We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lakefront Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lakefront Lodge
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night after visiting Milford Sound. Thought the room was lovely with some nice extra touches including chocolates, spa treatment and exfoilant for the spa, and hot chocolate sachets (I don't drink coffee and most places only have coffee and tea). There was also free wifi, basic kitchenette and it looked very modern. The spa was awesome though a tiny criticism is the shower pressure was not the best but a minor issue. You don't have a room facing over the lake but you are very close as it is just across the road and can see it if you sit outside on the chairs and tables. I was worried about noise as you are right next to the road but the sound proofing is great as I couldn't hear a thing with the door shut. The woman who runs it was super friendly and helpful including organising a late check out for us (we'd gotten up at 4am the day before to get to our Milford Sound cruise). My only suggestion would be a fan (even a small portable one) in the room would be great as it was very hot the day we were there and we had to open up the doors for a bit in the evening to cool it down. I imagine heat is not usually a problem though given the location. Would definitely be a very warm and comfortable place in winter to stay. Thanks for the great stay!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakefrontmotel, Manager at Lakefront Lodge, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you for your review, we hope you had great stay in NZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    111
    32
    4
    3
See reviews for
78
191
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phippsburg, Maine
Level Contributor
116 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

Spotlessly clean and well appointed. Very convenient location with a well maintained property. Lovely gardens. Quiet. Picnic tables outside each unit. It should be noted that the property does not front on Lake Te Anau, but on a side street from which there is a limited view of the southern part of the lake. The side street does join the Lafefront Road, however. About 5-7 minutes walk from the Intercity Bus stop in the center of town. Two grocery stores are also located here. Excellent pizzeria in town as well as Miles Better Meat Pie shop.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Itivdleq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakefrontmotel, Manager at Lakefront Lodge, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you for your review, we hope you enjoyed your stay in NZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

This was the most friendly places that we stopped in during our New Zealand holiday, the couple who ran the place were welcoming, plesant and extremley helpful, to the point of loaning us their own 'sandfly' spray! The room was very clean, everything worked! and the spa bath was a bonus. Another bonus was being able to park right outside the room. We loved the little seating area, with views over the lake, it proved to be the perfect place to rest with a glass of wine in the evening. If I ever go to the west cost of NZ again I will certainly have the Lakefront on my list of places to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fraser P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakefrontmotel, Manager at Lakefront Lodge, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you for your review with us, we hope you had a great stay in NZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level Contributor
154 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

This place had everything we could have asked, a large, well furnished and comfortable room with a separate bedroom, kitchen area and a spa bath in the bathroom and a nice outside area overlooking the lake. And we could park the car directly outside, really useful when you're unloading heavy cases. If the accommodation wasn't enough in itself the bonus were the great couple who ran the place, they couldn't have been more helpful and friendly, and no problem about leaving the car there while we did the Milford Sound overnighter. It's a great pity there aren't more places like this, simple, comfortable, welcoming and great value.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Noosaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakefrontmotel, Manager at Lakefront Lodge, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you for your review, we hope you had a great stay in NZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthen
Level Contributor
200 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Nice comfortable room with a good location in Te Anau. Close to the lake and within walking distance of eateries. Friendly helpful management. Quiet location and a useful sitting out area with lake views, Recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakefrontmotel, Manager at Lakefront Lodge, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you for your review :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
380 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

This is a lovely base for a stay in Te Anau. The room we had (number 8) was spacious, with a full kitchen and a sumptuous whirlpool bath. You can park your car right outside your room door, and there is a picnic table outside your patio door too.
The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the lodge is very close to the town centre. They even looked after our luggage while we went on an overnight cruise at no extra charge after we had actually booked out. I whole- heartedly recommend this place.
The only negative for me was that the hotel is called the lakefront, but none of the rooms actually face the lake - a bit of poetic licence going on there.....

Room Tip: Ours was number 8 and fab, with a full kitchen and whirlpool bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakefrontmotel, Manager at Lakefront Lodge, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you for your review :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

What a great place! The staff was friendly and professional and went above and beyond to make our stay great. Our rooms were spacious, clean and relaxing - the perfect break after all of our Fiordland activities. The location, being close to Te Anu town center, was ideal as well.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakefrontmotel, Manager at Lakefront Lodge, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you for your review, we hope you had a great stay in NZ :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.5 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.1 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#6 of 24 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.2 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.0 mi away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 24 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakefront Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakefront Lodge

Property: Lakefront Lodge
Address: 58 Lakefront Drive | Southland, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Te Anau
#3 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
#4 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lakefront Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable Units with a show of Luxury. Partial Lake and Mountain views. All units have kitchens. One Bedroom Double Spa Bath and Studio Units. Free Wireless Internet throughout.Continental Breakfast available. Only a 2min walk to town centre and restaurants.Tour Booking Desk. Luggage storeage for trampers. Free car parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Lakefront Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakefront Hotel Te Anau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing