We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must be better out there”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
London
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Must be better out there”
Reviewed 23 February 2011

It was a small room with a smell of damp and there was also mould around the edges of the bath. The room had an electric heater and electric blankets – not sure if they worked as we didn’t use them. The hotel is just in front of a lake which is nice to stroll along. The restaurant was unbelievably warm and if we closed the blinds then it just got dark. The staff took our drinks away (unfinished) when we were up getting our next course from the buffet, which we weren’t too pleased about.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank _En__Kay1_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    148
    144
    34
    24
See reviews for
68
239
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
jakarta
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2011

We booked a standard room in this lake-front hotel and was given a newly renovated room in the garden area, a very nice and clean one. The beds were comfortable, bathroom was bright and everything worked well. The lady receptionist was also very helpful. The hotel has beautiful, colourful flowers in its gardens. To go to the town center we needed to walk for about 15 minutes but it was a nice walk by the lake. Te Anau provides a good basis to visit Doubtful Sound and Milford Sound and this hotel was a good choice for us.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gaval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights as a base to do both Milford and Doubtful Sound. Te Anau has a string of hotel/motels along the lake front and all within 10 minutes walk of the town centre. This one clearly caters for large tour groups so if you're a solo traveller or in a small group you'll be swamped at breakfast and stuck behind coaches in the car park. I stayed in one of the rooms around the garden - the rooms are fine, although the bathroom had possibly the smallest shower cubicle ever experienced. However the layout of the garden rooms means there is little privacy (the fronts are large glass patio type doors) and they are noisy from the other rooms in this area. If you're a young solo or in a small group then this probably isn't the right choice in Te Anau.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickworld08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2010

Location is pretty far from town.

Rooms were small and dated. Reception staff was average.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ocping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2010

conveniently located couple of nights at the most southern destination we took as we toured south island. The rooms were adequately furnished with outlook across a communal grass area. Situated on the edge of the Lake, it was convenient 10 minute walk into the shopping area as well as the main tour operator Real Journeys who offer good information for tours to Milford Sound.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marshman_55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2010

Kingsgate is located right on the Lake Te Anau. Fabulous sights await you early morning. And so do nice walks in the nippy south island summers! A smallish hotel that offers not so great rooms. The food is fresh and tasty, especially the baked stuff. Its a decent hotel if you want to use it as a layover for your long drive from christchurch to Milford Sound. The rooms are average and smaller than we expected. the hotel is locked up in the night time!!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanjaytandon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2010

Staff at reception was a bit rude. When we asked for a discount she told us "hell no". apart from that was a good hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davequick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.3 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.3 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#6 of 23 in Te Anau
498 reviews
0.3 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 23 in Te Anau
376 reviews
0.5 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.2 mi away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 23 in Te Anau
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau

Property: Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Address: 20 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Hotel Complex located on the shore of Te Anau Lake, within walking distance of shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsgate Te Anau
Te Anau Kingsgate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing