We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in Te Anau
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We stayed in room 318 for 2 nights in Feb 2014, while visiting Doubtful Sound. Our room was located in the complex across from the main reception building and had a distant view of the lake, if you stood on the bed beneath a small, high window. The restaurant in the main building has the lakefront views. The room itself was clean and comfortable and the bathroom was spacious. Very good value for what we paid for the 2 night stay. Friendly reception. The only downside was that there was a bright light directly outside our unit that was left on all night. This lit up the room and made getting to sleep a bit harder. Well located and a short walk to the town centre. Parking is pretty tight, spaces are very small, although there is parking on the street behind the hotel. Lots of tour buses seem to use this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atholmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at the hotel.
I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and found the Reception staff friendly.

Kind Regards
Anita Brown
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (425)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

193 - 199 of 425 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2014

Walk wise this is about 10 minutes to Te Anau walking along the lake, which is a lovely walk and the views are top notch. Prices where very good, staff friendly and helpful. The rooms where very good the only grumble I have is the TV only had small channel selection. However this is quite routine poor entertainment options whereas my thoughts are this extra service could be the driver to more customers ? The breakfast buffet was excellent - so many are of a poor standard - this one a complete surprise at being wide ranging in choice and hot foods tasty and well cooked. The coffee a bit "instant" for me but that's pretty routine. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VANS_HH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at the hotel. I am pleased that you found the staff friendly and helpful and enjoyed the breakfast buffet.
Thank you for your recommendation

Kind Regards
Anita Brown
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

My husband and I have just spent 3 nights here. We had a large room on the first floor, well appointed, comfortable beds, nice towels, good shower. Couple of tips - very small car spaces, ensure you park within the lines.. Many guests did not & wasted spaces. When you check out - use cash when possible to avoid the 1.5% charge, even imposed for debit cards fron UK and can add a lot to you bill. We walked into town, lots of good restaurants & cafés.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Melanie2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at the hotel. I am pleased that you found your room comfortable and enjoyed the walk into the town centre. I agreed some guests do not park within the lines which makes it difficult for other guests to park.

Kind Regards
Anita Brown
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Our room didn't appear clean on arrival, however the bathroom was.
The beds were uncomfortable and no one in our group managed to sleep as you could hear everything going on in other rooms all night.
The staff were rude at both check in and check out and unhelpful when we asked for directions to services.
There was nothing remarkable about our stay and we felt it was over priced for the standard we thought it met.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Harasness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at the hotel. I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy your experience with us and found the staff rude and unhelpful.

Kind Regards
Anita Brown
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Reviews of various Te Anau’s accommodations at TA are not that great and we did not expect much of Kings Gate. However, we were pleasantly surprised with its quality. Clean, spacious, comfortable. It is not located in the center of the town though and you have to walk a few blocks or drive if you have a car. Also, only limited complimentary Wi-Fi in the lobby.
Hotel is poorly advertised and is better than shown on their site.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drago_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post a positive review regarding your recent stay at the hotel, it was very much appreciated.

Kind Regards
Anita Brown
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

After walking the Kelper we had a welcome stay here.. The front desk Staff all very welcoming and accommodating to are Needs ( we left some luggage here for are return back from the Kelper) we had the dinner it was pleasant, large portion and to much sauce maybe more is less as it was restaurant prices but not up to the standard. Breakfast is buffet style with lots to choose from again its hard to cater for everyone but I did enjoy and thought this was more value for your money than the dinner. The rooms are clean and liveable bed clean and comfortable. Howerver the bathroom is on the very small size, after walking the Kelper and about to begin a trip on the Routeburn a welcome bath was needed, now I'm small 5ft 2" and even i couldn't lay down in the bath :-( did also have stand shower in bath tub, but the bathroom was clean and tidy even tho on the small size. I can't fault the service we received here very friendly front house staff and dinning room head/ waiter. Would recommend to others.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nelly347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at the hotel. I am pleased that you found the rooms clean and comfortable. I will have pleasure in passing on your comments to the staff regarding their service and friendliness.


Kind Regards
Anita Brown
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

After staying in Kingsgate in Dunedin we expected a similar standard, the room however was not as comfortable as Dunedin our bed was not on legs and was very bumpy. Our parents had a room next door whose bed was on legs and therefore slightly more comfortable. The shower cubicles are tiny built for hobbits I think. On the positive the rooms were clean, warm and covered basic needs for making tea/coffee etc. The staff were wonderful especially Lian and it is in a picture perfect setting short walk along the lakeside into a cute town with shops, restaurants and cafes. Drive to the sounds and enjoy the breathtaking scenery xx

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at the hotel. I am pleased that the location was suitable to your needs and you found the staff friendly.

Kind Regards
Anita Brown
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.3 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.3 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.5 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#8 of 22 in Te Anau
514 reviews
0.3 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.2 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 22 in Te Anau
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau

Address: 20 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in Te Anau
Price Range: £64 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Hotel Complex located on the shore of Te Anau Lake, within walking distance of shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsgate Te Anau
Te Anau Kingsgate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing