We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms”
Review of Lakefront Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lakefront Lodge
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 January 2012

This a very nice little motel and an easy walk to both the DOC visitor center and town. The owner is very nice and great about stowing your luggage during multi-day activities.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leahm07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakefrontmotel, Owner at Lakefront Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

Thank you for your comments. It is never a problem to store guests luggage while they enjoy other activities within the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (395)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

346 - 352 of 395 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2012

Days 18 & 19 of our 25 day tour of N.Z. and we arrived at this motel. We were not dissapointed as the motel is well situated for the lake & shops.We had a Deluxe Studio Unit and found it had ample room & facilities for the 2 of us. The only down side was that we were in unit 1 right next to the laundry room which could be a bit noisy at times.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakefrontmotel, Owner at Lakefront Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

Thank you for your comments on Lakefront Lodge. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. If you are ever in this situation again in relation to a/the laundry please feel free to contact the reception, as we do know some guests will attempt to use this area outside the requested times.
I do hope you returned home safely and spending lots of time going over all the wonderful photos that would of been taken.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

As others have stated, the Lakefront Lodge is not on the lakefront, although if you step outside of your room and crane your neck, you may just see a glimpse of blue. The room was quite large and generally comfortable, although we had the same issue with this place that we had with some others on this trip. That being that it was summer and quite warm, but there was no airconditioning! It was also difficult to just open the doors and windows because the place just filled up with vicious sandflies. This was a shame, as everything else about the place was very good, and it is a short walk to the main street where all the shops and restaurants are, and the rooms was clean and reasonably well stocked.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tych0Brahe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakefrontmotel, Owner at Lakefront Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that we do not have air conditioning, it is on our list of things to up date when the heating for our units is next upgraded. I do hope the rest of your holiday was enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Rooms were huge, spacious and comfy. Great facilities including a washing machine and dryer which was pretty expensive. NZ$7 to use the washing machine and dryer and you can use it after 9pm. Breakfast is delivered to you the night before and it comes with eggs! Although it is located in front of the lake, the rooms do not face the lake - you get a view of the road at the side. One of the more beautiful motels that we have stayed at during our 2 week tour of the South Island. Great location as it was very near the town centre and about 1.5 hours away from Milford Sound. if you are going to Milford Sound and booking a cruise via Real Journeys - this is the perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gemstar1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Clean, comfortable and spacious rooms, good kitchen facilities. Breakfast items are delivered the night before for you to prepare and eat in your own room. Although the lodge is right in front of the lake, the rooms don't have a view of the lake. Each room has a picnic table outside trough patio doors and each have a parking space. Reception is only manned 8 am to 8pm, laundry facilities are available.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TraveladdictMadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2011

Despite the name the property doesn’t have a proper lake view. Looking out of the window one looks onto a street and the houses opposite. Each room has however a little outside area with a table and bench, with a view of the lake. My room was spacious and clean, with a bedroom, a living area and a well equipped kitchen. As so often in the area, it was really cold when I arrived and it took some time to heat it up. Furniture was slightly worn, and the couch not very nice to sit on. The location is good, it is about a 10 minutes walk to shops and restaurants. During night time it was perfectly quiet. At reception a numerous activities can be booked, and the landlord is a very good source of information, and very friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alpenbewohner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2010

This place wasn't 5 star, but the service and location sure made up for that.

We were happy with out 1 bedroom room with a spa bath. It was clean and tidy - albeit 90s decor.

Robin the manager was fantastic. He went out of his way to help us with tour bookings and confirmations and was very approachable. He made our stay very memorable.

He provided recommendations for eateries, which we took him up on and were not disappointed.

Would definitely recommend and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DebAdel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.5 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.1 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#7 of 22 in Te Anau
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.2 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0 mi away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 22 in Te Anau
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakefront Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakefront Lodge

Address: 58 Lakefront Drive | Southland, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
#4 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range: £117 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lakefront Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable Units with a show of Luxury. Partial Lake and Mountain views. All units have kitchens. One Bedroom Double Spa Bath and Studio Units. Free Wireless Internet throughout.Continental Breakfast available. Only a 2min walk to town centre and restaurants.Tour Booking Desk. Luggage storeage for trampers. Free car parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lakefront Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakefront Hotel Te Anau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing