We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel in Te Anau”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel in Te Anau”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

I stayed here with a friend just for one night. we had a standard unit with one double and one single bed. The room was spacious and clean, overlooking the car park, nice and comfortable beds, and old TV, but we did not go all the way to Te Anau to watch TV so it did not matter to us. We paid a reasonable price and if I have to go back to that town I will consider staying there again.

Room Tip: Nice place to stay, only a few minutes walking distance to town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martinayel1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your stay at the hotel. I am pleased that you found the room spacious and clean and the beds comfortable. I am not sure about your comment regarding old TV's as we installed new flat screen TV's in the hotel in December 2013.

Kind Regards
Anita Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    146
    143
    33
    22
See reviews for
64
237
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We only stayed here for a night and arrived later in the evening but the rooms were clean, comfortable and quiet. The bed had a heated blanket but only one side worked. The staff was friendly and our room had a tv. It was a nice stop over before we headed back to Queenstown.

Free parking but I cant remember if there was free wifi

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at the hotel, it was very much appreciated.
I am pleased that you found the room clean , comfortable and quiet and also the staff friendly.

Kind Regards
Anita Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modimolle (Nylstroom), South Africa
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

I arrived in New Zealand with my mother the Monday before Anzac weekend, to visit my sister and her family. They came across the Kingsgate Hotel, three days before the start of the long weekend, it was one of the only hotels left in Te Anau that still had vacancies for that weekend, and with the best prices! After about an 8 hour drive, we finally arrived, and the check in was very quick and easy. They gave us rooms next to each other. The view from the restaurant is amazing, with beautiful views over the lake and hills in the background. The quality of the food, dinner and breakfast, is outstanding. And the staff couldn't have been friendlier! After a long day out on the Saturday, I went to watch a rugby game in the bar. As I was quite hungry, but didn't want a buffet supper, the chef especially warmed up his deep fryer for some chips for me. On our last morning, when we arrived in the restaurant, we found that the one waiter reserved our table for us in the corner already, which we always used. Overall, we had a very pleasant stay, and the friendly staff just made it so much better!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elana_fourie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to post a wonderful review regarding your recent stay at the hotel, it was very much appreciated.
I was pleased to read that the staff looked after you and you enjoyed your experience in the restaurant.

Kind Regards
Anita Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Our room was big, comfortable and very clean with a view of the lake. All the staff were very nice and helpful. The food we had from room service was good and the service was quick.
Definitely recommend staying here.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank katie-a-r-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to post a positive reply regarding your recent stay at the hotel, it was very much appreciated. I will have pleasure in passing on your comments to the staff.

Kind Regards
Anita Brown
general Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
117 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

At just NZD 89 and given its location right on the shore of Lake Anau, this place is great VFM. Additional pluses are that the city centre is just about 400m away, where one can find cafes and restaurants offering almost all cuisines. The rooms have a large French window and comfortable beds, a bath tub, kettle, refrigerator, tea, coffee and a cupboard.My personal grouse, thanks to a bit of back ache, is that the bed was too soft to provide any remedy for it! One child below 12 stays free and they had even put an additional bed for her! Wifi is available, but on payment. As for us if we ever go back we will head right there without a second thought!
PS: Ask for lake facing rooms, closer to the front entrance.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shyamnambiar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to post a positive review regarding your recent stay at the hotel, it was very much appreciated.

I hope you had a wonderful holiday in New Zealand

Kind Regards
Anita Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mosgiel
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

We had a warm welcome when we arrived. We stayed 3 nights. We needed two rooms and they gave us these right across from each other that was good. We did get an okay deal but paying over $500 for this eats into the budget. But overall we all enjoyed it. The only disappointment was how bad the internet is. They need to upgrade to a better system and the cost to buy it was expensive for still very little. However the rooms were clean and they did a great job servicing them when we were out. Yes, we would probably stay there again if the price was right.

Room Tip: Request a ground floor room if you can't handle stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pepperkaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thank for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at the hotel and pleased that you had a good family weekend away.
The internet service and pricing is as per our company policy, and will pass on your comments.

Kind Regards
Anita Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invercargill, Southland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

we had a lovely weekend 25th april 26th april 2014 the room was lovely clean and big the bathroom was lovely we enjoyed the dinner at night it was really nice and breaksfast in the morning was great the staff were good and we found it really quite even as it was full it was a nice walk to town

Room Tip: we had a second floor it was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to post a positive review regarding your recent stay at the hotel, it was very much appreciated. I am pleased that you enjoyed your meals and found the staff good. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind Regards
Anita Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.3 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.5 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.3 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#6 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
0.3 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau

Property: Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Address: 20 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Hotel Complex located on the shore of Te Anau Lake, within walking distance of shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsgate Te Anau
Te Anau Kingsgate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing