We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The motel official pictures are to far from the reality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The motel official pictures are to far from the reality”
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

Very average motel that we booked only because of a lack of availability for the 1st of January night. The motel is well presented on official website, pictures are very yammy but in reality it is far different. Just an average place with rather small rooms with no view even though the website and the motel description mentioned lake view rooms. As a matter of fact only hotel restaurant has limited lake view across the road hidden under trees. Our room was clean. A little disappointment was that we were convinced at the reception by the hotel staff to book and purchase via them a ferry tour to see Milford Sound even though it was obvious that the weather will be extremely bad. As a result we spent time and money for nothing. It would be nice if they warned us and advised no to go or postpone the tour.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mishataratysha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at the hotel. I am sorry to read that you were disappointed with your stay at the hotel. The weather can be quite different in Milford Sound compared to Te Anau. Although disappointing to take the trip to Milford Sound in the rain the waterfalls would have been spectacular.

Kind Regards
Anita Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    146
    144
    33
    23
See reviews for
65
238
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

The hotel is just by the beautiful lake. The rooms are spacious and comfortable but could do with a make over, and the reception staff is friendly and helpful. You can walk to the Te Anau restaurants and shops, and the hotel has plenty of parking available. A negative point is the price of the wifi.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilitiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at the hotel. I am pleased that you found the location suitable to your needs and the staff friendly and helpful.

Kind Regards
Anita Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed here on the way back Milford Sounds the staff where very helpful but the hotel is a little dated. There was no views from our room, bed was ok as was the bathroom and shower. 5 min drive from the town centre.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chocky005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at the hotel. Unfortunately we have limited rooms that have an outlook of the lake, however the restaurant has a fantastic view of the lake and mountains.
Pleased to read that you found the staff helpful.

Kind Regards
Anita Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We were allocated rooms in the "garden wing" - upstairs which might present a problem to elderly clients as there is no lift or porterage.
The rooms were reasonably well appointed and the bed quite comfortable, but the walls are rice-paper thin such that one could hear a plug being inserted into the wall socket and switched on in the room next door as clearly if one was doing it. Conversations were obviously clearly audible, too. Worse was some machine that crashed into noisy activity outside the bathroom for a couple of minutes every 2-3 hours during the night which made sleep impossible. It was aided by the rather noisy fridge!
The location is excellent, the staff friendly and helpful and the breakfast good, but this is more a motel than hotel.

Room Tip: Request a quiet room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at the hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed the location, staff and your breakfast. I am at present investigating what the noise from the machine was that made your sleep impossible during the night.

Kind Regards
Anita Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in this hotel. The hotel has a fantastic location, breakfast was good. Rooms were ok as they did not have air conditioner. On hot day it was stifling in the room. The hotel does not have lifts/elevators and no porterage. For elderly people it is difficult to take the luggage to the rooms.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMGOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at the hotel. I am pleased your found the location good and enjoyed breakfast. Unfortunately there are not many days in our season that air conditioning is required. The staff are only too willing to help with the guest luggage.

Kind Regards
Anita Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whakatane, New Zealand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

I stayed here for four nights from 26 Dec till 30 Dec. The beds were so comfortable, the staff were friendly and helpful. We had breakfast one morning, there was a large selection to choose from, it was tasty and reasonably priced. The 'no lift' thing was not a problem, after all there are only two levels. My husband and I would certainly stay again and recommend to others

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynd4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post a positive review regarding your recnt stay at the hotel. I am pleased that you found the staff helpful and friendly and enjoyed your breakfast.
We look forward to you staying again in the future.

Kind Regards
Anita Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights while visiting family for Christmas. We were very grateful for such reasonable rates as we booked 4 days in the holiday season only the day before arriving!

The rooms are not so moden, but lovely and very clean. The night porter was very friendly and helpful and so was the Italian man in the restaurant. Our room did get missed for it's daily service, but they fixed it up pretty quick...

We had the buffet breakfast was quite good - better than expected. The gardens were lovely and the location is pretty good - though Te Anau is pretty small..

The noise carries pretty bad in the hallway and we got woken up early one morning by another guest, but that happens...

I would stay again as it's great value.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Leslie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at the hotel.
I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and would return to the hotel. I will pass on your comments to the Night Porter and Restaurant Manager that you found them friendly and helpful.

Kind Regards
Anita Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.3 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.5 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.3 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#5 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.3 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau

Property: Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Address: 20 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Hotel Complex located on the shore of Te Anau Lake, within walking distance of shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsgate Te Anau
Te Anau Kingsgate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing