
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Having read the mediocre reviews, I was expecting something quite drab. At 89 dollars a night (internet discount rate...not high season), we were very pleased with our stay. The room was cozy and the updated bathroom appreciated and the beds comfortable. Bathroom floor needed better cleaning...but aside from that we were pleasantly surprised. Staff was very friendly and we enjoyed the roast lamb special on Thursday nights. We did not have a view, but we didn't pay for one, nor did we need one as we were out and about IN the view all day.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timezoned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at the hotel. I am pleased to read that you had a comfortable stay, you found the staff friendly and enjoyed your roast dinner.

Kind Regards
Anita Brown
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

The hotel is located overlooking the beautiful Te Anau lake. The room was nice and comfortable but without any view of the lake. The staff at the reception was nice and allowed us an early check-in. The Real Journey's booking office for the Glow Worm's tour is just 10 mins walk. Value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank SUSHIL_BALI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at the hotel. I am pleased that you had a comfortable stay and you found the Reception staff to be adaptable to your needs.

Kind Regards
Anita Brown
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

There was nothing really wrong with this hotel, the rooms were clean and warm and the bath was lovely. The beds were a major letdown -, I am glad there was 2 in the room, as there was no way 2 people could sleep in 1 bed, because I tried and was lying in the bed on a 45 degree angle..... So we made use of the 2 beds provided.
What really gets me about this hotel, is that it is totally generic. There is nothing in the hotel that says New Zealand, or Te Anau, so I could be in any average hotel anywhere in the world. I did notice a number of tourist coaches parked outfront and I felt that if I was on one of those tours I would be disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToowoombaBilby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at the hotel. I acknowledge your comments.

Kind Regards
Anita Brown
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.3 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.5 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.3 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#7 of 22 in Te Anau
508 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#2 of 22 in Te Anau
389 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arran Motel
Arran Motel
#13 of 22 in Te Anau
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau

Address: 20 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 22 Hotels in Te Anau
Price Range: £61 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Hotel Complex located on the shore of Te Anau Lake, within walking distance of shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsgate Te Anau
Te Anau Kingsgate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing