We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Take care with the size of the hotel you choose at Te Anau”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Nottingham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Take care with the size of the hotel you choose at Te Anau”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2010

Te Anau is a pretty town and this is one of many hotels on the Lake Shore. However the whole town is used as a jumping off point for trips to Milford Sound so we should have been more careful about choosing this large hotel. Two big coaches and several minibuses used the nights we were there and this meant the dining room experiences were not good. In the evening basic quality (but not cheap) buffet food was provided. There are good restaurants in the town a short walk away. Breakfast time was a complete melee of people trying to stoke up simultaneously. to get away on the trip to Milford Sound. Not a good way to start the day.

We did ask for a quiet room - but clearly the needsof the individual traveller were swamped by the big tours. What we got was a room over the entry door - used as a chatting point for smokers.

It must be hard for hoteliers to cope with the daily crowd of visitors in this way, but I'd look for a smaller establishment if I came to te Anau again.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BridgetNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    146
    142
    33
    21
See reviews for
63
236
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2010

We booked an 'superior' room. When we arrived the receptionist booked us into one of the garden rooms as they had been refurbished. The hotel was full apparently. Our room was on the first floor of an annex. You know the type of room, only light is from the patio door entrance & you had to keep the curtains shut when the light was on. The room was bare, no pictures, no mirror just a bed, tv & single chair. The bathroom was fab until we noticed there was nowhere to put our 'bits' except the windowsill which was where the towels were......& there was no hot water!!! We spent a hot & stuffy night being woken by everyone coming up the stairs. Wish we had stayed anywhere else

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ros W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Te Anau hotels

Newcastle
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2010

Hotel is located on the periphery of the town centre across road from the lakeshore. You can easily walk into the centre and the whole area is very pleasant. Only a few rooms have lake view. A lot of rooms are on the ground floor with some fronting onto a service road. I had a room on second floor overlooking car park. Very quiet and I enjoyed my 3 night stay. They don't have group trips in every night but when they do dinner is buffet style. Quality is still excellent and good value.

I used this hotel as a base to do the Milford and Doubtful Sounds excursions, both well worth doing. If you are going to Milford Sound by car set off early when quiet. Also make sure you have a full tank as there are no petrol stations once you leave Te Anau. Give yourself time to explore the off road parking areas as some of the best views can seen.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GravyMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2009

My partner and I stayed here for two nights during our recent trip to New Zealand. We managed to find a good deal through their website which included breakfast.

Walking into the hotel and through the corridors to our room it reminded us of a building that could have once been a hospital. I think this feeling was due to the decor, mainly the carpet and doors. However in saying that, it was all still perfectly fine, probably just time for a bit of an update!

The room was good, cosy and warm! Of all the places we stayed, this hotel had the best selection of tv stations, if that tickles your fancy!

Hotel staff were all friendly and very helpful. On our second morning we had to leave before the restaurant opened, but the front desk staff were very accommodating and arranged for a cold breakfast to be delivered to our room before checking out.

If you have a car this hotel would be fine, however if you didn't, I would think about staying someone a little closer to the main street. This hotel is probably about a 10/15 minute walk into town and while normally this probably wouldn't be a problem, it rains a lot in Te Anau! Given this, a hotel closer to the main street might be better if you don't have a car. If you're not pressed for time and had time to walk places, this hotel wouldn't be a problem. It's right on the lake front so would be a lovely walk into town.

Breakfast was good. Not five stars, but you're not paying for that so shouldn't be expected. The contential breakfast included tea/coffee, juices, toast, cereals and fruit. There were also a good selection of hot breakfasts to chose from.

If the price was right I would definetely consider staying at this hotel again if visiting Te Anau.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hawaii15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2009

We stayed here for one night as we got a good deal on the millenium website incl. breakfast.
Arrived late and rang to let the hotel know, they were very helpful. Bathrooms were redone and very nice, rooms a good size and is good if traveling to Milford Sounds. The hotel staff booked our boat tour which was a good deal and the kids were free if under 17. All our kids were under 17 so we only paid for the two adults. The breakfast was very good better than expected and had a great view of the lake. It had a good atmosphere with the open fire and they didnt even charge us for the kids. Very pleased with stay as it was a very good price and perfect for a one or two night stay with there being very little choice. Dont be put off with the photo! However the photos on the wall were a little old

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melxxSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2009

This is cheap and basic accommodation - valuable for money but no frills

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LWBE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2009

My partner and I stayed here for 1 night, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff were friendly. The room was comfortable and clean. Look forward to staying at the Kingsgate again.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InvercargillNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.3 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.5 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.3 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#6 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.3 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau

Property: Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Address: 20 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Hotel Complex located on the shore of Te Anau Lake, within walking distance of shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsgate Te Anau
Te Anau Kingsgate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing